We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”
Review of An Taigh Osda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
An Taigh Osda
Reviewed May 7, 2013

treated myself to a couple of days at this cracking small friendly hotel. the room i stayed in was over looking the bay, where i could spot the Bowmore distillery.the room size was great and spotless,smashing comfy bed and i believe that one of the owners did the amazing cooking.
warm and friendly hotel, would recommend staying here if visiting islay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 168 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

We returned to this hotel for the second year running, for a long weekend. Joan and Paul are extremely kind and helpful and know everything about Islay. The rooms are so nice that we didn't even mind having to stay in for an entire day due to rain. On the other days, we cycled round the island, having received lots of good advice on where to go (hire bikes in Port Charlotte, 10 minutes away by bike). The food is excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLH_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We went to Islay to learn more about malt whiskey - and we did. But we also learnt about living on the island from our excellent hosts Paul and Joan and enjoyed chatting with them - they have a wonderful sense of humour. The old building is very well restored and retains the graciousness of the past. It is spotless; the rooms are large and well appointed. But the very pleasant surprise was Joan's truly excllent cooking. This is 5 star food. Fresh, changing daily and local as far as possible - and it's exclusively for the small number of hotel guests. We changed our minds about eating out and dined in each night of our stay. Will recommend to anyone who asks about staying on Islay

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinaka06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

It was the most artrocious weather the last couple of days on Islay, so we had to abandon our plan of going for long walks. Paul and Joan from An Taigh osda were extremely helpful in showing us where to go under these circumstances (e.g. Outback Art in Sanaigmore). Rooms are great and the food was absolutely amazing! The best place to stay and eat on the island.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefbosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We recently stayed for 3 nights and loved it. Paul and Joan were fantastic hosts and the room was large and comfortable. The bath with the skylight to look at the clouds or stars was relaxing. The breakfast and dinners were exceptional and the whisky selection was amazing. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank roleke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We recently spent two nights at this wonderful hotel on the isle of Islay. Our room was extremely comfortable and well appointed- we loved the beautiful view and the size of the bed! Breakfast was imaginative and beautifully cooked, dinner even more so- the food was exquisite. The residents' lounge provided a relaxing place to get to know the other guests, as well as some of the very locally distilled whiskies and gin. Paul and Joan are terrific hosts- they put that extra effort into all that they do. As it was our first visit to this beautiful island, we particularly appreciated the detailed printed notes which helped us make the most of our all too short visit.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank wedidit6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Paul and Joan have turned this little corner of Islay into the best small hotel we have ever had the pleasure of putting down our heads.
It was easy to make the arrangements (we always think this is an indication of good things to come), the welcome was homely and professional, our room was newly refurbished and had everything we wanted including a brilliant view of the loch and Bowmore beyond.
The only problem with the dinner menu was that we had to make a choice - every choice was local, tempting and exciting.
We stayed three nights which gave us an opportunity to sample an extensive variety of Joan's skills and flair from the kitchen and Paul's selection in the whisky vault was amazing!
Don't miss the opportunity to stay here and meet a couple who take looking after their guests as such a passion.

Room Tip: Book early and ask Paul and Joan for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crustybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to An Taigh Osda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Taigh Osda

Address: Bruichladdich PA49 7UN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Bruichladdich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bruichladdich
Price Range: $92 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small private family run hotel on the island of Islay. Contemporary in style, similar to The Bonham, Edinburgh. Our kitchen utilizes the best of local produce. A fine selection of wines and the islands malt whiskeys available from our fully licensed lounge bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your An Taigh Osda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Taigh Osda Islay
An Taigh Osda Bruichladdich, Islay, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing