We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Kydonia Suites & Studios
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is the second time my family (5 adults, including a 92 year old granny) have spent two weeks at New Kydonia. The apartments, the site and the ground including the pool are immaculate. The on site restaurant serves excellent food at reasonable prices. Lisa and her lovely family should be proud of their achievement in creating this wonderful peaceful spot. They are full of knowledge of the area and the best local restaurants (spoilt for choice)
The location is perfect to explore the western end of the island and the lovely city of Chania.
We will definitely be back next year

Room Tip: All of the apartments have lovely views either of the mountains or across to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
68
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We have just spent 2 weeks at New Kydonia and I cannot fault the place. The family were most welcoming. Lisa, Dimitri, Terry, Mo, Vanessa, all were very helpful. They have created a peaceful oasis in Western Crete. We stayed in a studio on the ground floor, we had patio doors opening onto a terrace immediately onto the lovely kept gardens if you wanted a bit of shade from the sun there were a few hammocks tucked away in the shady areas. The pool and grounds are beautifully maintained, Vanessa booked our Samaria Gorge walk and also car hire. Anything we wanted to ask they were there for us. The onsite bar and restaurant are super with fantastic home cooked food and BBQ's at very reasonable prices. Everyone was very friendly and enjoy passing the time with the guests over a beer. There is a local supermarket in the nearby village of Daratsos, only 5 minutes walk away. There is also family run restaurant called Nikos and the staff are very friendly nothing too much trouble in fact our whole visit to this area we came acroos he most friendly people. Daratsos is also where there are regular buses into the centre of Chania from where you can find transport to many places on the Island. All in all, two weeks was just not enough so we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We had studio 20, perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bestimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We just came home from the best vacation ever.
The pictures don't lie, its more beautiful than it looks.
The people are super helpful and kind and they really make you feel like home.
Rooms where clean and big.
We got upgraded and couldn't be happier with this place. :)
We went to the BBQ on friday evening and it was so nice with very nice people and the food was amazing!
can't wait to go back.

Wenche & Jonas from Norway. :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wenche s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2014

In the Royal Navy and this is the second time we have come for a BBQ! The food was fantastic, the rooms were amazing and very clean and great value for money. This is really a fantastic place to come and Lisa and her family always make us feel welcome and go out of there way to provide a really good night! Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurahull1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Awesome night, lovely food, nice and clean rooms, welcoming family that own new kyd. Deffo come again! And deffo recommend to friends n family :)
Beautiful views of chania from the pool.
A place to have a party, weddings or just chilling out.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Really loved our stay here. The pool area was lovely (although pool was a tiny bit cold as you would expect in late may) The food was great, and Lisa and the family couldn't have been more attentive. They even went and bought new high chairs for our children to use in the restaurant and room.
The nearest beach was a perfect sheltered spot for our youngsters with much calmer surf than other beaches further up the coast. You do need a car to get about, but it's worth it just for the short trips into Chania.
Overall the family were amazing and made us feel incredibly relaxed and welcome which is all you can ask for when travelling with 2 small children. Would go in June next time as the pool was a little too cold for our children, but still had a great time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolymbari, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

I live about a 15 minute drive from this super-friendly hotel run by a charming family and, come summer, I love to escape to spend a day by the "pool with a view" up on the hill. The pool itself is large with an enclosed area for small children, and surrounded by comfortable loungers, and is generally an oasis of peace away from the more crowded beaches and resorts. A comfortable shaded cafe provides drinks and a varied menu of tasty lunchtime snacks and more substantial dishes. And what better way to top off a lovely relaxing day than with a "Happy Hour" cocktail!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Daratso
0.5 mi away
Sirios Village Hotel & Bungalows
0.9 mi away
Domes Noruz Chania
Domes Noruz Chania
#1 of 11 in Kato Daratso
198 reviews
2.5 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 108 in Chania Town
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
547 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#3 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
332 reviews
2.8 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#12 of 108 in Chania Town
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Kydonia Suites & Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Kydonia Suites & Studios

Property: New Kydonia Suites & Studios
Address: Daratsos Hania, Kato Daratso, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kato Daratso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Kato Daratso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — New Kydonia Suites & Studios 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run business. 30 years experience in the hospitality industry, detailed knowledge of the town and surrounding areas. helpful assistance in organising your holiday and experience in Hania Crete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your New Kydonia Suites & Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Kydonia Suites & Studios Chania/Kato Daratso, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing