We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice and cosy hotel in Makrinitsa (not in Platanidia as stated in tripadvisor)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arhontiko Sisilianou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arhontiko Sisilianou
Ranked #6 of 18 Makrinitsa B&B and Inns
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very nice and cosy hotel in Makrinitsa (not in Platanidia as stated in tripadvisor)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed in Archontiko Sicilianou recently on our trip to Pylion. The hotel is located in the village of Makrinitsa not in Platanidia as stated by tripadvisor. The hotel is right on the main square.

The hotel is a traditional stone house typical to the area. It is very nice and cosy with traditional decoration of white walls, dark wooden furniture and high ceilings. Beside comfy rooms they also have a lovely breakfast area. We really enjoyed the home-made breakfast in front of fire while listening to some opera. It was all so well suited for the place. I can warmly recommend!

We visited during the month April and quite enjoyed Pilion and Makrinitsa. The first day was rainy and quite cold but it added to the magical atmosphere of the village. The second day with sun gave us a chance to appreciate the beauty of the area as well. I think Pilion is a place where you would enjoy visiting any time of the year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tarulaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
193 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed for 2 days and truly enjoyed this room! The hospitality was great! The room was so cozy that we didn't want to leave! We have visited Makrinitrsa before and stayed in 2 different hotels. So this was the third one and the best. We are definitely comming back to this hotel. The breakfast was excellent and the area that it was served at was just spectacular. The view and the cosiness from the fireplace made it a dreamy breakfast. Congratulations to the owners.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CreteBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalem
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We enjoyed very much our staying at Archontiko Sisilianou.
the hospitality was excellent the room was very clean with faboules view.The breakfast was woderful home made and delicious with amazing view
And above all Anna the manager of the hotel was warm hekpful and let us fill that this is our home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmichal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2009

We stayed in Arhontiko Sisilianou a couple of nights during Easter weekend. We weren’t sure what to expect, since we booked it online without reading any reviews about the place. However, this turned out to be the best part of our entire Greece vacation, and probably one of the best B&Bs we ever stayed at.

The village itself (Markinitsa) is really charming, and has a very relaxing vibe to it. Even though it does have a few tourist shops, it doesn’t feel like a tourist trap at all. We spent hours just walking on the old stone paths that crisscross the mountainside, and enjoying the amazing views of the bay and Volos.

But the highlight of our stay in Markinitsa was the bed and breakfast. The place is owned by a greek family, and they were so nice and welcoming. The room itself had a really authentic feel to it, with heavy wood furniture and high ceilings. The place is located right on the main square, so we had views of the square and the bay from the bedside windows. The breakfast was amazing!! The owners also run a café, so they make cappuccinos/espressos/Greek coffee to order, such a treat! There was a great selection of homemade pastries and breads, homemade marmalades, and fresh squeezed juices (every morning I saw them squeeze orange juice by hand!). I got addicted to their thick Greek yogurt with fruit salad and honey. Since we were there on Easter, they even invited us to stay and have the traditional Easter Sunday lunch with them, which includes mainly a whole spit-roasted lamb. Unfortunately, we had to leave early on Sunday, so we couldn’t stay.

Amazing place and amazing people! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YTB2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makrinitsa
0.0 mi away
Arhontika Saltis
Arhontika Saltis
#2 of 3 in Makrinitsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Archontiko Argyro
Archontiko Argyro
#1 of 3 in Makrinitsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pelion Resort
Pelion Resort
#2 of 12 in Portaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Erofili Hotel
Erofili Hotel
#5 of 12 in Portaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Petrino
Hotel Petrino
#1 of 18 in Makrinitsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Archontiko Repana
Archontiko Repana
#5 of 18 in Makrinitsa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arhontiko Sisilianou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arhontiko Sisilianou

Property: Arhontiko Sisilianou
Address: Main Square, Makrinitsa, Volos, Greece
Location: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Volos > Makrinitsa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Makrinitsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arhontiko Sisilianou 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arhontiko Sisilianou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing