We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic if you have kids you must go!!”
Review of Aqualand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aqualand Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Agios Ioannis
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic if you have kids you must go!!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Just back 31st Aug, great hotel we had a one bedroom apartment it had a shower room, lounge with double bed and a pull out bed for the kids 15 & 5 then a double bedroom upstairs for the adults. The resort is big, nice pool, wave pool two restaurants and a few bars. The animation team are fantastic and always remember your names the kids loved them. Free trips to Corfu town and the beach are great well worth doing. We also went on Theo's boat trip this was the best day of the holiday. Great holiday don't believe the bad reviews they must be serial complainers or just completely crazy :-)

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Keo1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    268
    125
    49
    44
See reviews for
510
69
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Missenden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is defiernotly the best holiday i have ever been on. The hotel was very clean and in a very good condition. Our hotel room was very big. Our room had an upstairs as well as a downstairs. The room was very clean and the cleaner came in regulay to clean it again. Our room also had a balcony whick overlooked the massive wave pool and was a good spot for people watching. We had a very clean bathroom and it was fairly big. Are bathroom consisted of a shower and it was very good. However the problem with our bathroom was that it had a marbel flooring so when it got wet it was very slippery and very dangerous so we had to cover the flooring with towels so knowone would slip over. Another problem with our room was that there wasnt much wardrobe space so you ended up taking your clothes out your suitcase because that was the only space for your clothes. Around the resort there was one nomal swimming pool, a massive wave pool and also the massive waterpark. The swimming pool inside the resort was very relaxing a fairly big however it did get quite cold. The wave pool was massive and was great fun when the wave machine started and the pool was filled with rubber rings which was veery fun and enjoyable. One problem with this pool was though it got very busy because this pool was open to all the people in the water park too so it got very busy. The waterpark was brilliant it was gigantic and full of fun things to do. There was many slides for yound people as well as older people. Furthermore the water park had a number of swimming pools in it which were also very nice and relaxing. The water slides were great fun because there was a large varierty of them for example: fast ones, slow ones, big ones and also smmal one so there was a good varierty for many different people. Also all the slides were in good quality however on one of them some people do bang there head on. In addition around the waterpark there was many places to get some food and also drinks and there is also a photographer going around taking pictures of you which you can purchase at the end oof the day. Furthermore on the resort there was a restaurant were you got get your daily meals. The food wasnt the best and some things werent that nice however everything was laybelled so you know what you were eating and there was also a large varierty. Also the waitresses cleared your tables quickly and also regualy so you dont have to worry about a mess. In the evening there wasnt much to do there was a kids club but was for very young kids but there wasnt much for adults to do. You kind of had to create your wn entertainment. On the resort there was a shop but it was very exspensive but there was a few cheap things. But if you were to go i would recomend hireing a car because the island is beautiful and the beaches are stunning and the water is very clear. So i would recomend getting a car.

To conclude this was a fantastic holiday with lots to do and the room was brilliant and also the resort was very clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Buster862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kleppe
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Aqualand resort is a very nice hotel, with friendly staff. All-inclusive food in restaurant was pretty varied, at least when staying for one week. Also great snack offering at pool, with drinks and ice cream available all day. Close to the Aqualand waterpark, with free access to lots of water-fun rides. Not too bad on queues either in the park. Hotel location could be more central to Corfu town and beach, but OK with bus. Surely recommended for families.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkvernstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just arrived home after a 10 night stay and we had a fab time.We where a bit apprehensive after reading some of the reviews, to be honest I think some people just like to moan about things,our boys age 14 where entertained all day the team did a great job. The only downfall if I had to comment was the evening entertainment was hit and miss but we took games to play.If you do visit our room numbers were 1304/1305 straight out to the pool we will return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulacroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We travelled to Aqualand with my wife, and three children (15, 11 and 7) and we stayed in one of their studio apartments which sleep up to five. We had a great holiday and the only shortcoming was the air-con in the apartment, which did not make the room cool.

Before we got there I was a little in the dark as to the layout of the apartment, as the websites don't really make it clear. The apartment had a loft area built into it, which housed two single beds, which is how it fits five beds in the room. There was a small kitchenette, but no equipment, which was not a problem as we we all inclusive. I understand that all of the kitchenettes are being removed for next season, presumably because they only offer all inclusive holidays, so is not necessary. There was a fridge freezer which was handy to store drinks. The shower room and separate toilet was adequate and always had sufficient hot water.

All of the apartments are two storey, and we had one of the upstairs versions. We had a balcony with table and chairs. Downstairs apartments had a the same outside the sliding doors at the rear of their apartment.

Maids cleaned rooms every day and changed towels and linen every two days. The apartments were very clean.

Meals were served in the restaurant, and despite it being busy, we never had a problem getting a table at any mealtime. The food was very varied, with many choices and salads, meat and vegetable dishes every day, with various themes running through the week we were there.

When the restaurant was closed, late morning to lunchtime and mid afternoon until dinner, various snacks were available at the snack bar next to the pool bar. In the mornings hot food including fries, chicken nuggets, and sausage rolls we available in the warmer, along with sandwiches which could be toasted in the Brevil sandwich maker. The hot snacks were not available in the afternoon, but the toasties were plus melon slices and cake later in the afternoon.

All inclusive drinks were available from the pool bar from 10:30 until around 6. Soft drinks were self service and alcoholic drinks were served by the bar staff. This worked well and as the kids could help themselves, I never saw a queue. Ice cream scoops were also available self service all day. The kids seems happy to scoop up what they wanted into the tubs provided whenever they wanted.

The pool was nice and sun beds were available, but you need to be out early to bag one. Unfortunately, we can't blame the Germans for this, as it was mainly British who put towels on the sun beds between 8-9 am! This didn't really bother us too much and there was another area with tables and chairs near the pool, which was under an awning, so gave some good shade for the kids. The pool seemed safe and a life guard was there all day, although her role also seemed to double as towel attendant! There is also a round children's paddling pool which was nice for my little one as the big pool has a minimum depth of 1.3 metres so she could just paddle there. Inflatables are allowed in the pools.

The large wave pool was a little further away from our apartment and more sunbeds were also available here. The public couldn't access this area until 11am when the gate to the main water park was opened. It was great to be able come and go as you please in and out of the waterpark. We tended to spend a hour or so at various times through the day in the waterpark going on the slides. That way we could take advantage of the waterpark and also the all,inclusive food and drinks at the hotel through the day. Food and drink in the waterpark itself are not included, so you either need to pay, or go back to the hotel, which isn't far, and is what we did. You cannot bring you all inclusive drinks into the park.

An entertainment programme runs each day apart from Friday (the animation team day off!). The standard daytime adult fayre such as water polo, water aerobics, table tennis and darts, kept people occupied through the day. Kids activities were also run through the days.

Evening entertainment was in the rooftop bar and included the usual kids mini disco, plus bingo on some nights, a quiz night, a "dance night" which was more of a comedy sketch night, and a night when the team mimed to Grease songs. They tried hard, but the evening entertainment was fairly poor.

Drinks in the rooftop bar were served in pretty small plastic glasses, so for anyone liking a pint of beer, you're out of luck. The beer itself was quite good and a selection of other local brand spirits was available. The service was pretty good and only very short queues ever formed, which was pretty good compared to other all inclusive holidays I've been on.

The development is not near anywhere worthwhile, but a free bus service runs to Corfu town and a beach resort daily. This has to be booked the day before at reception. I believe that a regular local bus service is also available but I didn't use this so cannot comment on it.

Overall, we enjoyed this holiday and the hotel has a relaxed and informal approach, which made for a nice chilled out feeling (even though the temperatures were not!)

The hotel was good but very much 3 star rather than the 4 suggested in some places. That's not to say that it wasn't very clean and well run. The reception team were very helpful and spoke very good English.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brencuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford-Le-Hope
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had a family holiday at The Aqualand Resort, Agios Ioannis, Corfu. Which is located in the middle of nowhere on the island . There is a free shuttle bus that runs every morning to take you to the nearest beach or into Corfu town, plus an evening bus for the town.
When we first arrived our room was not ready so we looked around the resort and on first glance it looked good. When we got our room (1501) the air con did not work, there was no lock on the bathroom (not a major deal, but when you have a teenager it can be for him) and the bunks bed for my 13 year old son were too small for him, plus my wife and I had a single bed each. Also the room is the furthest away from the main complex & restaurant. I went to reception to ask for a different room and was told there were none as it was fully booked. I enquired if the beds, lock & air con could be sorted and the receptionist told me “she’ll send someone to look at the air con, but could do nothing about the beds or lock.” The guy turned up 20 minutes later and fixed the air con which made the room so much better and we pushed the single beds together. My son had two weeks of uncomfortable sleep due to his bed being more like a cot! The shower wasn’t much good either as the drain was higher than the rest of the shower tray (if you could call it that) also the shower head was broken so you just got a jet of water not a shower.
The food at Aqualand resort was good and they did different theme nights so the choice was plentiful. The choice of all inclusive drinks was a bit disappointing. We were told that if we bought any food in the water park that we would get 25% discount if we showed our wristbands, but this did not happen at all the food huts. The kids could get ice cream most of the day and there was a snack bar by the pool bar that was open twice a day. The bar staff were very friendly and worked very hard as did the restaurant staff.
The animation team work from 10am until 11pm and try had to entertain everybody. They did OK during the day, but the evening entertainment most nights was dire.
The water park was good, but not for every day for 2 weeks.
The whole resort was very clean, only let down by some of the people that couldn’t be bothered to put their plastic cups in the many bins around the whole resort. Also there were terracotta pots filled with sand for the smokers which some still found it easier to stub their cigarettes’ out on the floor next to their sun bed.
The biggest down side to the resort is the lack of sun beds. I wake up at 8:30 and struggled to find 2 sun beds as most of them had already been reserved by towels. I haven’t got clue what time these people got out? I went out at 8am one morning and there wasn’t a free sun bed around the main pool.
The return at the airport was one of the worst I has ever experienced.
To sum up the resort: Good food & staff. Crap beds. Lack of sun beds. Poor location.

Room Tip: Stay away from 1501 if like a lay in, as it is right by the football, tennis & volleyball courts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just got back from Aqualand Corfu with out three children aged 6-13.

We had a great time and would recommend.

All of the staff were warm, friendly, welcoming and helpful. If they can help you have a good time they will.

The accommodation was simple, clean and good quality. Maid service daily and second to none. Constant attention to keeping all the facilities well maintained.

The food selection was always good in both quality and variety. The drinks (we were all inclusive) could be improved but were of a good selection and reasonable quality.

The main features are the Pools and adjoining aqua park. Again clean and well maintained. More importantly well run and good supervision/lifeguards. Unlike many water parks we've been to before it wasn't rammed to the rafters so easy to get sun beds and on all the rides. A feeling of being safe.

A little isolated the hotel provides free daily transport to a great beach and also Corfu town.

The only downside we had wasn't with the hotel or facilities but our travel agent/partners. We booked through Going Places/Thomson. Their service was pathetic. It was noticeable that their attitude, attendance at the hotel and their dress was deficient compared to all their European counterparts that we saw at the airport and hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank straightupntruthful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Ioannis
13.7 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,102 reviews
13.5 mi away
Sidari Water Park Hotel
8.8 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
4.7 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
2.5 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqualand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqualand Resort

Property: Aqualand Resort
Address: Agios Ioannis Parelion, Agios Ioannis 491 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Ioannis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Agios Ioannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqualand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqualand Hotel Agios Ioannis
Aqualand Hotel Corfu
Aqualand Village Corfu
Aqualand Resort Corfu, Ionian Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing