We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is no way a three star hotel”
Review of Valis Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Valis Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Agria
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This is no way a three star hotel”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The day we arrived it was raining. No one came to help us with our luggage. So both we and our suitcases were wet. The room they gave us was full of water due to the rain.when we informed the reception, finally a technician appeared to check and we had to wait more than 30' and go to the reception twice before giving us another room which was ok. Regarding the dinner, which was included in the packet, it was the worst ever. The cheapest and worst quality ever. Not to mention that only half of us were eating and the rest Had to wait 10' and start complaining before bringing us the food. Most if not all of the visitors complained about the food. The breakfast was ok, not sth special, after all these complaints. Regarding the new years eve organised party, which was also included in the packet we paid, we decided to book to another five star hotel and not risk it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dimigian-greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    95
    45
    19
    11
See reviews for
83
65
3
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ΑΘΗΝΑ
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I m staying in this hotel as we are speaking,the rooms for a 5 star hotel are poor.Also yesterday we had eat dinner that was awful .Also when we arrived at the hotel they didn't help us with our luggage and when we and our friends entered in our rooms,a large amount of rain water was covering the floor.They had changed the room but I think that is unacceptable for a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MICHAIL_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at Valis Resort in October 2012 for two nights. It is a beautiful hotel, with new stone buildings, and modern style. However staff are not very helpful and do not seem to care much for the hotel image. When we made our booking from the hotel's website we requested a double bed room. When we arrived the hotel which we were given was not a double bed and also had view of the terrace of the hotel. We requested to be transferred to a better room with double bed and we were given a room for disabled people, of which bathroom was not good enough for a 5 star hotel. Water was spread everywhere in the bathroom during shower. We were only provided 1 towel, and there were no slippers in the room. When we requested slippers we were told that they had shortage of same. The window in the room had a sign on it saying "broken window do not open" . The handle of the closet was missing. Breakfast was average.Finally during the last night of our stay we received a phone call at 23:30 while we were sleeping, from the bar staff saying that they had a wine offer and if we wanted to try their wine! At 23:30!! In general we were not impressed with staff service. It is very disappointing that this beautiful hotel is not being maintained in a good condition and staff are not interested to make customer happy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STELLA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2012

It is a modern hotel with spacious and clean rooms, breakfast is o.k. but not of a 5 star hotel. There is no beach in front of the hotel but it is at the very center of Agria little town and the numerous fish tavernas etc. The rooms facing the sea may become very noisy. In the summer there are two bars, one pool bar at the left corner and the other at the right one with rather loud music till early morning. Those rooms are in the middle. On top of that the hotel quite often organises mariage balls at the open air restaurant between those two bars and this results in louder music from a live orchestra!! This is the rule for Saturday nights, so beware of the weekends at this hotel. Alternatively one could stay at the back rooms but then the noise from the traffic pops in if the windows are open. Sorry to say that the owner insists to run not only an hotel but also a music hall.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NASOS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Martens-Latem
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This hotel is clearly not a place to go to if you seek good quality and peace.

We were especially dissappointed about the noisy swimming pool area where non residents use to come in great numbers. The loud disco music in the afternoon is unseen for 5 star hotels and makes a peacefull stay impossible. Morreover the tiles around the polls are very slippery and totally unsafe for small children (my daughter fell on her head and injured her foot). We also have serious questions about the pool water quality as both my wife and son came back with an infection.

Apart from the horrible swimming pool area we have to report poor variety of the breakfast and old fashioned common hotel areas without airco. During the summer one of the the restaurants plays also loud music disturbing the night's rest at the seaview rooms.

We really do not see how this hotel got 5 stars and experienced a 3 star stay in a public disco swimming pool. Only the seasite family room was ok without any charm to be mentionned.

Room Tip: Loud music at swimming pool side (north) in the afternoon Loud music at seafront side (west) in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We recently stayed 3 nights at the Valis in between moving house. The room was clean and comfortable but as we were situated near the pool we found the noise from the bar a bit loud at times. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was varied and plentiful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veganprin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We found the Valis Resort by chance looking for directions. It was off season and we got a good deal at the reception for a seaview room for a one night stay. The room overlooked the sparkling blue water. The room was large and had a very comfortable king sized bed. It had the feel of a conference hotel that was currently under utilsed. That said we enjoyed sitting around the large pool for lunch, and yes it was not a cheap lunch by Taverna standards but very pleasant in the sun. Breakfast was on the terrace and was a simple buffet.
Volos was a 15 minute drive away and we ate at one of the many waterfront restaurants. We drove around Pelion villages near the hotel which made for a pleasant afternoon followed by ocean side drinks at one of the sleepy villages. We were just ahead of the season.
The Valis Resort provides a good stopover between Thessalonki and Athens for those not in a hurry and we would use the resort again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an Ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bh256tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agria
3.2 mi away
Domotel Xenia Volos
Domotel Xenia Volos
#1 of 32 in Volos
389 reviews
9.8 mi away
Aeolos Hotel
Aeolos Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chorefton
106 reviews
3.6 mi away
Xenia Palace
Xenia Palace
#6 of 12 in Portaria
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Aegli
Hotel Aegli
#4 of 32 in Volos
305 reviews
4.4 mi away
Volos Palace Hotel
Volos Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Volos
267 reviews
3.3 mi away
Stevalia Hotel & Spa
Stevalia Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Portaria
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valis Resort

Property: Valis Resort
Address: Iroon Politechniou, Agria, Volos 373 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Volos > Agria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Agria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Valis Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Privacy, Romance and Stress-free relaxation at this resort. Newly built (2008) by the sea. All guest rooms will pamper you with the ultimate comfort and modern technology – all are equipped with free wireless High Speed Internet Access. The Coco mat bedding system will contribute to a memorable night’s sleep. The cuisine is fresh, plentiful and best paired with regional wines. Valis Wellness & Beauty Centre offers a wide variety of facial and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valis Hotel Agria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing