We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable, enjoyable relaxing stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sirios Village Hotel & Bungalows
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Kato Daratso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel a little later than planned as it wasn't open as advertised and booked by the holiday company (Bookable Holidays). We never really found out who was at fault with this mixup, but the hotel did upgrade us for the 4 out of 7 planned nights that we did spend there. Instead of a 2 room apartment, we had a 2 room luxury apartment with private pool, jacuzzi bath and king size bed. For the first 3 nights we were given another hotel further up the coast (see my review of Grand Bay Hotel) which was fine but not of the same standard at all.
Sirios Village is a good all round hotel in the area, very worthy of its 4 stars, the facilities and grounds are in the main lovely. The pools are fantastic, large, deep for proper swimming and clean and there are plenty of childrens pools with fun slides etc. The layout of the apartments in the grounds are very appealing and there are beautiful trees and plants everywhere. The playground could do with an upgrade but was fine.
The food was fine, always lots of options but not a lot of fresh fruit, I guess it was seasonal but orange and apple every day gets a bit boring. And there was such a good salad choice it made you want more fruit. The choice of breakfast/cooked food/salad however did become limited and samey once you had been there a few days. And sometimes you felt that things were not as fresh as they could have been. The wine/beer/ spirits were fine but the soft drinks were very limited and either really sugary squash or pop or just water for the children. Our other hotel had had a large selection of fruit juice so we wondered again why the children's choices were less.
Our room was lovely and the private pool would have been fab if it was hotter. But both the showers in the 'luxury' room were badly planned for the space and inadequate, and the jacuzzi bath was a bit ropey. All was very clean though and comfortable and we had a cleaner every day and clean towels whenever we needed. Also a free bottle of wine and our own beach towels were left for us which was a nice touch.
So all in all I would recommend, we found it a relaxing place to hang out in night and day, there was pool and air hockey, pool bar was great for us and children and pool area lovely. Though it was the beginning of the season so fairly quiet. The beach was fairly close and not bad at all. It was great to be so close to Chania, we had a hire care but noticed lots of people getting the bus in to town. Chania is a fab city to visit, beautiful. There is a bowling alley nearby for rainy/cold eves (open 5pm+ weekdays) and supermarkets very close by.
Thanks to especially Sophia on reception for helping us with the booking problem.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 669 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2012

We really liked this hotel. Got a nice 2 bedroom apt at the lower end of the hotel area, close to the beach with two balconys. Payed extra for sea view. Great for kids, with playground and nice pool area. The food at the hotel was OK. Not more. A bit boring sometimes and not so much to choose from. We usually had breakfast at the hotel and had dinner at the nearby resturants. Beach is beautiful, but otherwise you have to go into Chania (10 min by Taxi) to have the real "greek feeling". We aslo would have appriciated more evening entertainments.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JomaStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this resort for a week. Overall the place was nice and it was always clean. When we arrived on our first night it was super late, so we quickly checked in and went to sleep. To my horror I woke up in the middle of the night to find water pouring on me from the air conditioning, since it was so late we just moved the beds, put a towel down to catch the water and then went back to sleep. In the morning i informed the lady at the front desk, she was very nice about it and within the hour it was fixed. The food at breakfasf was fantastic there were many things to chose from so it never felt repetetive. Any staff that we ever dealt with were extremely acomodating and very nice. I also need to mention that their little store on the premesis is extremely convenient.

The bad: ( and remember its all a matter of opinion)
The pool area is in fact a lot smaller than it seems in the pictures, on our first day we went to put our towels down at 8 and to our horror allmost all the seats were gone, so for the rest of the week we got up at 6 (it might seem extreme but by then many of the chairs had already been taken) put our towels down then returned when the pool opened at 9. There has to be a solution to that, I believe that part of vacationing is being able to sleep in.

The beach issue, this hotel does not claim to be on the beach, i knew that before I booked our stay there. The beach is actually a good ten minute walk away, on a crazy road (almost all the roads in chania seemed crazy) with no sidewalks. Its is very dangerous if you are walking with kids. To actually cross the street to get to the beach you have to cross what I would consider to be a highway or pretty damn close to it. Not to mention if you came back the same way you would have to walk straight up hill, not something i really want to do after spending a day in the heat. I think the hotel could have a shuttle that goes every few hours, charge a few euros per person make it a little more comfortable and safer.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellinggirl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Pleasant hotel in a beautiful garden.
Service is excellent. Spacious restaurant, but actually too focused on culinary for non-demanding people. Dakos perfect for breakfast, but butter is margarine, jams lowest quality, cheapest ham luncheon meat, and cheese was one kind of + light version. Children's corner is mostly junk food. Availability of vegetables cool. Poor instant coffee.
For a dinner lot of meat flooded with oil, sometimes exquisite lamb.
Actually, the value of the hotel mean people. There are nice and they look like that they like what they do.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Very relaxing place with good food and clean rooms
10 minutes walk to nearest sandy beach

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Renata G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We spent 8 days in Sirios Village (from 2- 9 September). Though this is mostly a group hotel working with Scandinavians it did not have anything to do with impersonal service towards individual guests and especially Greek people.
The room was big having a side view to the pool and a quiet veranda at the back side.The restaurant was spacious and the big variety of food was beyond our expectations! The readiness of thestaff running to and fro was impressive .The most surprising thing was the presense of the hotel manager who with great discretion was trying to make sure that everything was under control.
Last but not least the pool bar...What a surprise! Just as we thought that we would drink only a beer and then off we go for the town centre we found ourselves having some of our best nights at the pool bar. Thanks to the staff (Thanassis,Ariadni,Albena,Thodoris) we have some of the best summer memories!!! Congratulation guys you are the best!
The reception staff was really helpful with the exception of one lady who really got on our nerves as she did not have the slightest will to help us in finding solutions to some common problems ( info about excursions,telephone enquiries e.t.c)

MAKIS -VICTORIA
GREECE-ATHENS

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank makis07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The rooms are good and clean the hotel staff is very professional. However the hotel is oriented towards massive tourism thus the hotel is usually very noisy, the breakfast contains 'plastic' food for massive consumption. Certainly not worth the money paid. They should pay much more attention to the quality and details.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Vangelis31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 19, 2011

Dear Sir
Thank you for writing a review regarding your stay in our hotel. We would like to express our point of view regarding your comment about the quality of food we serve in our breakfast buffet; therefore we publish a list with all the products we offer. We believe that it is obvious that with such a big variety of goods we do not have ‘plastic food’.


BREAKFAST BUFFET MENU
BAKERY PRODUCTS
Yeast bread total
White bread 70%
Bread with seeds
Bread with sesame
Yeast bread
Black bread total
Rusks of rye
Rusks of wheat
Breadstics
Bread bites
Barley rusk
Variety of breads 130gr

BISCUITS
Butter cookies
Cinnamon cookies
Orange cookies
Cookies with olive oil
Cookies with chocolate
Cookies with almond
Cake with vanilla
Cake with butter & lemon
Cake with chocolate & almonds
Cake with chocolate & vanilla
Cake with fruits

BUFFET
Butter croissant
Pancakes with praline
Pancakes with honey & walnuts
Pancakes with coconut
Mini donuts

HOT
Frankfurt Sausages or Cocktail Sausages
or Villager Sausages
Eggs eye with bacon
Individual omelette
Fried potatoes, Risotto mushroom
& Pies with spinach, cheese, sweet cream pie.

DELICATESSEN
Ham shoulder
Pariza
Pariza with mushrooms
Parizaki with garlic
Pariza with olives
Parizaki
Pariza with peppers


CHEESES
Edam
Light cheese
Mozzarella
Gouda

EGGS
Boiled eggs 4’& 6’

CRETAN
Dry grapes
Rusk with tomato, oregano& soft Cretan cheese (Ntakos)
Olive oil with aromatic herbs
2 types of Olives
Olive paste

DRESSING
Mustard
Ketchup

CERIALS
Corn flakes of maize
Corn flakes of chocolate
Muesli of fruits
Crispies
Choco crispies
Oat flakes
Muesli of fruits
Muesli of cereal

COMPOTES
Fruit salad
Apricot
(Fruit Dessert)


JAM WITH PIECES OF FRUIT
Strawberry
Currants
Peach
Orange
Cherry
Kiwi
Hazelnut Praline
Honey

BUTTERS
Butter portions
Garlic butter with aromatic herbs
Butter
Garlic butter with pepper
Margarine portions

FRUIT
Watermelon, melon, grapes, oranges, apples


OTHER
Tomatoes
Feta cheese
Onions
Green & red Peppers
Cucumbers

JUICES
Orange juice
Concentrated juice
Sweet orange juice
Apple juice

MILK
Light milk
Full fat milk

BEVERAGES
Chocolate drink
Chocolate-milk
Black tea
Mint & Green tea
Apricot tea
Apple,
Vanila,
Lemon tea

COFFEE
Greek coffee
Espresso - chocolate
Au lait coffee
French coffee
Cappuccino
Instant coffee

SWEETS
Yoghurt
Rice pudding
Pie with yoghurt or Fruits
Fruit paste


TRADITIONAL SWEETS IN SYRUP
Grapes
Cherry
Quince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Daratso
0.2 mi away
Zeus Village Resort
Zeus Village Resort
#5 of 11 in Kato Daratso
97 reviews
77.7 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
7.6 mi away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Kalyves Beach Hotel
Kalyves Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kalyves
692 reviews
78.6 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 174 in Hersonissos
778 reviews
80.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 174 in Hersonissos
3,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirios Village Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirios Village Hotel & Bungalows

Address: Eleftheriou Venizelou, Kato Daratso, Crete 73100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kato Daratso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kato Daratso
Price Range: $110 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sirios Village Hotel & Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sirios Village lies in one of the most beautiful areas of Chania, Kato Daratso, which is 4 km west of the city of Chania and 14 km from Chania airport. A magnificent Mediterranean Village, built on a verdant plot area of 2.7 hectares. Small white detached houses are “scattered” inside trees and flowers, where their architectural design blends in with the surrounding environment in perfect harmony, only 350 m away from the sandy beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sirios Village Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirios Village Hotel Kato Daratso
Sirios Village Chania
Sirios Village Hotel Chania
Sirios Village Hotel & Bungalows Chania/Kato Daratso, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing