We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magical Stay”
Review of Ammos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ammos Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Agii Apostoli
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Magical Stay”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Yes, this place is as wonderful as all the reviews say! We spent 5 nights here in the garden suite, which was perfect for myself, my wife, and our 2 year old. When we arrived to find the bedding in our son's crib turned down with a chocolate mint on the pillow, I knew we were in for a special stay. The location is ideal as the pool is situated quite close to a beautiful beach with always available lounge chairs. The design of the hotel truly stands out as colours abound in the lobby and in the room. Breakfast was wonderful each morning, as we started each day with fresh squeezed juice from Chania's fantastic oranges. We also enjoyed room service for lunch and took the opportunity to sample from their daily menu of specials. What really makes this hotel stand out even more are the staff. What an incredible group of people. The front desk personnel are incredibly helpful, friendly, and knowledgeable. Service in the restaurant, the cleaning service, the care at the little gym for our 2 year old son...everyone was always so attentive and friendly.
Nikos, the owner, was fantastic throughout our stay, beginning with our email exchange when he was immensely helpful and attentive when planning our trip. He also offered us excellent restaurant advice during our stay and his suggestions were perfect and helped us find many different wonderful dining experiences in Chania. There are so many little touches and features in this hotel that stand out and make it unique. Thanks to everyone at the hotel for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Capt-Canuck5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    66
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
270
278
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

The most wonderful summer holiday so far! Small hotel with an absolutely perfect design. Every single thing works here. The rooms are nice, not too big, but you get everything you need. Breakfast and dinner are served mostly outside, but you always have the feeling of being "at home" and protected from the sun. Beach is ideal for children - sandy, protected from big waves, clean. Comfortable sun beds and umbrellas free of charge (beach towels as well). The most delicious breakfast: fresh salads, olives, cheese, cherries, water mellon, pears and other fruits, a yoghurt to die for, cretan honey, outstanding cakes, homemade ice tea etc... All super fresh, nicely presented and full of fantasy. Dinner is a la carte: reasonable prices (40 - 60 Eur for 2 adults and 2 children including drinks), day specialities, all fresh, genuine and tasty.
But the best thing about this hotel is the service. You always have a feeling that you are welcome, that you are at home and that you don't have to worry about anything. There is always somebody to help you and every single member of the hotel staff makes an impression that he or she loves his/her work. I travel a lot for my work but I have never experienced such a natural hospitality and care. From restaurant service to trip ideas. It is difficult to describe it, you have to experience it.
Many thanks to Nikos and his staff. If you are looking for a wonderful holiday, go to AMMOS. You will be overwhelmed, how a seaside hotel can be run!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurstpierpoint, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We spent a lovely week at the hotel. The rooms are lovely, the staff are perfect and the location / beach is the best I have encountered. If you have children the of course he rooms next to the pool may be perfect. If you want a quieter stay then stay away from those. Whatever you choose you will not be disappointed. Thank you Nicos you gave us a week to remember.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

It was the first time I came to a Holiday with such high expectations and, in fact, the stay was even better than I expected.

What I liked most is that the hotel is small, friendly and beautiful and you feel at home the moment you arrive there.

The staff is great and friendly. The breakfast is amazing, and the owner, Nikos, is so nice and helpful (and has a very good taste in chairs :-) ). Actually, I have nothing new to add to the 400 previous excellent reviews that I have read in trip advisor. The hotel is just GREAT!

It was our first holiday with our 1 year old baby, and it was just perfect. Everything you need for your baby is already thought about: food, toys, bath and even a monitor so you can hear your baby while sitting in the balcony.

I'll just say that this is the kind of place that you feel lucky that you have found, and I will definitely return to that place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nirgavish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Ammos hotel is in a close tie for my favourite place that we stayed in Greece. We had two seaview rooms for our family of five. The location is perfect with the beach right there and an easy drive or cab ride into Chania. The food was fresh and interesting and the service was lovely.

If children bother you then this is maybe not the place for you but even though we were travelling with teens, the hotel took such good care of everyone that the young children around us were happy and pleasant to be around.

It would have been nice if dish washing supplies were included as we took advantage of the little kitchenette however we discovered that if we rinsed our dishes and left them housekeeping did the washing up which was nice too.

Comfortable beds, good food, great service, stunning location. Couldn't ask for anything more.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms were very nice and did actually have a view of the sea. I was glad we were on the up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Queenieliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

What makes Ammos different from any other hotel I have stayed is the personal and warm service that just feels so friendly. The breakfast is suberb and the location on the beach is great. For any small boys and girls the turtle Bob is a great friend and my son spent most of his idle time between pool and meals with the little turtle. Sweet.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I booked the hotel for 9 members of my family with ages ranging from 5 to 78 with such varying interests and personalities that I was certain someone would have at least one complaint....well there were none! in fact there was only praise from everyone.
Everything has been said in the other reviews:
1. Great service by Nikos and his dedicated, friendly staff
2. Spottless rooms
3. The breakfast was so good, my husband and I (who rented a house 45 minutes drive away) came all the way to have breakfast three times during our 11 day stay in Chania.
4. Dinner was so good that we would rate it as one of the top 10 restaurants to go to in Chania
5. The beach was clean, warm, sandy and shallow enough for kids
6. Water sports were not too far away
7. For those of you who want to go into town, it is a 5 minutes drive
In summary, perfect!

Room Tip: If you have young children I recommend the rooms close to the pool. If you want more quiet ask for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elhamdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agii Apostoli
0.0 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#3 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
340 reviews
2.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 110 in Chania Town
503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Domes Noruz Chania
Domes Noruz Chania
#1 of 11 in Kato Daratso
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
550 reviews
2.4 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#13 of 110 in Chania Town
533 reviews
2.3 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#4 of 110 in Chania Town
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ammos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammos Hotel

Property: Ammos Hotel
Address: Glaros Beach, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town > Agii Apostoli
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agii Apostoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ammos Hotel is a small stylish hotel located on the best spot of the city of Chania, right on the water front at the bay of Agii Apostoli, 4km away from the Venetian Harbor and the picturesque old city. In an idyllic setting by the water, wake up listening to the sound of the waves and indulge into our vast palette of vivid colors, from light green to the turquoise of the sea water and from beige to the bright fuchsia of bougainvillea. This is your private escape... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ammos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammos Hotel Chania
Ammos Hotel Crete/Agii Apostoli, Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing