We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilchoman Distillery Cafe

Kilchoman Distillery Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We decided to have a drive upto the distillery as we had some spare time, I didn't realize they had a coffee shop, so we decided to have a bite to eat and I am so glad I did. I had there version of Cullen skink, being from Aberdeenshire it had a lot to live upto and it was fantastic, very tasty. The coffee was lovely and there cakes look amazing. We will be back to try them.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hezzy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    49
    16
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“CAKE!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Our B&B host recommended trying the cake here, and we were not disappointed. The Victoria sponge is their most popular offering, and it was good--but the lemon cake with Islay whisky sauce was outstanding!

The prices were surprisingly reasonable, given that there is no competition in the area. It was a pleasant surprise.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge of Allan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Expensive and tasteless.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Our greeting was pleasant enough and we were welcome of the shelter from the weather outside. We opted for the Cullen Sink soup and a coffee. Cullen Skin soup is a traditional Scottish fish meal of a soup, a hearty soup, however this was not the case here. It was thinner than water and as bland, little to no fish and potatoes. No amount of salt and pepper helped. We decided to have carrot cake with our coffee to help fill the void, however what arrived was a banana loaf with carrot throughout. Not the experience we had hoped for.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alba_Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Helpful staff and great take-away food!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our daughter managed to fall asleep before we arrived at the cafe but this did not stop us enjoying delicious paninis (bacon & Brie highly recommended), melt in the mouth carrot cake and well made lattes courtesy of the helpful staff that packed it up for us to eat in the car. Can't comment on the eat-in experience but the eat out one was more than acceptable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Net41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Lovely little farm café with fantastic home baking! Would recommend the caramel shortbread. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank gaz327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilchoman Distillery Cafe also viewed

Port Charlotte, Islay
 

Been to Kilchoman Distillery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing