We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveler rating
97
126
76
34
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
97
126
76
34
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool rooms are spacious breakfast and dinner nice restaurant pelion mountain pleasant stay sea volos stuff amenities fuss spacy greece
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 354 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2017

This hotel is probably one of the best options if you have decided to visit Pelion. Volos itself is to be avoided, because it is basically a port city without any beaches or something exciting. Luckily, Agria is a small town nearby, strategically located if you want to explore the mountains and beaches of Pelion.

The hotel has very nice facilities, but also a huge shortcoming, which is the restaurant, where the locals organize events like weddings, etc. If there is a wedding the music will be very, very loud throughout the night, as typically the real party starts around 1am. Even without weddings, the music is very loud and peaks between 10pm and at least 1am, with some very repetitive folk music. There is also the smell that comes from the restaurant's kitchen, which can become nauseating at times. If possible, avoid being there on Friday and Saturday night, when the situation with the music is the worst.

Aside from this, the hotel is beautifully located right across the street from the sea, and less than 5 minutes away from the main taverna and restaurant area in Agria. The rooms are nice and spacious, the hotel staff are helpful and friendly and will assist with anything you might need. There is a very nice coffee shop two doors down the street, where the owner would take good care of you and all your caffeine and sugar confections related needs. The situation with the hotel parking can be a bit difficult, but not unbearable. The rooms are kept very clean and tidy, the beds are quite comfortable, and overall the hotel facilities are exceeding the expectations for the Greek standards.

If you are in the area do not miss the opportunity to visit the Ouzeri's on the main street - these are basically restaurants specialized in serving Tsipouro and meze at a fixed price, and each time the meze changes. We had some of best octopus with pickled vegetables there, and it is really the local tradition. Also, if you want to visit the nearby Sporades, the easiest way is to take a water taxi from Micro. The famous Mylopotamos beach will be severely overcrowded in the summer so there isn't much sense to go there.

Room tip: Avoid the rooms above the restaurant, the smell and noise are worst there.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vesko9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanasischond, Front Office Manager at Valis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2017

Dear Vesko9,

Thank you for sharing your genuine impressions and feelings of the Valis Resort with other readers on Trip Advisor, further to your recent stay. Both the positive as well as the 'not so positive' comments you mention are appreciated and taken on board with the best of intentions.
First,we would like to thank you for evaluating our facilities, service and cleanliness so highly. We take pride in our service and appreciate your positive feedback on this aspect of your stay.We would like also to thank you for the generous description of our home town.Agria is indeed blessed with an abundance of natural beauty.
By the way,we are sincerely sorry for the many small hiccups that occured during your stay, which perhaps prevented your holiday from being even more enjoyable. The points which you mentioned will indeed be addressed from our side, in order to prevent reoccurence of such mishaps.

With sincere thanks and warm regards,

Thanasis Chondronikos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2016 via mobile

I stayed there twice this month and was perfectly satisfied by the room (very spacious, clean, nice decoration), breakfast (great variety, tasty pies), location (10 min. ride from volos, next to the sea). Saddly, I didn't have the time to try the spa and gym..

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank bbgreece2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanasischond, Front Office Manager at Valis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2017

Dear Guest bbgreece2,

We really appreciate your kind words and the time you have taken to provide a comment on TripAdvisor concerning your stay at Valis Resort. Your review enhances our efforts to keep serving our customers at the most productive and effective way.We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards

Thanassis Chondronikos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2016

Easy to find, after Volos just follow the seaside road and you will find the hotel, and what a hotel !!!
Big, clean and nice furnished room at the top floor (2. floor), big balcony and a wonderful sea view. Lovely furnitures in Viennese classical style, big, high and comfortable beds, good sleep comfort, nice and big bathroom. The WiFi in the room was poor and not stable.
The check-in very quick in the big reception, the staff very helpful and showed all the facilities: Pool, Pool bar, Breakfast restaurant, Spa and Greek Taverna.
Had a Meze lunch with Tzipouro (a bit like Ouzo + Meze = small plates with various dishes). The quality of the food was excellent.
In the evening a fantastic dinner at the greek taverna, all dishes very big and very delicious, again the same quality of food.
Breakfast was fantastic and rich, you can't taste everything, so many different kinds of food was there, both greek and more international.
Had a wonderful massage at the spa.
I can recomment this wonderful hotel.

Room tip: The best view from the 2. floor
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PensionistOle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2016

The hospitality and the stuff were excellent! But the rooms were a bit outdated and needed some repairs and attention to details. The restaurant quality, as well as breakfast, were A' Class! I highly recommend this hotel if you want to be next to the beach in a beautiful area!

Room tip: Rooms facing the parking have a great mountain view.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Si-lia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanasischond, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Valis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2017

Dear Si-lia,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Volos and for sharing this excellent review with the future travelers.

We are delighted to read that you were satisfied by restaurant quality as well as, by the friendly and helpful staff . We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast as we believe is the most important meal of the day and your feedback makes us proud.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Thanassis Chondronikos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2016 via mobile

Old rooms and facilities and definitely not a 5 star hotel . Breakfast rate should be maximum at 3 stars eggs and rest of fresh cooking goods are cold - as far as concerns restaurant it's much better to save your money and have dinner in the city of Volos as in house food is very bad quality .

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank 767christosp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews