We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sani Asterias

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sani Asterias
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sani
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

What a place to sum it up i one word BRILLIANT. The staff and management seem to be totally focused on their clients, nothing is too much they ae just set on ensuring that your stay meets your exact requirements. The place s spotless, the food is superb the bar is brilliant and the complex overall is the best I have ever been to it even surpassed The Jumeriah Beach Hotel in Dubai. Thanks to you all.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Andylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    34
    9
    7
    0
See reviews for
235
187
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2008

My husband and i booked a junior suite for our honeymoon in august, we were collected by car at the airport and driven to the hotel to be greeted by the manager on arrival a nice touch, once checked in we were shown to our room which was quite nice but i wouldn't say anything special, the hotel had arranged rose petals and tealight candles in a heart shape on the floor another nice touch although slightly hazardous, and a bottle on ice in a verve bucket that turned out to be cheap sparkling wine an insult considering the amount of money we paid for this trip! One last comment would be the room was very hot it took all evening for the air conditioning to kick in and then got too cold to sleep, we would have to put the air con on at lunch time to be able to cope with the temperature in the suite once finished sunbathing.

We decide to have a look round the resort, as we arrived on the beach we realised that all was not as expected, the website and brochure for this resort gives you a false sense of privacy and luxury, but what you get is quite the opposite the beds are not as shown in the brochure so instead of getting thick cushioned comfy wooden framed beds what you get is uncomfy cheap metal framed beds, that are in fact not reserved for you as expected but reserved for anyone in your part of the hotel, and in some cases people from other sani hotels came over to lay on the beach belonging to the suites, we shared our sunbathing with other guests quite close to us and plenty of screaming children not what honeymooners expect at all! The sea however was nice and quite shallow for a good stretch however 3-4 days into our 10 day stay we discovered jelly fish in the sea and i being a tad woosy with things like that would no longer go into the sea.
Service on the beach was generally okay most of the time waiters were passing and taking many orders at once but one waiter in particular told us he had finished his shift and to wait for someone else! The following day we asked him for some drinks and for the first time all trip he asked us to prove our room details.

After having discovered the jelly fish we spent the rest of our time at the pool, firstly the chloride in the pool was so strong that it ruined my bikini my husband's swim shorts and another families kids also had their swimshorts turn green along with their toddlers usually white hair!
Secondly, one of the guests had put their toddler into the pool without a nappy and much to our disgust their was a poo, floating around the pool!
Thirdly, the hotel ran out of towels towards the end of the trip and for 3 days we had to wait for beach/pool towels on average we waited between 2&4 hours! All we received were apologies!

The restaurants in the resort were nice and the food was very good, particularly evening restaurants but expect to spend about £100 - £150 pounds for your evening meal if you eat in the hotel it is very pricey but again very high standard, the breakfast is always in the same restaurant by the pool a good choice of buffet and lunch again is very nice but they will charge 8 euros for a kids burger and 40 odd for an adult burger and the two do not vary much!
The service started off well in the main restaurant but deteriated as they reached higher capacity, we witnessed a family with 5 kids setting their own table twice!
Most of the staff were generally helpful and pleasant, i just would say that sometimes they were understaffed and if you wanted something not on the menu ie the adult burger they would price it as they pleased.
The marina has a good choice of restaurants you will save money if you eat on the marina, the japanese restaurant is particularly good, the tonata restaraunt is awful!

Be warned there is not alot to do here so take a good book and don't expect any excursions! Also if you request the dvd selection to relax in your room most of the them are scratched and dated. The gym is well equipped although fairly small and they do have bikes and tennis courts for hire. Evening entertainment is really lacking.

Also be warned that if you use the laundry service you may wait a week for your item/s to be returned after hassling the reception staff on a daily basis.

We really couldn't wait to leave and get home, shortly after our return we recieved an e-mail from the manager having read the comments card he offered us 50% discount on a future booking but we will never re-visit and would have preferred a refund of half of what we paid! Although not even sure this resort is worth half of what we paid! i'm sure there are other things i'm missing but we had alot of complaints!

  • Liked — The evening food in the hotel
  • Disliked — too many things
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank LondonTravellots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2008

Well, we treated ourselves to a couple of nice family breaks this year, though to do so we went slightly out of season. We paid the price with the weather, sure, but not with the service or facilities. Le Touessrok in Mauritius was one treat, but we started at Sani Asterias in May. Both were having trouble with the weather!

Our main criteria rested with making sure our 2 1/2 year old daughter was happy, and that there were quality facilities for her during the day. We'd stayed at Carlisle Bay in Antigua where the children's club was absolutely fantastic and quite new, the year before so our expectations were set reasonably high. And we weren't disappointed - big space for playing outside, lots of equipment including swings, slide and climbing frame, and rubberised surfaces ready for that inevitable fall! The club is run by a UK company with young, qualified and responsible staff. They were great. So, Sani's Melissa Club holds its own in terms of activities for younger children, and the girls babysit in the evenings too - but you have to book early!

The suites are stylish, well-equipped, clean and spacious. We had a Beach front standard suite which worked well and the separate bedroom was great in an evening once our daughter had gone to bed for us to relax with room service on those nights we chose to stay in. Room service is not especially a cheap option and the bill tended to creep away a little - hey, but you are on holiday and all major credit cards are accepted - and it's back to work when you get back don't forget!!

The bar was impressive and the Restaurant superb - very friendly, with an exceptional Maitre D who takes all the stuffiness out of fine dining, but makes sure everything stays fine. Enjoy the adventure and ask for help with learning a bit more about Greek wine and you're unlikely to be disappointed. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone. Some staff were finding their feet at the start of the season, but were managed well. Kevin runs a good ship and plays 'front of house' exceptionally well. You can't help but feel you're his number one priority. Reception and bar staff the same.

So, it holds its own in good company (Le T and Carlisle Bay are tough competition), given its not an 8 or 12 hour flight from the UK. It's not as exotic and can't compete head on, but it has a nice marina with some good restaurants to give you a greater sense of choice and variety, and cut the costs a little. It isn't cheap though, and that might get you thinking that you could have gone a bit more tropical for the money. There are other cheaper options in Sani, there is no doubt, but they cater for different needs that wouldn't suit us just yet. But if you're looking to tick the young children box, the service and friendliness box and want to feel you've had a good holiday without making sacrifices for you or the children, without the burden of strenuous travel, then in our opinion, Sani Asterias ticks a lot of boxes.

  • Liked — Suites are well equipped and spacious
  • Disliked — Nothing really - shower could be better
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Quinney22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2008

we have been coming to sani resort for several years, where recent couple of years we are very happy to be returning guests to sani asterias suites. after travelling all over from maldives through hawaii and mexico and all of italy and south of france, major greek islands as well many times - I may only firmly say that sani asterias is worth every single penny. the best feature for us of the six (not even 5 star) service and facility is the hospitality and warmth of the staff.
the hotel manager kevin is playing a leading role in showing all his employees the values of perfect service and care to all small details, which are so important and make us come back so many times.
great is having nespresso machines and Bose sounddocks in all suites, breakfast has awesome sweets, the water bar and restaurant taken care by asteri and nikos are worth to fly for. i hope this place will stay as good as it is so we can go back again. the nearby boussulas beach is better than many far east ones.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vertuBg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2008

We've recently come back from Asterias - I would agree with some of the reviews but wondering how much people paid? I've just looked on Thomson website and realise we could have saved about £1,000 by booking through them. I might not have been so prickly about our experience then.

The good points: beautiful lobby, restaurant, pool area (if a little small), restaurants in the marina and hotel - amazing. London standards but also London prices. Particularly, Water (at the suites), Tomata, fantastic food and Byblos - which was sublimely gorgeous!! Breakfast was wonderful. Suites are nicely situated away from the marina but close enough to walk around in evening. Location great right next to the beach. Staff were very friendly, genuine - can't do enough for you with great attitude. Can't say that enough. Also loved the outdoor cinema. Loved having ipod docks in the room (helped against other noise), and balcony was quite big with great views on to beach. Fantastic facilities - eg. tennis, beautiful spa, bikes etc. Beach is beautiful, and the sea lovely and shallow - great for kids. The on beach service excellent.

The bad points: For 780 euros a night i'd say the suite was disappointing. Although quite nice, the furniture a little out of date, and small for the price, and shower inadequate (low pressure and shower unit kept overflowing).

As one reviewer said you are close to some other price sensitive places which means that out of your balcony to the left you can see ugly 70's building (another hotel). Also - and this was the bain of our trip - from 3pm til 1am approx. you could hear a slight boom, boom, boom, from the beach bar at the next resort about half a mile away. This was constant and although not very loud, once you started hearing it you couldn't stop. No relaxing post dinner brandies on the balcony at midnight then. Could also hear it on the beach to the extent that my husband wore ear plugs on the beach (and me my ipod the whole time). Manager did try his best to contact them to lower sound sadly to no avail.

You are sandwiched between two quite crowded beaches and although you are told the beach is private to sani asterias suites you also share it with another nearby hotel, so we often had to do the german thing of putting towels on loungers first thing!

Overall some highlights, beautiful food (as my waistline can contest!), but won't be returning. Not good value for money.

  • Liked — Fantastic restaurants
  • Disliked — Noise from neighbouring resort.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank liveinengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2008

We had an absolutely wonderful honeymoon at the Sani Asterias Suites and were really looked after by the manager Kevin Kainz and his fabulous team including the receptionsists, waiters and waitresses and the two wonderful girls who served us drinks and food by the pool all day long together with fresh towles as soon as one was used!! Both Kevin and all of the staff went out of their way to make our honeymoon even more special. The food was wonderful, there was such a large choice for breakfast including fruit, pastries, cereal, yogurt, cheese, ham, salmon and a menu for cooked items. The all day dining by the poolside menu was wonderful as well with such a large choice of both 'well being' and light cuisine. The Water Restaurant was superb and their alacarte menu delightful. We ate at all the other hotels in the resort and again we could not fault either the food or the service, Porto Sani Village was beautiful at night! Plus with the suite buggies being on hand we didn't need to walk anywhere which was very nice!! We promised Kevin we would let others know what a wonderful time we had at Sani Asterias so we have done. We can only say that it was quite expensive and there are a lot of families there (Incluidng the wonderful Chris DeBurgh who did a private performance for the guests in the suites...amazing!) so it was very quiet for us as not many young couples to speak to but an absolutely superb holiday. Thank you Kevin and your wonderful staff, hopefully see you again soon...we'll bring the family! Mr and Mrs Pegram.

  • Liked — Everything!!!
  • Disliked — Nothing!!!!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank racingwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2008

Just returned from sani asterias suites, where we had a great weeks holiday. We had a beach front suite literally yards from the beach, also close to pool and restaurant for breakfast. I have got no complaints to register it was just great. I booked an airport transfer and from the moment we were met at the airport to the moment we were deposited back there one week later we had top class service with a smile.
The standard of all the services was second to none, a special mention to Kevin Kainz the manager who swiftly provided us with a tempur mattress when requested, fresh milk daily and entertainment advice, also to Katerina and Maria in reception who were just the best. We tried most of the restaurants in the resort and in my opinion the ones attached to the hotel were the best for food quality, try the Water restaurant, and the one in the middle of the pool at Porto Sani Village for lunch, or order lunch on the beach you get the same great food and service.
Our suite was lovely, I take on board what the other review said about the bathroom being slightly tired, but this is really insignificant when taking everything into account .

  • Liked — size of suite, proximity to beach
  • Disliked — no kids channels on tv
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gotonebooked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sani
0.2 mi away
Porto Sani
Porto Sani
#2 of 5 in Sani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sani Beach
Sani Beach
#4 of 5 in Sani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,650 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sani Club
Sani Club
#3 of 5 in Sani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Achtis Hotel
Achtis Hotel
#1 of 8 in Afitos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
9.0 mi away
Possidi Holidays Hotel
Possidi Holidays Hotel
#1 of 3 in Possidi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
22.6 mi away
Acrotel Athena Pallas Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sani Asterias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sani Asterias

Property: Sani Asterias
Address: Sani Resort, Sani 630 77, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Sani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sani
#1 Spa Hotel in Sani
#1 Family Hotel in Sani
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sani
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sani Asterias 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The turquoise waters of the Aegean gently lap the soft golden sands that enticingly await outside your door. The intimate Sani Asterias Suites are sublimely elegant with each luxuriously styled suite designed to make your stay truly memorable. Michelin-starred executive chefs have excelled themselves with a menu that both surprises and delights, and our team take great pleasure in meeting your every need.This luxury boutique hotel in a private beach setting sits comfortably in its own serenely landscaped surrounds with inspiring views over the tranquil ocean and direct access to its own exclusive beach. Everything you need is at hand and we are always more than happy to accommodate special requests however we can. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sani Asterias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sani Asterias Hotel Sani
Hotel Sani Asterias
Sani Asterias Suites
Sani Asterias Halkidiki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing