We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly disappointed”
Review of Porto Sani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Porto Sani
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sani
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sadly disappointed”
Reviewed September 28, 2007

My husband and I stayed here at the end of September. Our suite was big, and the hotel areas, pool area and grounds were all high quality. Housekeeping was patchy, though, with cleaning and replacement of bathroom items including towells a bit hit and miss. On one occasion we actually got someone else's damp and dirty towell in among the clean ones! Our main gripe was that breakfast tables were not cleared and cleaned between clients, and the staff - who were all charming - didn't seem to know that this was a problem. Other thing to be aware of is that the restaurants in the complex were nothing approaching 5* like the hotel itself. Deciding where to go for dinner was always a problem. Also, mosquitos were a major factor (there are swamp areas around the complex), as were wasps during the day. Although we had read that the hotel was child friendly, we hadn't realised that pretty much everyone would be a young couple with babies and toddlers!! Don't want to sound a grouch - it's a pretty complex and the staff were helpful - just not right for us and we wouldn't go back. PS: the spa was fabulous.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank PopsyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    86
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
557
174
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2007

We have just returned from another wonderful holiday at Porto Sani. This was our second visit and we have already booked to go back next year.

As a family of four (Mum, Dad, 4yr old & 2yr old) this resort is wonderful for us. Porto Sani is a little village of two storey apartments, set in wonderful gardens behind The Sani Marina. The Suites are spacious and have a bedroom, lounge and small kitchenette, balcony or garden. The bathroom is small but the rest of the suite makes up for this.

The pool area is lovely with lagoon type shallow ends making it quite safe for small children. There are several beaches to choose from, our favourite was the one in front of Sani Asterias, which Porto Sani guests can use. We hired bikes and our children loved cycling to the beach each day, which is quite safe as there are very few cars around the resort.

As other reviews have said the service is excellent, staff are amazingly helpful and pleasant. The food is also excellent, there are numerous options within the marina and the main hotel restaurant is very good. Breakfast is available until 11am so it was always a stress-free environment.

Whilst we were there we used the Babe Watch nanny on the beach, this was a wonderful service that allows you to leave your child with a lovely lady who amuses them building sandcastles while you have a swim in the sea. We also had a babysitter each evening, this was quite reasonable and only 15-20 euros for 2-3 hours.

I would thoroughly recommend this resort to families during the school holidays and couples without kids should go at other times when I’m sure the pool is a very relaxed place to sit and read your book sipping a cool drink. But if you haven’t got kids and were to go end August I’m not sure you’d be too happy!

The hotel offers a 10% discount to repeat guests and the number of returning guests to this resort demonstrates how wonderful it is.

  • Liked — As good as it gets with two young children!
  • Disliked — Nothing, all positive
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank PANDP2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

We (wife, daughter, aged 13 and myself) have just returned from an 18 day stay at Porto Sani Village, followed by a further stay of 9 days.
In a word - excellent. I chose the Porto Sani Village after allot of internet searching, and review reading, and it FAR exceeded expectations in virtually all respects.

Service-- Without question this was the star quality of the Porto Sani Village. From the moment you arrive, you are looked after. The staff are fantastic. Exceptional! The staff are largely European (Romanian, Russian, Estonian, Slovakian) but all spoke good English and were extremely courteous and attentive.
We will keep in touch with several of the staff they were great and have become good friends over our two trips this year.

Food--. You get a great choice of restaurants on the marina, and also the main restaurant in the Porto Sani village. Just excellent, as are the breakfasts.

The resort itself-- The pools are beautiful, the Spa fantastic, the beaches are blue flag beaches, there are watersports. Its a place to relax. We tried most of the watersports, and used the spa most days. This is a place to go to relax, and chill.
Have a look at the local villages which have great beaches and great restaurants.

Cannot recommend this place highly enough it is fantastic, we were only home one week when we booked it again for 9 days, we got back yesterday.

On our second trip we were lucky enough to get a show villa that had been fully refurbished, it was perfect as good as the best hotels in Dubai. They resort has planned to refurb all of the villas during this winter, if they are all done to this standard I struggle to see how it can be improved upon.
If you are looking for an excellent resort, beautiful, clean, relaxing, children looked after, beautiful location, excellent staff, then this really is the place to go.

The team at Porto know how to look after people if there is a small issue it is dealt with by intelligent and articulate staff who care about your holiday as if it were theirs! The owners have chosen their management team well, they in turn have appointed their subordinates appropriately.
All of the staff from porter to director, waitress to spa staff and receptionist to life guard understand the meaning of customer service and apply Porto's high standards in all of their dealings, thank you.

Special thanks has to go to Helani, Leani, Theo and Dina in the spa, All of the reception staff especially Boyana, Nikos the bar manager and his team, the waitresses Helana and Michella and Jana . Artemisk the life guard and everyone else at the resort. Special thanks to Kevin Kainz the Guest Services Director who has become and will remain a great personal friend. From day one Kevin puts all of his guests first, his enthusiasm is infectious, he is a credit to the resort.
KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK ALL OF YOU. Thanks the Wild Family!

  • Liked — All Round it was Fantastic Brilliant Excellent
  • Disliked — The holiday came to an end very sad to leave
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Andylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, Surrey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2007

Of the 3 properties at the resort, the Village is far and away the best. The staff are great without being too attentive, the place is clean and tidy and importantly not overcrowded.

Rooms - OK but I understand there's a refurb coming up, The bathrooms are a little small and for us at least we could have done with the space taken up by the kitchenette which we didn't use in favour of a bigger bathroom.

Food - the dine-around scheme is good but do remember to ask for the 20% discount you get as a resident if it's not deducted from the bill at the marina restaurants. The See You Up restaurant is good if you like fusion food but not much for the kids there. Tomata is probably the best of the rest.

Kids club - OK but a little limited in terms of activities and not a patch on what we found at Lykia World.

Pools - good mix of shallow pools for the kids with the bonus that towels on beds are removed if they are deserted for 30 minutes. Pool staff will bring out other beds if the pool get busy so never really an issue getting somewhere to lay.

Spa and gym - great facilities and all apart from the treatments is free.

Overall - a good holiday but perhaps a little too quiet for us. If we went back it would probably be to the beachfront villas.

  • Liked — Touch of luxury and not overcrowded.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mandk2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2007

Stayed on several Greek Islands in five star hotels. If you are looking for a quiet spot around the pool forget this one!!!
Over crowded pool area with shabby sunbeds and no mattresses. Not suitable for couples. Mainly families with young children.
Stayed 14 nights and never once used the pool because there were to many children screaming and shouting on their inflatable toys!
Good accomodation, food and service. Al a carte resturant same single menu for 14 nights ridiculous really!!!
Beach area private beds very good, thank god glad to get away from the pool!!!

  • Liked — Great Beach and the dining out
  • Disliked — Pool Area and sunbeds
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dudley69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2007

This is a resort complex made up of 3 hotels/Villas they are all owned by the same company but vary in Quality and price

The Porto Sani Village is a collection of low level (2 story villas) around a beuatiful pool and is attached to the Marina.

Teheaccomodation is good and the service is without fault although its not quite up to standard in the Buffet resturant but the food is excellent.

If you pay the meal allowance, you get an allowance of the food in the numerous a la carte resturants around the Marina and other hotels, they do have a special menu at these returnats which in theory is civered by the meal allowance however its limited and you need to give a few days notice, best to take the allowance and the discounts (you have to remind them about these they often forget !!)

All in all an excellent resort especially if you have kids, great accomodation and beaches, excellent food.

Worth researching to make sure you stay in the porto village, some tour operators brochures are not too clear, the hotels website is excellent and if you book direct they send a taxi to pick you up (included in the price).

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank harrego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sani
0.3 mi away
Sani Beach
Sani Beach
#4 of 5 in Sani
2,834 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sani Asterias
Sani Asterias
#1 of 5 in Sani
539 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sani Club
Sani Club
#3 of 5 in Sani
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Achtis Hotel
Achtis Hotel
#1 of 8 in Afitos
981 reviews
7.4 mi away
Pomegranate Wellness Spa Hotel
22.4 mi away
Acrotel Athena Pallas Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Sani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Sani

Property: Porto Sani
Address: Sani 63077, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Sani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sani
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sani
#2 Spa Hotel in Sani
#3 Family Hotel in Sani
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Porto Sani 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious getaway for the body and mind, the relaxed surroundings of the expansive Porto Sani Village is an ideal setting in which to restore your karma. The sensuous Spa Suite is a haven of tranquility providing tailor-made aromatherapy treatments, personal trainers and one-on-one yoga lessons, while the breathtaking lagoon pool is the perfect place to soak up the sun and enjoy our energising fresh juices and well-being menus for adults and children. The contemporary elegance of Porto Sani Village is complemented by a superb setting close to Sani Marina and its enticing world of inspired cuisine. The refreshingly spacious suites of this hotel are ideal for families and command spectacular views over the lagoon pools and the Marina, resplendent with its majestic yachts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Prestigia, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Sani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Sani Village Hotel Sani
Porto Sani Village Kassandra
Porto Sani Village Hotel Kassandra
Porto Sani Halkidiki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing