We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Elotia
Nearby Hotels
$72
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nireas Hotel(Kato Daratso)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sirios Village Hotel & Bungalows(Kato Daratso)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Domes Noruz Chania(Kato Daratso)
$352
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zeus Village Hotel(Kato Daratso)(Great Value!)
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
55
44
11
15
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
44
11
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopen air terracebreakfast and dinnercomfortable bedssmall hotelstayed half boardexcellent locationclean waterhotel is situatedstayed weeksgreat holidaynice beachesfew minutes walkbus stophelenalidlcretegreek
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 139 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We enjoyed two lovely weeks at the Hotel Elotia. We found Helena and her sons welcoming and helpful. Whilst the hotel may be basic, it is very clean, rooms are air conditioned and a fridge is provided. As another reviewer has said, breakfasts were repetitive, but there was always plenty to enjoy. Use of a toaster would have been appreciated. Evening meals were delicious - Helena is a great cook - however, like other reviewers, we would have preferred the food a little hotter. Of course, salad was always an option, and these, too, were varied and delicious.

The hotel is situated away from the main road, so traffic was never a problem to us. It is only minutes' walk away from four beautiful beaches.

We will definitely book again for next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

hotel elotia is a small friendly well run accomodation. its location is a 5 min walk from 3 beautiful beaches and a 10 min ride in a taxi from the lovely chania town. the owners are very welcoming, and try to help with any request.the food at the hotel was delicious and plenty of it. the only downside i can think of is the lack of bars within walking distance from the hotel. if you are looking for a peaceful stress free holiday there is no better place. will definately go back

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nikos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Here for 2 weeks,found a new family ! Mother and 2 sons made us so welcome. Location was perfect for quiet break with lovely beach so close,we would go there again without hesitation. Breakfast and evening meal was more than enough. Room was spotlessly clean and no trouble sleeping there !

Room Tip: Loved room 31 which had a huge balcony
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 105trevord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel has both Jekyll and Hyde tendencies. It is located in a small, fairly quiet resort and is only a short walk from some stunning Aegean Sea beaches. The hotel looks pretty smart and has well tended gardens and an attractive pool. The open air terrace restaurant has sea views and is a pleasant place to take breakfast. Our room was basic but had air conditioning and a balcony with a sea view. Some aspects of the accommodation were not so good though. The bed linen was almost threadbare and the mattresses very firm. The shower did get warm, eventually, but had a loose drain cover and the sink plug did not fit so it was not easy trying to shave. On the plus side, the cleaning staff were polite and did a good job.

Our stay was half board, so breakfast and evening meal were included. Breakfasts were fairly simple and repetitive but of reasonable quality, although mostly consisting of processed foods. Evening meals were quite varied and the food plentiful but with some attention to detail, could have been so much better. On our first night at the Elotia, we made the mistake of not getting to the restaurant at 7pm sharp and experienced stone cold "hot food". On subsequent nights we made sure we were there as soon as the restaurant opened and most of the hot food was just that. The crazy thing was that all the metal food containers had burners underneath them but were never lit. Salad and bread were freely available and sometimes soup as well. Desserts were also offered but in very small portions and the only fruit, small pieces of melon. There was no service and no water or coffee offered. There was a chiller cabinet of drinks but these had to be asked for and there was no mention of any cost, written or verbal. Needless to say, payment was demanded for these at checkout.

From reading other reviews of this hotel, I think either the family who run it get tired of guests towards the end of the season or they operate a dual standard according to whether the guests have booked direct or through a tour operator. We are fairly seasoned travellers throughout Europe and have usually found the staff of hotels to be polite and helpful. The management of this hotel were anything but towards many of the guests but from time to time would be all over one or two particular families. Our Cheery greetings of "Kalimera" or "Kalispera" were usually met with silent glares, particularly from Helena. During our stay we remained positive and did not make a single complaint but at checkout, Helena just gave us a drinks bill and demanded money. She did not enquire as to whether we had enjoyed our stay or even offered a goodbye. Needless to say, whilst we enjoyed the resort we would not consider returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: We had no say in the room we were allocated but it suited us.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wolfman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed Half Board. The food is excellent though always tepid to cold served on the roof terrace reached by steep steps. Mosquito bites every evening meal to any part missed by 'Autan'.
Met a lot of lovely people at the hotel.
If you are a light sleeper avoid room 33 reached by 3 flights of stairs.
The angle of all the concrete 'amplifies' sound from the quiet roads and the restaurant next door. ('full volume' children shouting/playing until 2am Friday 6th Sept. had me wishing I could go and sort their parents out by 1.30am!!!).
*I noticed the Local children well behaved, quiet and very respectful*
My towel was never changed, how did everyone else have theirs changed. Feacies on the toilet roll holder prevented me from changing it. The non flushing toilet was solved by using a large catering container filled with water. The room maid was lovely and provided a 'cushion layer' for my bed that was so hard it hurt me. (not a softy as I am used to camping in adverse situations)
My very long awaited and much needed adventure holiday was a test of endurance in this depressing room. Seriously wished I had gone to the Isle of Sky in the rain as planned or Cornwall.
Room 33 would be a boon for sports fans because the stadium/sports ground is in constant use seen from the balcony. (shame british sportst facilities aren't utilised so fully).
***The local beach is by far the best!!! Enjoyed the gently shelving sand bay, little fishes, childred playling by the waters edge. Lovely beach shack with good food.***
There are excellent bus services to everywhere you wish to go, preferable to car hire once you see the driving. Reccomend Xania Town, and though Rethimnonon, not as good as Xania, the hour long coach journey is highly reccomended. The 'Little Train' excursions are really good from OK Car Hire up the road. Did the Gorge and the Hidden Gems ending at the Monestary were amazing and so eco friendly.
Tip = I caught a bus out to Girani beach to see the Sea Turtles hatching at night - 'remember your torch', (forgot mine and was shocked during walk back toward Platanias at the new luxury beach resorts built on such precious beaches), also avoid the coach and make sure you catch the service buses. (the coach price was 1.60E back to Plataias 2 stops).1.90E Platanias to Ag. Apostoli.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews