We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea View Hotel and Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea View Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kato Daratso
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Apartments are cleaned everyday and are not super luxurious but they have everything you need. proximity to the beach, shopping malls and city center are a plus. Zambia is a good host, she has very good advices for what to do and where to eat. Breakfast was good and the freshly squeezed orange juice was the highlight of the breakfast. Pool is lovely.
The only thing that i missed were good reasuratnts (tavenrns) close to the hotel and that it was a bit difficult to find.
Overall experience was good and i would recommend this accomodation to anyone

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vijaya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    23
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
54
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We were greeted by a lovely young lady called Zambia at reception, checked us in & she showed us to our room, a ground floor room, in fact the first room in the hotel, first impression was that it looked very new, not battered around the edges as sometimes is the case, in fact it almost resembled a 'boutique' hotel costing much more. The balcony is quite substantial & I suppose that 4 people could be seated on it comfortably, the apartment comes with the benefit of free air conditioning, has a fridge complete with bottle of wine & water, a double bed, wardrobe, drawers, big table, small patio table, chairs, 2 ring cooker, sink & plenty of plug sockets in the right positions, so vital to a ladys requirements for hair & make up etc. The pool area is basic, but pleasant, the hotel is literally a stones throw from the sandy beach which has a small bar & beds with brollys, the beach is gently sloping into the sea, ideal for familys. There is a good array of large supermarkets not far away & a small one on the doorstep selling all the basics. The down side of staying here is that if you like to walk to restaurants & bars it can be a trek across a rough track between the sand dunes and can be a bit scary walking back from the restaurants & bars of Chania in the pitch black especially if, like when we were there, mr moon has stayed in bed so a good torch is vital. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here & would return another time.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view & privacy. A torch is a must for late night returns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANDYJ9750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

just arrived back from staying a week at this hotel, exceptionally friendly and attentive staff always ready to help, nice clean room with sea view, for me great location, you can walk leisurely to the old town in around 45 mins, or catch a bus, nice garden with swimming pool
will go back again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rewecourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braila
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

In May, I spent a week in the fantastic island of Crete and I enjoyed very much my accomodation in Sea View Apartment. We were a family and we rented two studios. Our choice couldn't have been better!
On peaceful area, with a wonderful view on the sea, these very comfortable, self-catering studios give you everything you need for a perfect holiday: excellent location, beautiful landscape, good price, great breakfast, all the facilities, every-day cleaning, lovely balconies where It is possibly to read a book or surfing the net when the day is ending... And flowers all around...
And - last but not least - the kindness and the smile of our hosts, the young and helpful owner, who adds something special to your staying, provides you everything you need.

The wonderful old town with its old harbour, a lot of tavernas and cafes it is 20 min away(by bus) and two supermarkets, a fantastic beach with clear crystal water are very close to the studios.
I will take in my heart the silence of the night and the beautiful sky full of stars over my head...
Definitely a place where I want and hope to come back again.
Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dragos_ichim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We arrived not knowing anything of this hotel and were immediately more than pleased by the site, service, cleanliness. Everyone here has been most welcoming and helpful. It could not be more. The pool is beautiful and in a very restful courtyard complete with palm trees. The view down to the sea is spectacular. A short walk gets you to a sandy beach perfect for children. A five minute car ride gets you in to the heart of the city. Although we were only booked for two nights so we could hike the Samaria Gorge, we asked for another night. Because we were tired today we asked for a couple of salads for lunch. Mine was one of the best Greek salads I have ever had at only 5e. Can't beat that. I love family run establishments and this one is run perfectly. Bravo and hope this review brings you many many travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea or over the garden and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacsOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warsaw
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

It is very hard to rate this establishment as it has some major pluses but also some major minuses. Its a nice and clean building which would look much nicer if it wasn't for a huge metal garbage container right at the front entrance (see picture). Also the area just outside of the freezing swimming pool looks like deserted ruins hit by a bomb. Our room was nicely prepared for our arrival with a customary bottle of wine in the fridge. The hotel is located west of Chania within a walking distance to the city center. Furher west along the coast there are some nice beaches with umbrellas and beach chairs. But the area before that looks like it was hit by an earthquake as there are some ugly ruins along the coast with broken remains of some structures there. To the east you have to walk to town through a dirt road and bushes. A bit scary. to walk back at night.. The hotel is run by a nice receptionist- Zambia. However beware of the house cleaning . The banging starts at 7AM. The DO NOT DISTURB sign written in four languages means nothing. They knock on your door, enter without permission regardless if you are in or out.
To stay there for more than few days without a car would be a challenge. The shower was hardly delivering any water. To add misery to our stay the taxi back to the airport requested by Zambia did not arrive. Lucky there was sufficient time to call another taxi as otherwise we would have to stay in Sea View Hotel for another week ( sleapy hotel owner did not even wanted to hear about possibly driving us to the airport)

Room Tip: Ocean rooms have nice view but are dark all day as they are facing north
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richardg6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We arrived by Taxi from the airport , 25 euros, as we arrived late evening. Also there is a bus every hour from the airoport to Chania, and i think the ticket was about 2 euros, give or take.

The lady running the apartments (Zambia) was waiting for us, she kindly offer if we would like some food. This was lovely attetion to detail and very nicely cooked and priced.

The see views from the rooms are really nice! Also, there are rooms without a sea view.
The Hotel is in a very nice quiet area to sleep and relax, is clean and general basic requirements are well met. The beach is only 3 minutes walk. The swimming pool is good for a swim after a busy day out and about. Very good value.

There is bus ride into Chania 8 minutes approx). The bus stop is very close by , note that the bus ticket is slightly more expensive on the bus than bought at the kiosk (Chania). There are always taxis, or it is possible a 20-25 minutes walk.

Tip: Samaria Gorge was a great thing to do, Zambia organised this for us, we were picked up from the main road. It is an early start and make sure you like walking and to have a good pair of walking shoes!

Room Tip: There is not a lift so if you have problems with stairs, make sure you ask for a room in the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaoMik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Daratso
2.3 mi away
Renieris Hotel
Renieris Hotel
#1 of 23 in Stalos
5.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elma's Dream Apartments & Villas
0.9 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#3 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Forum Suites
Forum Suites
#1 of 4 in Chrissi Akti
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#4 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#15 of 112 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Hotel and Apartments

Property: Sea View Hotel and Apartments
Address: Germaniko Pouli Apteron Street | Apteron Street, Kato Daratso, Crete 73100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kato Daratso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Daratso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea View Hotel and Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Sea View Apartment Hotel" has the best location in Chania, Crete. 150 M from the beautiful Aptera beach and nearly all the rooms have a panoramic view of the Cretan sea. 26 Large comfortable studios for 2 or 4 persons. Every room has a big balcony, private bathroom, kitchener, refrigerator and a ceiling fun. Also a large swimming pool and a children space around for sunbathing, large sitting room, TV room, beautiful flower garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sea View Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Hotel And Apartments Chania/Kato Daratso, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing