We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful staff and great take-away food!!!”

Kilchoman Distillery Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Helpful staff and great take-away food!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our daughter managed to fall asleep before we arrived at the cafe but this did not stop us enjoying delicious paninis (bacon & Brie highly recommended), melt in the mouth carrot cake and well made lattes courtesy of the helpful staff that packed it up for us to eat in the car. Can't comment on the eat-in experience but the eat out one was more than acceptable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Net41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    49
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Lovely little farm café with fantastic home baking! Would recommend the caramel shortbread. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank gaz327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great place to stop for a relaxed lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stopped at the Kilchoman distillery cafe for lunch after the weather closed in making our planned walk impossible. Very relaxed atmosphere with friendly service and tasty snacks. The hot smoked salmon and red pepper panini was delicious; the cullen skink was tasty, but the wine in the soup overpowered the other flavours a bit. Tea, coffee and carrot cake all very nice too.

Distillery shop was the best we encountered of all those we visited on Islay. A more diverse selection of wares, and a much more friendly and unpretentious welcome than most of the others.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
552 reviews
425 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Ordinary other than millionaire shortbread”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

It is a long trek to get there... We were looking forward to the lunch as per tripadvisor reccomendations. Maybe it was not our day, but we were disappointed by the lunch experience. Service was ok, and a little slow considering that the place was not full. Food was also ok, but nothing to rave about: we both had the seared meat panini, and the meat was definately too tough. The Cullen skink was nice rather than exceptional (bread roll dry and awful). Coffee nice at the end, and the millionaire shortbread fab, but overall no more than an average lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whiterabbitjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Popped in for a wee bite to eat !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here while taking my mum for a spin and glad I did !! My mum said it was good and she was right !!! We both had the soup sandwich combo and I have to say that was 1 of the best bowls of honemade soup I had !! Tomato and red pepper, not your tin of tomato soup with peppers added but on speaking to the girls, fresh tomatoes hand skinned !! The bowl was huge and delicious from start to finish :-) the cafe is modern and lovely and clean with plenty to choose from the menu !! Girls working here are friendly and do this place a good service !! Will def be back here next time I'm in the area !!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hutchmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilchoman Distillery Cafe also viewed

Port Charlotte, Islay
 
 

Been to Kilchoman Distillery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing