We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in town”
Review of Ammos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ammos Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Agii Apostoli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

An excellent hotel perfectly located on a sandy beach. Excellent service from local , very well trained and friendly personnel . The hotel offers a fabulous breakfast and very high quality local food.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank mariad2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 684 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

Ammos is perfect for young families as it has great customer service, a nice pool and is very compact. My husband and I visited whilst I was pregnant with our first. If you visited without kids it may be a downside but it was interesting for us to see what holidays are like with children! I'd give it 5 out of 5 if only it was a little more spacious - the pool area in particular could do with being larger. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was outstanding!

Room Tip: All rooms are the same layout which is quite compact but functional and funky designed. They include...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Very beautiful Place to stay, but far too many cats all over the Place, Even at the table, even while eating or in your room, if you don't pay attention. Personell was really friendly, breakfast Buffet great

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My 5 year old daughter and I went to the Ammos at the end of October for one week. Everything that's said about it is true and more: Nikos and team have come up with a unique recipe of simplicity and attention to detail; once you find it you wonder how you've managed for so long without it. From the fabulous milkshakes on the beach to the speed with which the requested DVD player arrived at my room the hospitality at the Ammos was faultless. We'll be back for sure; please save us a sea view studio for when we do.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Germanstef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I can't really add anything to the crescendo of 'great service, amazing beach, chilled out vibe, lovely food' etc. reviews, and i've written about Ammos's uber-cool design before, so thought I'd talk about the weather (being terribly British). Is Ammos a good place to come in the October half term? It soooo is. The sea is really warm, the sun is still shining (or even if it's cloudy it's still warm enough for the beach), so it's perfect for lying on beach beds while the little ones build sandcastles and swim in the shallow sea. Or for the adults to engage in competitive sand-sculpture building. Chania is winding down, there are more locals drinking coffee than tourists eating ice-creams,, and the local tourist supermarkets have shut up shop, so it definitely felt quieter than when I last holidayed there in September '11. But that all added to the oh-so-relaxed feel of our week.

New things for this year that I loved:
- Wine tasting (really gorgeous Cretan wine....who knew?! Wish we could get Notsos Syrah 2008 from Ocado!).
- Nanny to look after kids between 5 and 7 (we didn't use as the sun was down at 5, so Mojito o'clock came a bit earlier, but would be handy in the higher season)
- Nikos's cabinet of curiosities.

Something that I noticed again on our second stay: It's not just the staff who are lovely, Ammos seems to attract interesting, friendly holiday-makers too, adding to what makes the hotel special.

Thanks all for another wonderful stay. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Ground floor sea view if you like to be by the pool all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LadyCaroOfEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was our first holiday with our 16 month son and it exceeded our expectations. The hotel staff were wonderful. Very helpful and great with children. Nothing was too much trouble and they went out of their way to make all the little ones feel welcome, which in turn made it relaxing for us. Everyone always had a smile and a wave for the babies and knew them all by name. The pool and the beach were great for children with lots of toys to play with and the playroom was an unexpected bonus. The restaurant was lovely. The food was of a consistently high standard and very good value. The staff were knowledgeble and enthusiastic about the food and the wine. The Service was 5*. We would not hesitate to recommend it and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SallySocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have just spent four nights here and enjoyed every minute. All the staff are so friendly and welcoming. We shall return again soon but next time fly to Chania rather than Heraklion. The beach is lovely and the hotel is beautiful. iPhone charger and DVD player was a nice touch as were many other things! Fab view of the sea from our room!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jenholpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agii Apostoli
2.3 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
146 reviews
2.3 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#4 of 111 in Chania Town
893 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#3 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
357 reviews
99.8 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
461 reviews
2.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ammos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammos Hotel

Address: Glaros Beach, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town > Agii Apostoli
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agii Apostoli
Price Range: $138 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ammos Hotel is a small stylish hotel located on the best spot of the city of Chania, right on the water front at the bay of Agii Apostoli, 4km away from the Venetian Harbor and the picturesque old city. In an idyllic setting by the water, wake up listening to the sound of the waves and indulge into our vast palette of vivid colors, from light green to the turquoise of the sea water and from beige to the bright fuchsia of bougainvillea. This is your private escape... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ammos Hotel Chania
Ammos Hotel Crete/Agii Apostoli, Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing