We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ulignano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We wanted to see Tuscany but stay in a convenient location, close to most of the popular regions and found Hotel Vecchio Asilo not only the perfect location but an amazing little hotel, with the European charm we wanted and the friendliest hosts we ever met.
Breakfast was prepared to the highest standard with all organic produce and giving us the opportunity to sample local dishes and Stefania's delicious cakes. There are plenty of restaurants in San Gimigniano, where you can have affordable meals. We were impressed with the locals' commitment to only use local produce, so most of the dishes contained the traditional wild boar but cooked in enough ways to offer variety.
Renting a car was a good decision, as it's the best way to explore the region. We didn't have a SatNav and were worried about finding our way around but our fantastic host, Elio was the best guide we could have asked for. He suggested interesting routes we could take and gave us step by step directions that helped us to never get lost.
Thank you Elio and Stefania for making our holiday an amazing one!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Serenela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 666 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

Absolutely loved this property - service was absolutely top notch and i couldnt fault it.

Rooms loveley and comfortable! I was at another hotel prior to moving here and it was no comparison! This place is SENSATIONAL!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Absolutely delightful B&B just outside San Gimigniano. Our second stay here. Wonderful room overlooking a lovely valley, clean, beautiful. Elio and Stefania could not be more gracious hosts...they treat you like long cousins. Wonderful breakfast. And situated such that day trips to all of the Chianti region is easy. We even drove to Montalcino with ease. Highly recommend...you won't find a warmer, more hospitable place to stay. Oh, and very reasonable rates, to boot.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

...that's what we want to say to Stefania & Elio for their warm welcome, travel and restaurant trips, awesome breakfast and general hospitality. We enjoyed our stay very much and will recommend the hotel :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabine_To
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic little B & B. Magnificent views from Room number 5, spacious bedroom, comfortable bed and huge bathroom. Enjoyable breakfast, true Italian country style. Lovely views from the garden out over the valleys and vineyards. Elio e Stefania were the perfect hosts and to top off a great stay Elio recommended two wonderful restaurants for dinner. One reached by a village funiculare. Definitely an exciting way to go to dinner! Views and the meal were amazing. The charming medieval town of San Gimignano is on a few kilometers away too! Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KANE8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This place is brilliant and the owner is such a friendly and helpful guy - you can tell that running the place is his passion. He made a great breakfast too, and was really accommodating for our bikes (we had cycled from Florence). It's a really well run spotless hotel in a stunning part of the world.

The best part however was when we arrived at about 6pm, really tired and hungry. We were going to get a taxi to San Gimignano for dinner, but the owner Elio suggested a local place, and he even gave us a lift over (about a mile down the road). It's the best dinner recommendation I've ever had! A real genuine Italian home-cooked meal of monumental proportions. Elio knows what he's talking about. I cannot recommend his place highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Changdazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I found out about this hotel on Tripadvisor and every good thing was spot on. Great service, clean rooms and well located in the wine country between Florence and Siena. It was a little hard to find even with the help of GPS but no problem afterward. We recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clovernookwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulignano
3.1 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,342 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
799 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#6 of 29 in San Gimignano
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,275 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#5 of 29 in San Gimignano
637 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#10 of 29 in San Gimignano
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vecchio Asilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vecchio Asilo

Address: Via delle Torri 4 | Ulignano, 53037 Ulignano, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano > Ulignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ulignano
Price Range: $81 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Vecchio Asilo 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Vecchio Asilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vecchio Asilo Hotel
Vecchio Asilo San Gimignano
Hotel Vecchio Asilo San Gimignano, Italy - Ulignano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing