We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel with great hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of An Taigh Osda

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bruichladdich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
An Taigh Osda
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel with great hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We found Paul to be a very genial and accommodating host, happy to cater for our dietary requirements (vegetarian and preferring soya milk). We enjoyed the imaginative choices for breakfast but did not have the evening meal. With locally made toiletries and biscuits (delicious), our room had the view over the sea which was fantastic and was very comfortable. The hotel has a nice location and is next door to a distillery - what more could you want?

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front, with the view of the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jellyblips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    8
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
134
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

This has to be one of the best places to visit, Joan and Paul are so lovely and friendly they make you feel at ease. Joan and Paul 's food is wonderful and very imaginative . My husband has a dairy allergy and as usual we told Joan at the time of booking , and as usual we were told that they could cater for this , and usually it is a disappointment as the menu is usually limited and the deserts usually consist of sorbet or fresh fruit salad , not at Paul and Joan's every meal was a gastronomic delight, made with much imagination and love , you cant produce this kind of food without some love going into it.
The hotel was excellently furbished and there was a sense of calm about the place, you could feel the stresses and strains just flowing away with every shower. excellent.
Islay is a very beautiful place to visit and we didn't see as much of it as we would have liked , but hey, it's not going anywhere and that means we have to go back and do more exploring .
One thing that is a must is a visit to the community garden which is a most beautiful place to visit and a little gem ,all power to the local community for putting in all that time and effort , for making it work , you should feel very proud of all your hard work, and having tasted it in the food cooked at An Taigh Osda wonderful

Room Tip: We had room ! which was lovely as it had window overlooking the Loch and also a small window to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was the second time we have stayed with Paul & Joan, during the Whisky Festival.
Considering it is only the two of them and a young lady to help with the rooms, the service and quality surpasses most larger and highly staffed establishments we have stayed with!
The rooms are lovely, with comfortable beds, and more than acceptable en-suite facilities.
Breakfast is fabulous, offering over and above the usual full Scottish, which I must say is fabulous.
Free range poached eggs on toasted muffins with pesto (can be left off if your not a fan!), pancakes and maple syrup (we're not in the USofA) range of quality teas, fruit, cereals etc.
We treated friends to dinner on the Saturday night, and although the menu may appear limited, I would be surprised if you didn't find something that you though was delicious.
Fresh & firstly local, Scottish, or home made is the order of the day.
Booking in advance is essential!

Room Tip: all rooms are more than acceptable, but if you can get one overlooking Loch Indaal, even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRW1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st peter port
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Quite simply superb.
Joan and Paul are wonderful hosts and their hotel is just beautiful in a fantastic setting. Joan's cusine is second to none and their eye for detail in every room is marvelous. If you only ever try one thing more, you've got to try 'An Taigh Osda'.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayStPeterPort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

True Scottish hospitality. So I'm a frozen girl from Africa who did the islands with my Scottish partner recently. We stayed two nights with Joan and Paul and the second night we ended up chatting in the kitchen, and while Paul cleaned the locally caught scallops, Joan took out her frying pan and served these on the spot! You can't get better than this.
Oh yes, the rooms were lovely and he guest house is very conveniently next to the distillery. But it's the chats in the kitchen that made this one of the best guesthouses we've stayed at.

Room Tip: We had a room towards the back of the guesthouse, so it was lovely and quiet - the ones with the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nix N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Very wet and windy for our stay but An Taigh Osda was sublime to return to. Delightful room superb food breakfast and dinner.
Joan and Paul very knowledgeable about what to see and do. Lovely distillery next door.
Easy parking. Good position.

Room Tip: Superb view from room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

treated myself to a couple of days at this cracking small friendly hotel. the room i stayed in was over looking the bay, where i could spot the Bowmore distillery.the room size was great and spotless,smashing comfy bed and i believe that one of the owners did the amazing cooking.
warm and friendly hotel, would recommend staying here if visiting islay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bruichladdich
0.0 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lochside Hotel
Lochside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Ellen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Skerrols House
Skerrols House
#1 of 7 in Bridgend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenegedale Guest House
Glenegedale Guest House
#1 of 1 in Glenegedale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.0 mi away
An Cuan
An Cuan
#10 of 13 in Bowmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Taigh Osda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Taigh Osda

Property: An Taigh Osda
Address: Bruichladdich PA49 7UN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Bruichladdich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bruichladdich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small private family run hotel on the island of Islay. Contemporary in style, similar to The Bonham, Edinburgh. Our kitchen utilizes the best of local produce. A fine selection of wines and the islands malt whiskeys available from our fully licensed lounge bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
An Taigh Osda Islay
An Taigh Osda Bruichladdich, Islay, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing