We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, you get what you pay for!”
Review of Aqualand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aqualand Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Agios Ioannis
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Glad I did not pay a lot for this holiday. We went for a week starting 3rd June with First Choice. Beware that FC advertise the Aquapark as all inclusive, IT IS NOT but you do get 25% off for staying in the hotel. Good thing was that we told the rep about this at the welcome meeting and she asked us to keep all waterpark receipts and then she refunded them at the end of the week.

Good Bits:
Great Aquapark
Cleanish
Entertainment team do try during the day

Bad Bits:
Only one place open to eat and the food was not great or hot very often
Snacks are extremely basic
Very basic rooms
No night time entertainment to speak of
Only the main lobby bar to drink in or on the roof at night
Boring, even for our child
Small so will be extremely busy in peak season

If you want a cheap holiday and are willing to spend evey day in the park then this will suit.

If you want some variety and entertainment at night, do not book!

Hope you enjoy it is you go, but we will not be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catlikething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 724 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

We found the park okay...however we were happy that we went for the late reduced entry price...the downside was many of the pools stopped at five (wave pool etc)...really clean and well organised...didn't like having to pay for lockers though...more sign post would be good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have just returned from a week at Aqualand village,
Overall we did have a nice time BUT, here are a few important things you should know.
The safe in the room is not included .It costs £15 per week. This is non refundable.
Be careful if you run out of sun cream.The cheapest is £19.00 for a small bottle.
There are no towels for use around the pools. These needto be hired , i believe it is refundable deposit.
Ther is NO beach in front of the hotel. There is a free bus which leaves at 11 and rturns at 4.
The evening entertainment is RUBBISH.I hav seen much better at my children's school.
The entertainment team consisted of 6 young adults from Bulgaria who come and work for 6 months.The ones i spoke to had no form of qualifications or previous experience.
One strip for bingo cost £3.00. ( not a book, just one strip)
I have an 11 and 13 year old. We saw tea shirt painting at the "animation"kids area and went to join in .Only to be told £10 a shirt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The day time entertainment depended on the animation team's mood and was sparce.
Volleyball on one morning lasted a good 3/4 hr which was great .The next morning it lasted only 10 minutes, AND THE NEXT DAY WE DIDNOT EVEN PLAY , WE JUST HAD TURNS SHOOTING GOALS.
The same went for afternoon water polo. The first time i played it lasted at least 3/4 hr.After that, it varied depending on if the reps felt they wanted to play .It seemed that if lots of rough men wanted to play then the reps were all for it but when it was a couple of families , the reps cut it short.
The waterpark is very good and easy to pop in and out of when ever you feel like it.
On occasions there is a terriblre stench of sewage from around the wave pool.
Food - well, the salad was lovely as were the kebabs on Greek night.,and the children love the pancakes for breakfast HOWEVER the cooked food was NEVER HOT.HARDLY EVEN TEPID. I saw a waitress topping up the area under the food rays with a kettle of water-was this realy supposed to keep it the correct temperature????????????

However,i did feel safe . My room was the basic studio appartment but i thought it was fine.Clean and spacious.I don't know why it had a mini kitchen tho..

Wasps did start to appear on the day before we left.


First Choice you have let yourselves down with this site.
Where were your friendly reps?

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mummy932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have just returned from a week’s stay with my wife and two boys 6 and 14. I would describe the Hotel as average at best. Not much better than self catering. Having read the previous review may I say I am not one of those ignorant people either just because my review is not so favourable.
We had a ground floor room, just big enough , clean enough but tired and basic. Kitchen contained nothing might as well not been there. Shower room was flooded every time you showered also tired. TV from 1980’s,taped up remote which was minging with 1 channel which went off when it rained. Beds were like sleeping on the tiled floor, do not expect a good night’s sleep. No tea or coffee making facilities.
Food to be fair was ok in the one and only restaurant and I noticed no pushing or shoving but the snacks were pitiful do it yourself toasties not to mention dangerous equipment , no sauces or anything, really poor. The soft drinks were terrible no Coke or even Pepsi , Magnus rola cola and gas filled lemon tasting water.
Entertainment for the kids was poor the Animation team were lovely but on the whole the kids were bored and resources looked limited. Entertainment for adults was nonexistent There was a lack of sun beds and thefts of belongings and towels as a 5 euro deposit was required for each one.
Positives were the water park and the staff who were friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

People who moan about this hotel were probably the rude ignorant people that pushed and shoved to get to the front of the buffet queues or the ones that took a disabled table in the restaurant that wouldn't move when asked to, or a family of 4 taking up one of the tables for 12 and so on, I am a personal travel agent who has travelled around the world in 2*-5* and to be honest when I read the reviews beforehand I was dreading the holiday, however our friends have been previously and rated it very highly, therefore booked again for 2013, as a family with a 15 month old we decided to join them for a week we were not disappointed.

Food - for the people that moan yes it wasn't the greatest at snack time with just toasties, chips, pasties and ice cream but you failed to mention the fresh fruit, salad, meats, pastas, veg's and so on that was on offer every lunch and evening meal, breakfast you could always get anything you wanted the staff was re stocking all the time and if you were only there for one week you never had to eat the same thing twice, and I have a toddler who ate the majority of the food on offer so please don't listen to the person complaining re meals for children.

Entertainment - I am now referring to the children in our party (and the men ), the entertainment staff had everything organised for children and grown-ups of all ages all day every day from football to painting t shirts and yes on an evening sometimes the entertainment wasn’t professional actors/singers etc. but the entertainment team worked hard they were up rehearsing every night after the show until 2 and 3 o’clock I think people who moan were the ones that didn't join in like the miserable people that are moaning on here – the mini disco’s for children were brilliant.

Staff - all friendly ready to help in any circumstance

Waterpark - clean, fun for all the family and free

Facilities for children excellent

Pools clean

Drinks I probably agree are weak but if you want 5* you shouldn't be coming here

Rooms - to the people who say they are small, what was you expecting? most of the rooms in Greek hotels are half the size that this hotel offers the rooms here are spacious enough for a family of 4 and come with safe charge 13 euros per week, air conditioning free and a fridge - bathrooms and bedrooms very clean, fresh towels and cleaners every day barring one again if you didn't like it you could go elsewhere and pay 5* prices

Location - I have to agree in the middle of nowhere but the hotel provides regular free busses to Corfu town (well worth a trip) and the beach what more can you ask for this is also explained in the brochure.

On site there are also two shops plus others in the water park that sell everything you could need/want - you can use your bank card in the water park - the only downside to this hotel I found is that there is not a cash point but the reception can change GBP into Euro’s and Corfu Town has lots of banks.

We enjoyed our trip that much that we extended it by 3 nights 4 days whilst we were there the hotel were very helpful even printing out our new flight tickets and making sure we could stay in the same room etc. so our 7 nights became 10 nights not many hotels can have that effect on us we are looking again for next year and this will be our friends 3rd time too.

See for yourself - if the deals right and you have children go for it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We travelled as a family of 5. Wife and three kids aged 16..14..and 4. On arrival check in was quick but one of our rooms wasnt ready, had to wait about an hour no problem.

ROOMS. Too small, and the beds were the worst most uncomfortable beds i have ever slept in (or not slept in) pillars as flat has pancakes. If you have the misfortune to be next door to a duplex room as we were get ready for the noise, you can hear every thing. Shower was ok but the floor always got flooded dont know how when the shower door was shut.

LOCATION...Best described as in the middle of nowhere, but there is a courtesy bus to the beach and into corfu town. Both worth a visit.

RESTARAUNT...Food was ok, sometimes a bit hit and miss, Had to wait for bacon to be cooked some mornings. No decent choice for toddlers. i.e pizzas or cocktali sauasages...crap.

DRINKS...Absolutley rubbish watered down beer and lousy tasting vodka,bacardi,etc

ENTERTAINMENT..Boring, no imagination put into it at all.

SNACK BAR...What a joke, nothing but made up cheese and ham sandwhiches which you had to toast yourself on 2 of the slowest sandwich toasters ever.

POOLS...Good but never managed to get a sun bed ever so went to water park.

WATER PARK...This was where we spent most of the time, good slides and plenty of sunbeds but you cant take drinks from the hotel into the waterpark,

Had a good hol but would not go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hicky31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have never ever had a bad holiday - until now! Complete and utter waste of money, we went as a group (8 adults 4 kids) the restaurant would not let us sit together by moving tables together, terrible service in the restaurant and dreadful food (now I am not a fussy eater - but here.....). The beds were like sleeping on bricks and the pillows like cement bags, so dreadful sleep all round. The shower had one setting - hard! the water came out so hard that our bathroom constantly flooded and our daughter skidded over more than once. We got conned into paying extra for a kitchenette, but no utensils whatsoever, so complete waste of money. Snack bar consisted of toasted cheese & ham sandwiches and cucumber and tomato slices. I wouldn't go back here if they paid me

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Ioannis
13.7 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,205 reviews
13.5 mi away
Sidari Water Park Hotel
8.8 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
2.5 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
4.7 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqualand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqualand Resort

Address: Agios Ioannis Parelion, Agios Ioannis 491 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Ioannis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Agios Ioannis
Price Range: $111 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Aqualand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqualand Hotel Agios Ioannis
Aqualand Hotel Corfu
Aqualand Village Corfu
Aqualand Resort Corfu, Ionian Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing