We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you have small children”
Review of Ammos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ammos Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Agii Apostoli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We checked in on the first day of the season to a newly renovated room - each is redecorated annually, hence the relatively high prices for Greece; the photos on the hotel's website are a true reflection of what to expect. The rooms aren't big, but as 3 adults in a deluxe sea view studio we were comfortable enough. Beds were comfy and it was nice to have a proper mattress on the third bed. There is limited storage space due to the presence of the kitchenette, which could be very useful if you have children in tow. The bathroom was small but functional, with a lovely rain shower, soft fluffy towels and Apivita toiletries (available in M&S in the UK). We didn't find any problem with ventilation unlike a previous reviewer, nor for that matter were there any cats around. The balcony has a lovely view, but is fairly noisy if the children are in the pool. Everywhere was spotlessly clean, and as everybody mentions the service is very friendly and attentive.

I'd read a number of TA reviews before booking, thinking that the people complaining about children were scrooges. However, we had a lovely meal in the restaurant on our first night which was completely ruined by screaming children in the relatively small public restaurant/reception area. Unfortunately, while most of the kids were well behaved it only needed a few over-indulged British kids to spoil the ambience. It was unfortunate because the food was very good, and reasonably priced. This theme continued, to a lesser extent, at breakfast which was an excellent buffet containing lots of home-cooked and local produce. When we were in our room we didn't hear any noise from children, except when out on the balcony.

The location is good - just off the main road through the suburbs, 10 minutes from the middle of Chania (heading west) but set back far enough that you can't hear any traffic. The beach is lovely and the sea shallow - making it warm even in April. I can see if you have small children this hotel would be great, though the clientelle were predominantly British, so if you want to get away from the Brits you may prefer somewhere else.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 23 - on the top floor overlooking the sea, on the Eastern end furthest away from t...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ceri393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
There are newer reviews for Ammos Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 674 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

ammos hotel is a a true jem and we shall visit every year! its a promise my husband and i made to each other this week upon our return to the UK. we have had the most relaxing holiday one could ever imagine and did not leave the site of the hotel for the whole week. slept in pure tranquility with the sound of the sea waves in the background, had the most delicious breakfast with plithora of local delicacies on offer, swam in cristal clear waters daily and enjoyed the most amazing sunset walks on the beach.
relaxation, sunshine, amazing food, friendly staff, increditable deco, we came back fully rejuvinated and cant wait to get back next year!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank myriam k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel serves as a great counterpoint to the bustle of Chania - just a 10 minute drive away, on its almost-private beach front with great views. It has to be said upfront that you must believe the reviews that say this hotel is overrun with children - it is - even in low season. If you want a quiet, luxurious, romantic holiday, this is probably not the place for you. Which is not to say that the place is not comfortable - far from it.

The decor is simple yet refined, with clean lines and subtle touches of funkiness - the collection of mismatched chairs against white tables in the restaurant for example, some iconic designs, some hand painted. Or the beautiful map of Crete hand painted on the lounge wall, down to the beautiful parquet flooring.

The rooms are comfortable, albeit smallish, and we would have expected a more open feel to them, given the great location and views. All the rooms have a small kitchenette, which could come in handy, especially if you have kids. It would perhaps be a good idea to eliminate the kitchenette in some of the rooms and open up that wall to extend the views of the sea from the rooms. Our least favourite bit was the bathroom - although well appointed, it was tiny, poorly lit and very poorly ventilated - not pleasant. There are no tubs, and we have seen better rain showers. The Apivita toiletries were a nice touch though.

All the minor niggles are overshadowed by the outstanding service though - nothing is too much trouble for Nikos and his staff, and they gave us some great recommendations for our exploration of Chania. We had a medical issue during our stay and they called out a doctor late in the night for us, and continued to make sure that things were OK with us for the remainder of the trip. We were given a late checkout and a spare room even though we asked for it at the last minute and even though our room had already been reallocated - all at a nice discount (probably because it was low season). Top this up with the absolutely brilliant food, and you have a great holiday. We loved it.

Room Tip: If you want to be away from squealing children in the pool, ask for a garden room - you will have to...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellingflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

An excellent hotel perfectly located on a sandy beach. Excellent service from local , very well trained and friendly personnel . The hotel offers a fabulous breakfast and very high quality local food.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank mariad2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Ammos is perfect for young families as it has great customer service, a nice pool and is very compact. My husband and I visited whilst I was pregnant with our first. If you visited without kids it may be a downside but it was interesting for us to see what holidays are like with children! I'd give it 5 out of 5 if only it was a little more spacious - the pool area in particular could do with being larger. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was outstanding!

Room Tip: All rooms are the same layout which is quite compact but functional and funky designed. They include...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Very beautiful Place to stay, but far too many cats all over the Place, Even at the table, even while eating or in your room, if you don't pay attention. Personell was really friendly, breakfast Buffet great

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My 5 year old daughter and I went to the Ammos at the end of October for one week. Everything that's said about it is true and more: Nikos and team have come up with a unique recipe of simplicity and attention to detail; once you find it you wonder how you've managed for so long without it. From the fabulous milkshakes on the beach to the speed with which the requested DVD player arrived at my room the hospitality at the Ammos was faultless. We'll be back for sure; please save us a sea view studio for when we do.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Germanstef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agii Apostoli
0.1 mi away
Domes Noruz Chania
Domes Noruz Chania
#1 of 11 in Kato Daratso
237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#3 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
349 reviews
2.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
558 reviews
2.3 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#3 of 111 in Chania Town
869 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ammos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammos Hotel

Address: Glaros Beach, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town > Agii Apostoli
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agii Apostoli
Price Range: $139 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ammos Hotel is a small stylish hotel located on the best spot of the city of Chania, right on the water front at the bay of Agii Apostoli, 4km away from the Venetian Harbor and the picturesque old city. In an idyllic setting by the water, wake up listening to the sound of the waves and indulge into our vast palette of vivid colors, from light green to the turquoise of the sea water and from beige to the bright fuchsia of bougainvillea. This is your private escape... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ammos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammos Hotel Chania
Ammos Hotel Crete/Agii Apostoli, Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing