We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome time at Dreamland apartments and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dreamland Hotel - Apartments
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Kato Daratso
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome time at Dreamland apartments and hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at Dreamland Hotel for one week and to say the least we wasn't disappointed. First of all we were greeted by an enthusiastic and friendly staff, who made it clear at the beginning that they wanted our stay to be phenomenal. They were really helpful and to our disposal at any time if we had any questions. Though we lived at Dreamland, we were lucky enough to have the nice pool at the neighbour hotel Nontas to our disposal. Besides the pool we found a very cosy and nice poolbar with awesome bartenders. The rooms had a very high standard and you really get your moneys worth at Dreamland Hotel. The hotel is situated very near the beach, so that you would have the option between pool or the clear blue sea. We can highly recommend this hotel to anyone who likes to be in Greece and on vacation. Mark, Peter and Morten - Denmark.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
thessaloniki
Level Contributor
65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Being there 5 times in a raw, means that for 5 summers we decided to stay at this hotel. There we can be sure that our holidays will pass with no bad suprises . It is not something special for the accomodation , but the people are very friendly and the rooms are very clean and full of light of the sun. It is very close to the sea , 5 mins on foot.The cost is normal and the rooms are simple and clean having everything you need for vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicoltass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in July 2011 with my 10 year old daughter. The accommodation is fairly basic with small kitchen hob and quaint amount of cutlery, pans etc. The room itself was spacious and bathroom was the usual shower with no curtain job which you seem to get in Greece. We paid the 40 euros per week for the air conditioning (definitely need it) which is also pretty standard in basic accommodation in Greece. The rooms were cleaned every day and the supermarket (along the road nearby) was a cheap place to restock the toilet paper and washing up liquid which was needed. We did see one cockroach but I believe he came in from outside because there was no sign of them in the apartment again for the rest of the week. The beach is down a side road opposite the hotel. Five minute walk. You do have to cross a main road to get to it and it is very busy so not really suitable if you have little tots. My daughter and I were happy with the beaches though (there are three). The beaches are clean and sandy, really calm for a swim. We loved been there around five ish when all the locals came down to play a game of bat and ball (they love that game!). We ate at a couple of restaurants (ammos was our favourite) (turn right out of apts, the ammos fronts onto the beach). They were really friendly, the food was great and they gave my daughter something different when she didn't like the pizza (nothing wrong with it she is a bit picky about herbs). Catch the bus to Hania (tickets from paper shop past the supermarket and turn right). Also book the "train" to the waterpark at the train stop near the beach it's cheaper than your reps deal. Greek night was good but be careful when they dance you round the pool lol :o) the staff were always polite and friendly but to be honest we like to do our own thing so didn't have much to do with them. I certainly did not see dog poo or notice any smoke smells from reception. The pool is over the main road at the nontas hotel. it's quite small but clean and the drinks were reasonably priced at the small pool bar. Overall I would visit dreamland again if I could get the same deal - £220 each for school holidays end of July 2011.

Room Tip: Room we had was on the ground floor on the right as you are looking at the apts. it was quite nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XTRASPECIAL69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NontasHotel, General Manager at Dreamland Hotel - Apartments, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your useful review. We are always happy when our clients give us their opinion about our hotel and our service because we want all the time to improve our facilities and our service. About the toilet paper as you said for this season each room has one new every day so you don't need to buy it from the super market any more. The air condition cost extra as it is in most of the hotels in Greece. The traffic is much better now outside the hotel because they have put traffic lights 100 meters away the hotel so is much more quiet now. We are very happy that you general liked our hotel and our area (beaches, restaurants etc.) and we will wait to meet you again in our hotel. You can contact us whenever you like and we will make a special offer for you again.
Take care and see you soon.

Best and warm Regards
Nontas Christinakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed at Dreamland in June/July 2012. The complex is on a very busy, noisy road, so after we were showed to our room on the upper floor, at the front, we asked for one on the ground floor that would be quieter ( We have a 9 month old baby and therefore a buggy) so got a much darker, quieter room on the ground floor at the back - only 1 window & french doors. The kitchen area is tiny, approx 1.5 metres & was very difficult to cook on with a lack of equipment, we even bought our own knifes as the ones provided were useless. There was no kettle or workspace but the fridge was new & worked well. some useless items were provided like a toast rack? but there is no toaster or grill. The reception area smelt of cigarettes as the manager (Angelika) constantly smokes in the reception and public seating area. The ground floor rooms are hot & in an attempt to get a breeze through we opened the door while in our room but you do have to put up with the cigarette smell. The manager also came & shut our door on 3 occasions during our 2 week stay due to 1) our music playing at 10am with no other guests staying on our floor 2) My baby making a noise (??) 3) A pop bottle exploding (???). She also has a dog that not only fouls the gardens ( Which the maid has to then remove after a couple of days of baking in the sun! ) but also barks at anyone who walks past as she locks it behind the reception while she is not manning the reception. This woke my baby up several times at 7:45pm. She also has a TV on quite loud at times which disturbed our child. After paying a cot fee of £40 to Olympic, the manager told us we had to pay €20 additional cot hire for the 2nd week. We advised & showed her the paperwork that showed we had already paid for this but got the response 'Its not my problem' so we saw the manager at Nontas ( Sister hotel, just 50 metre down the road ) who was more helpful and this was the last we heard on that particular matter. The reception is not continually manned as advised 9am-12 then 6pm-8. There is frequently no one available during these times. The rooms are clean the maid does a 5 minute clean, 6 days a week and towel change twice a week. Our room (Number 6) was located next to the hot water tank which clanks every time anyone uses the hot water. Unfortunately a valuable item of mine was taken from our room - their response to my report of this was disappointing, I was told no one could have got in to our room and we have CCTV to deter this type of incident but they didn't check ANY footage to back this up - I had to report this to the local police & neither they nor Dreamland offered any assistance or even showed any interest in investigating the matter. I was accused of 'losing' the item by both the hotel and the police but that was impossible as the item in question never left the apartment during our entire two week stay! The resort is close to beaches but you do have to navigate the busy road. Note there are steps up to the entrance so if you have a buggy you will need to pick it up or take your infant from the buggy. Overall the Dreamland apartments are anything but a 'Dreamland' and we would advise avoiding them at all costs. You have been warned...

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are noisy but airy, ground floor at back are quiet with no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bodders74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NontasHotel, Manager at Dreamland Hotel - Apartments, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Client,

We are very suprised and sad to read your review about our hotel but still we thank you about it because you gave us the opportunity to eχpress our opinion about all these. We are a familly hotel started from 1992 and we have renew our building and our rooms on 2008. A lot of thousands clients have stayed in our hotel and always we were trying to saw them our hospitality and make their holidays unforgettable. We still have clients that are coming every year in our hotel since 1992 and we are very proud about that.
About the hotel position you wrote i can inform you that our hotel situated in the main street "Kato Daratso" and this street is not a national road is a city road and when you booked our hotel you knew about it. We have a google map on our web site that all our clients or people that are interested to stay here knows excactly where the hotel is. Even though your room was on the back side and we never had problems with our clients about noisy or something else. I can also remind you that outside the hotel and all the way to the town and to the beach is a walk path so everyone can walk safety. In your arrival we just wanted to make you happy so we offer two rooms, one for you and one for your company next to each other but after you refused to stay on the first floor we offered you a room in the ground floor. All of our rooms have kitchenette with all the equipment as it also cleared in our web site www.dreamlandhotel.gr and you can have a look on it. We never had complains about the kitchenette from you and if you would have said us your complains be sure that we would have try to help you as we always do with our clients. All around our hotel we have gardens that we take care of and we try to make the atmosphere always nice and warm for our clients. You can also have a look in the pictures on our web site. In the reception area is not allowed to smoke and we even have a sign about it in the living room, the manager there she is smoking but ALWAYS outside in the receptions balcony. The manager came and asked you if it was possible to closed your room door because all the rooms in the ground floor (6 rooms in the ground floor had clients during your stay) were complaining because the baby was crying (this is normal and we didn't have a problem with) and they wanted to be more quiet. She also asked you very polite as she always does with our clients to close the door because you were cooking all day and the hall reception area was smelling and this is not nice for the rest of our clients. We ALWAYS RESPECT our customers and we try our best to make their holidays fantastic. During the 20 years we have the hotel is the first time we hear about dogs that foul in our garden and we are very suprised about it but thank you because we will try to find out how can that be possible. About the baby coat we made a mistake because everything for your room was paid from OLYMPIC HOLIDAYS and we cleared this out imidiatelly with you. About the tank you said and the noice it makes i can say to you that the tank is on a 10 meters deep so i'm really curious to find out where you heared the noise!!! The reception hours are 09:00-13:00 and 18:00-20:00 and always the manager or any other staff is there even longer than this hours. About the valuable item (it was an i phone as you told us) that it was taken from your room we informed you that all around the hotel and in all the public areas we have 16 cameras CCTV to make our clients safety. After you told us this we helped you to go in the police station and we gave to the police station a dvd with the recordings of the cameras that saws that NOONE went in your room. We tryed our best to help you and we even offer you to give you a ride to the police station but you said you could walk till there. Nothing was broken in your room (like window, door or something else) so how they went in your room and they just took only your i phone when our rooms have televisions and other valuable things? I can also inform you that during our 20 years we have the hotel IS THE FIRST TIME SOMEONE COMPLAINS THAT SOMETHING WAS STOLEN FOR HIS OR HER ROOM!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The beach is 150 meters away and you just have to cross the road and you walk on a very small road down that 2-3 cars can passed the hall day. Our hotel DREAMLAND is the meaning of the name we gave to it and that can be approved from our 20th history we have as a hotel and we are very proud and happy about it.
Have a nice summer.

Best Regards
Management of Dreamland Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kato Daratso hotels

Tampa florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

I read other reviews after I booked this hotel and based on that I tried to cancel the reservation and found that I would be charged for one day so I went to see what I would find. I am VERY HAPPY that I did. I found the hotel to be NEW with LARGE rooms and very clean. The price is the lowest price in the area and in comparison to other hotels/apartments was the cheapest I have gotten anywhere in the world, The one bedroom apartment was quite large and well apointed. The comments of others regarding noise were due to them leaving the doors/windows open at night due to the 7 euro perday charge for use of the airconditioner. The price of the hotel is so low it is unrealistic to expect it to be all inclusive as electric on the islands of greece is Very Expensive, I felt the charge was appropriate and was happy to pay it. With the doors and windows closed it was nice and quiet due to the very high quality windows. I recommend this to someone who is realistic with there expectations as to what 37 Euros per day can provide you anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: Hotel is located on Kato Darastso 4 KM from downtown old Chania port the bus runs on the street the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank captiantrouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NontasHotel, Manager at Dreamland Hotel - Apartments, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Friend,

Thank you about your review that always help us to became better and thank you also about your nice words for our hotel and our island. We will be more happy when we will meet you again in our hotel.
Take care and have good time.

Best Regards
The Management of Dreamland Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

The location of this hotel is totally wrong in the maps. Its not on the beach but next to the highly trafficated road between Chania and Aghia Marina. So be prepared that it is very noisy all night. Rather close to the beach but a terrifying road to cross with life at stake.
Says free wifi and i did get a very good connection to their router but not to the net. When i asked it was "free wifi" he said yes but internet costs 3e per half hour, what the f is that.
A non smoking sign in the lobby but all the personal sat there all day smoking so it did not smell nice. The rooms where ok, but 65 e is a overprice. Beds ok but the bathroom terrible.
We felt a bit fooled by their description on their website.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greekmangot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

Well, we thought we'd write something as there were no reviews for this hotel before we booked - bit of a gamble on our part, so this could be quite lengthy!

The hotel was nice, although on a fairly main road where the traffic rarely stops passing, so can be a bit noisy at times! The staff were friendly enough (when we saw them!!!) The rooms were cleaned daily, except Sunday. The linen, towels etc... were changed once during our week long stay. As it's essentially a self catering hotel, you have to buy your own toilet roll when the one on arrival runs out. I'd come across this before, but another couple we met found this strange! The safe in the room costs 10 euros a week. The air conditioning costs 7 euros a day, so if you want this, be sure to factor it into your spending money!

We opted for bed and breakfast for the week. The breakfast was: a boiled egg, a cheese toastie, 3 crisp bread toast type things with butter and jam, some days a slice of cake, a pot of coffee and a glass of juice each.

The picture of the swimming pool advertised is actually located at a hotel about 50 meters away - The Notas Hotel. It's owned by the same people, so you can use it, but it's not that big with very few sunbeds. We attempted to use it on our 1st day, but there was no space, so spent the rest of the week going to the beach instead.

The beach is about 200 meters from the hotel - there's a road opposite the hotel and you literally walk down there to get to it. The sunbeds cost 3 euros a day each, although plenty of people just lay on the sand! There are beach bars on each of the beaches where you can get cold drinks, ice creams and snacks and the prices aren't too bad in these. The beach toilets however leave a lot to be desired!!!!!!

There aren't a huge number of restaurants in this area, although we would definitely recommend Farmers Restaurant which you pass on the way to the beach - lovely food, atmosphere and staff.

If you're looking for late night bars, clubs etc... this isn't the place to go! It's perfect for a relaxing beach holiday, but little more!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mark-and-Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Daratso
0.1 mi away
Domes Noruz Chania
Domes Noruz Chania
#3 of 11 in Kato Daratso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#4 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.8 mi away
Forum Suites
Forum Suites
#1 of 4 in Chrissi Akti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Akasti Hotel
Akasti Hotel
#89 of 110 in Chania Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.6 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#17 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#3 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamland Hotel - Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamland Hotel - Apartments

Property: Dreamland Hotel - Apartments
Address: Kato Daratso, Crete 73103, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kato Daratso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Daratso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dreamland Hotel - Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dreamland Apartments, a magnificent hotel Crete alone is in the position to offer! Our hotel in Chania takes great pride in providing its guests with a fascinating holiday experience that is comparable to taking a trip into the realm of dreams, only to discover that this magical dream world is, in fact, quite real! Joining us will enable you to experience things never before experienced, to let the impossible become a possibility and to allow the unreal to be realized. All this and more can become feasible only by visiting one of the most outstanding hotels Chania offers; Dreamland. So why not visit us today and allow your fantasy world to become an actuality! Our hotel in Chania, a highly luxurious, integrated hotel complex, includes all the modern facilities and services of a large beach resort, while still maintaining the warm, friendly atmosphere of a small family-run establishment. Synonymous with comfort and hospitality, our sumptuous apartments and studios are ready to accommodate our guests with such distinctive services that only Crete hotels with first-rate service standards can provide. Not to mention, our kind and attentive staff will be prepared to cater to the needs and desires of each and every one of its guests. Book today and see for yourself why Dreamland is one of the most sought-after Crete hotels. Though there is a plethora of apts Crete boasts, no other hotel Crete offers, provides such practicality and convenience through its envious location. Ideally situated in the tourist area of Daratso-Agii Apostoli, just 4km from the town centre of Chania, and only a short distance from some of the most fascinating beaches of the vicinity, there is no end to the options our distinguished guests will be presented with. Whether you’re interested in acquainting yourself with the inland or just limiting yourself to the surrounding area, Dreamland, one of the most exceptional hotels Chania can provide, can serve as the base for your ideal holidays!When visiting our hotel Crete has much to offer in terms of entertainment as well. All along the North roadway of the precinct, which conveniently stretches for many kilometres parallel to the beachfront from the tourist area of Platanias in the West, to the Old Town in the East, our guests will come across numerous beach bars, clubs, cafes, taverns and shops, not to mention facilities such as banks, post offices and super markets. Dreamland, therefore, including the finest apts Crete can provide, will allow you to customise your holidays to suit your taste. However, while staying at our hotel in Chania, one of the best hotels Chania offers, one should not neglect to visit the historical Old Town, which is a unique blend of Turkish and Venetian architecture. A visit to the Old Harbour, which is a crossroad of civilizations, with the dominant fortress, the Lighthouse and the quaint little paved lanes, will no doubt be an enchanting experience! Unlike other Crete hotels, Dreamland, including the finest apts Crete can provide, can make all this, a possibility. Visit our hotel in Chania and see for yourself what separates us from other Crete hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dreamland Hotel - Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreamland Hotel - Apartments Chania/Kato Daratso, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing