We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful B&B on a charming farm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kentraw Farmhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bruichladdich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kentraw Farmhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Beautiful B&B on a charming farm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We loved our stay at Kentraw, and wished we had planned to stay a few more days. The room was great, with a large comfortable bed. They had set out a small bottle of whisky for our arrival, which was a great touch to help us feel welcome. The view from the window was incredible as it looked out over a field and across the bay at Bowmore. On a sunny day it was stunning. The bathroom was clean with a great shower, and the room was kept at a comfortable temperature. For us, on a cold day, it was nice and cozy. Geraldine cooked a delicious breakfast for us, and was quick to offer juice and tea as we finished what we had.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WPTraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
84
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
frodsham
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as we regularly visit their sister company a restaurant called The Fishermans Retreat in Ramsbottom. So going there half expected the place to have the same standards..... I wasn't wrong. We stayed here for 3 days. Geraldine is very friendly and is very informative about the island. The farmhouse has recently been renovated to a high standard. It's very clean, the breakfast table is in the large kitchen where Geraldine chats to you whilst preparing breakfast which was very tasty. There was no urgency to get you out in a morning. There is a lovely lounge with a log burner should you wish to watch tv before going to bed. Views from our room were wonderful. Situated in a beautiful spot. Comparing prices to local hotels this has to be the best value for money. Only criticism i have is that the tv could have been a little bit higher on the bedroom wall. Thank you very much for a lovely stay! X

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MazzyFrodsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Was totally blown away by Kentraw. Brand new house with wonderful amenities.
Right off main road with a wonderful view. Easy access to everywhere we wanted to go on the island. Highly recommend and food was wonderful. Very comfortable beds and pillows. a little spendy but the entire island was...still worth the money

Room Tip: you'll be happy with any room at Kentraw
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dogger33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have just returned from two nights at Kentraw on Islay. Kentraw is an absolutely fabulous place, probably the best we have stayed in (and we have stayed in a lot!). The location is central to the island but very peaceful and the accommodation first class.
We'll surely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and I spent three weeks in Scotland staying at various Inns, Hotels and B & B's but found none to be as outstanding as Kentraw Farmhouse on Islay. Our first impression was the beautiful view across Loch Indaal at the village of Bowmore. The accommodations during our all to brief stay of two nights were first rate and the Scottish breakfast prepared by our hostess was superb.

We would recommend Kentraw Farmhouse to anyone visiting Islay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank csg1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a super time staying here.Everything so clean,spacious and comfortable. Breakfasts superb and Geraldine is the right person for the job. We felt at home straight away with a 'cuppa' at hand and available anytime. Lovely guest lounge to sit in with wood burner.Great views( with wonderful rainbows ) and good eating at the Port Charlotte hotel not far away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mavis s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a 3 night stay during the recent Jazz Festival Weekend (2012). Location was great for some of our plans, not so much for others but this would have been true for any location on the island. Great service from Geraldine. Comfortable and quiet room which made it easy to sleep. Fabulous breakfast and nice "welcome gift" of a small bottle of whiskey (MUCH appreciated after having to drive their after dark, in the rain while contending with left side driving for first time every).

Room Tip: Ask for view of Loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_G_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bruichladdich
0.0 mi away
Lochside Hotel
Lochside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skerrols House
Skerrols House
#1 of 7 in Bridgend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Ellen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Port Charlotte Youth Hostel
Port Charlotte Youth Hostel
#2 of 4 in Port Charlotte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Kentraw Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kentraw Farmhouse

Property: Kentraw Farmhouse
Address: Bruichladdich PA49 7UN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Bruichladdich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bruichladdich
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Kentraw Farmhouse Bruichladdich, Islay, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing