We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise!”
Review of Ammos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ammos Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Agii Apostoli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We stayed in Ammos hotel for 6 night and we had an absolutely wonderful time with my partner.
STYLE: Ammos is a small boutique hotel set right on beach of Agioi Apostoloi with plenty of rooms' balcony directly facing the ocean. We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms and at night we left the balcony door open and fell asleep, listening to the waves
LOCATION: about 10 to 20 minutes drive to the centre of Chania in August (lots of traffic). A car is a must in order to experience the beauty of Chania.
ACCOMMODATION: Our deluxe room was stylish, and minimal... return to simplicity! The room was very clean, towels/linens were changed daily. Small kitchenette, nicely integrated with the room, was sufficient to prepare a decent meal. The bathroom had a spacious shower.
POOL & BEACH: beautiful and very clean, beautiful surroundings! Pool set between the beach and the building. We used it daily and though it is not big, it is designed so as to maximize the given space. LOVED BOTH the pool and the beach, especially playing with waves when it was windy!!!
FOOD: breakfast is not included in the price but it is certainly worth the 8 euros and served until 11 p.m.!!! which is GREAT!!! and it is very delicious. During our stay we had 2 dinners, home-made recipees with lots of Greek foods as well as European for the less risky!

A last word about the service: it is personal and attentive. Every one from the staff is warm and friendly (thanks Nektaria and Dimitra!) and they take care of everything in a professional, yet friendly manner.
When we were there, they helped us booking restaurants, planing day trips to Elafonisi & Falasarna, offering their personalized recommendations which were so true!
On our day of departure, Nikos made a personal phone call to a friend in order to confirm that the restaurant we were going to was open!
My best summer vacation was a surprise so memorable that I will definitely return!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank efal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 683 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2009

The Ammos Hotel is a trendy boutique hotel just outside the main part of Chania Town in Crete. The Hotel is not much to look at from street-level, but the relatively bland exterior belies the swanky and well-thought out interior of the hotel. The beachfront location of the hotel is attractive, as is the hotel pool, but we preferred to use the hotel as a launching pad for exploring Western Crete's many stunning beaches, amongst the best in the mediterranean. The hotel staff, particularly the charming owner Nikos were more than happy to give us great advice on places to visit, restaurants to eat at, and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and happy. The hotel rooms were spacious, stylish and have fantastic bathrooms- I plan on 'borrowing' many of their design ideas! Breakfast was an additional charge of 8 euros per person, but considering how competitively priced the hotel is, factoring in this cost still made the hotel an excellent choice! Oh, and breakfast was excellent! Overall, probably the best of the hotels we stayed at in Greece!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sciencedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

We stayed in Ammos hotel for 6 night at the end of June. We had a absolutely wonderful time. Detailed reviews in below.

Location: Ammos is a small boutique hotel set right on beach. Many of the rooms' patio/balcony are directly facing to the ocean. We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms. At the night we left the balcony door open, we fall asleep when listening to the wave from the ocean. It was blissful. It was about 5-10 minutes drive to the town. We rented a car during our stay, so it was handy to go anywhere. It was easy to get a taxi to go to the town as well. There is a mini super market close-by, where you can get your essentials.

Rooms: Our deluxe room is tastefully decorated. We liked the minimalist and modern style. The room is not big, but they smartly effectively utilized every inch of the space and made it feel much bigger than it is. There were 3 of us (a child of 6 years old), we didn't feel the room is cramped at all. The room is very clean, I mean very! the room is cleaned and towels/linens were changed daily. There was a small kitchen nicely integrated with the room, we never used it, but it looked sufficient to prepare a decent meal. The bath room is not big either, but the shower is big and that's all we really cared anyways.

Ground: The ground is meticulously maintained. It was beautiful and very clean. There was a new fish pond built this year, the design and set of it was really smart, we liked it very much.

Pool: The pool was set between the ocean and the building. We used it daily, it was our daughter's favored spot. The pool is not big or elaborate. But it was designed with care and to maximize the space there was to offer.

The beach: it's a good beach, nothing bad or spectacular. It was a good, clean and shallow beach which is good enough for our daughter.

The restaurant: we had breakfast everyday there during our stay, and had 3 dinners there. The breakfast was fantastic in our opinions. It was delicious and healthy. You can tell that someone must have done the good home work to select what should be on the buffet breakfast table. It was much much better than the massive buffet breakfast elsewhere. The dinner was really good too, it was home made style with a lot of flavors. It was heavenly when we sat on the patio of the restaurant, enjoyed the sunset while sipping our wine and listening/watching our daughter bantering with the warmest stuff on the planet!

The service: Well, this is where at the end to set this hotel apart from the other hotels, and made my ranking a little un-objective. Honestly I don't think this is a 5* hotel, as we have stayed in many 5* hotels, we know what it is lacking from being a 5* -- luxurious. But I have given this hotel a 5*, as the service here in someway is better than in a 5* hotel. The service is hugely personal. Every staff is warm and happy and friendly, in general. But in particular Nikos and Dimitra are absolutely the best hosts we have ever met during all of our travels. I exchanged many emails with them before our trip, asked them many questions on driving etc, and changed our plan of stay... but nothing was trouble to them, they took care of everything in a timely/profession/super friendly manner. When we were there, they helped us on planing our day trips, selecting restaurants. I have to say their personalized suggestions/recommendations were superb to our liking. We were very thankful to them. They enhanced our stay/experience in Chania. And even on our leave to the next city, Nikos made many personal phone calls to confirm the restaurant names he suggested us to try. They also made our 6 years old so special and welcomed, she didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadaGogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

My teenage daughter and I stayed at the Ammos Hotel together with a friend and her two teenage daughters in July. We occupied an upstairs room with a seaview (absolutely lovely and the view was like a painting), and they a garden suite comprising a comfortable bedroom for the adult and a large lounge/bedsit type room for the girls. In both instances the accommodation suited our requirements perfectly and both room types had their advantages.
We selected the hotel based on reviews on tripadvisor and every word is true. Thanks to everyone who took the trouble to share as we would never have found this gem without you.
As is said by everyone, Nickos and his staff are exceptional. Our reception was warm but not forced. Nothing intrusive about the service but everyone allowed you to feel as though nothing was too much trouble.
The restaurant food was excellent, the rooms minimal and stylish and it was possible to stay in a hotel full of people and still feel as though your comfort was paramount to everyone on staff. Meals are relaxed and can be taken at any time of day, at the restaurant, relaxed poolside eating area, pool loungers or at the beach. A special mention needs to be made of Mario who incessantly runs between all areas, all day, with an extremely pleasant demenour to ensure that every whim was catered for.

The weather was very warm 40+ degrees which meant that we did not do much besides a couple of shopping and restaurant trips into Chania so cannot really comment on the surrounding attractions but it means that we really did use the hotel for all of the 7 nights of our stay and it is really a special location. All 5 of us were thrilled and would have no hesitation in recommending the Ammos to friends and acquaintances.

The only reservation I have is that the beds weren't the most comfortable, but this is a small gripe considering the overall experience.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seeammosagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Loved it. Nickos and the Ammos staff were amazing and gave us the best
travel tips, directions and info. Hotel is great beautiful setting and atmosphere
on the beach - everything one would want for a vacation ...
We enjoyed it very much !

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoolTravelGuyIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

My beautiful bride and I just returned from a 7 day 6 night stay at the Ammos (we spent 2 days and 1 night in Athens, which we'd also recommend doing to see everything while you're in this amazing part of the world). Well...as you should be able to tell from the title of this review, our vacation was amazing. Words and photographs don't do justice to describe how scenic Crete is and the hospitality of the Ammos staff. Make sure to bring your camera, and make sure to get the staff's recommendations on everything from where to eat to what to do for a day-trip.

Personally, we spent 4 of our 6 days in Crete relaxing on the beach at the Ammos and strolling the streets, shops, markets, bars, and restaurants of Chania. And, we spent the other 2 days on day-trips to different spots that Nikos and the rest of the Ammos staff recommended. Elafonisis & Falasarna are musts (the drive the staff recommends is almost as gorgeous as the beaches), as well as a day trip to Knossos (go to the palace late in the day so that you can stop on your way at Agia Pelagia to relax on the beach, and then stroll the streets of Rethymnon on your return from the Palace around dinner).

Regardless of how you choose to spend your time, we think you'll also have the trip of a lifetime if you choose to stay at the Ammos and listen to the staff’s recommendations.

Ryan & Lauren

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 71,109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stayed with two young children in Ammos. It was the second week of the season and the hotel was not completely full yet, but it seemed to be booked throughout the summer for a reason. The owner and all the staff were great for us and the kids. Very nice breakfast, soft boiled eggs for the kids (after we asked for it the first day, we got them every morning without asking!). Nice swimming pool and beach. You can also eat there in the evening which is great when you have kids and high speed free internet.The only thing is that when arriving, it is close to a bussy street and in a densed area, but ince inside is just perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudolf_Hilversum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agii Apostoli
2.3 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
139 reviews
2.3 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#4 of 111 in Chania Town
885 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
563 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#3 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
357 reviews
2.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ammos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammos Hotel

Address: Glaros Beach, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town > Agii Apostoli
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agii Apostoli
Price Range: $138 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ammos Hotel is a small stylish hotel located on the best spot of the city of Chania, right on the water front at the bay of Agii Apostoli, 4km away from the Venetian Harbor and the picturesque old city. In an idyllic setting by the water, wake up listening to the sound of the waves and indulge into our vast palette of vivid colors, from light green to the turquoise of the sea water and from beige to the bright fuchsia of bougainvillea. This is your private escape... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ammos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammos Hotel Chania
Ammos Hotel Crete/Agii Apostoli, Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing