We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ulignano
Certificate of Excellence
Lulea, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Such a wonderful place to have as a base for most of Tuscany! Located right in the heart of it, Vecchio Asilo is in convinient driving distance from all the must-sees - Florence, Sienna, Pisa, San Gimignano (really close!) and the Chianti district.
Spotlessly clean, an always surprising breakfast and wonderful hosts.
Note that you have to come by car, seeing Tuscany in the right way is not possible otherwise.
If there is one single negative point on this hotel, it is that there is no restaurant within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    54
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
128
422
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kinsale, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Elio & his Wife are the best B & B Hosts we have ever experienced.. Couldn't do enough for us with information, tips, and 'phone calls. The Breakfast in Hotel Vecchio, Asilo is, "to die for". It's location is perfect for travelling around Tuscany. Our stay at Hotel Vecchio Asilo was the highlight of out trip to Tuscany.

Room Tip: Stay in the West Room of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

What a great hotel!! I found this hotel on tripadvsior while looking for a place to stay for 2 nights near San Gimignano. The hotel was spotlessly clean. Our host Elio, was fantastic. He helped us with dinner reservations, maps, the best places to park and visit in Florence, etc. Prior to our arrival it had been quite warm and the heat was turned off for the season, but when we got to Ulignano the temperature at night had gotten chilly. Elio had the serviceman come the next day and turn the heat on for our last night. This was totally unexpected and very much appreciated. The breakfast is very good and prepared by Elio himself. We could not have had a better stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip takker101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This nice Bed and Breakfast is ideal for a base if you want to see Tuscany. About Half way between Florence and Siena, you can drive to many cities on beautify roads. The family that runs the B&B has a big breakfast each morning and are full of information and assistance in fining resturants and booking reservations for dinner or tours. A must if you want to have a great Tuscany experience

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Steffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Hotel Vecchio Asilo and it was the best! We couldn't get over the personalized service. The room was beautiful and very clean; when we arrived late in the evening, Elio asked us what time we would like breakfast so he could prepare it for us and the food was wonderful. Homemade coffeecakes and bread, bruschetta with fresh tomatoes and Elio's own olive oil, fresh fruit platters that were works of art . . . and much more. And they were so helpful - he gave us directions to various places and printed off maps and directions. We had bought a bottle of wine one day and just used the drinking glasses provided in the room. We left the half-bottle remaining on the table and when we returned from our outing the next evening, there were two wine glasses, sitting on a napkin-lined tray, next to the bottle. The bed was very comfortable. I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dicki N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidron
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had the most wonderful 5 nights stay in Hotel Vecchio Asilo. Nothing we write cannot describe this beautiful place and the people who ran it - dearest Elio and Stefania. Every morning started with the warm smile of Elio serving the most superb breakfast. Every breakfast included in addition to Tuscan salami and cheeses, also special homemade Tuscan treats (different every day!!!), a plate of thinly sliced fresh fruits and a delicious cake (different every day!!!) baked by Stefania. Both Elio and Stefania are very knowledgeable of Tuscany and provided us every day with useful tips for our day trips (places to go, directions, roads to take, parking places, restaurants, special local foods etc.), Sometimes they knew in advance where we are heading that day and prepared the information for us in advance.
The hotel is a beautiful old restored building, the rooms are cozy. the heating works just fine and the shower is superbly clean.
Although there is no restaurant in the hotel, it is located just 10 minutes drive from San Gimignano....ask Elio and Stefania for recommendations ...

We highly recommend this Hotel and definitely will come back in our next visit to Tuscany
Thank you Elio and Stefania!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmnonK707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here on our trip to Tuscany, and chose this B&B based on trip advisor reviews. So glad we did! It was one of the most memorable places we've ever stayed! Guido was a great host -- his breakfast amazing and his kitty-cat apron cracked us up!

The rooms are clean and the views are beautiful. I will say that when I first looked at pictures (as you probably are doing now) that I wasn't 'wowed' by the rooms, and that was my only hestitancy in booking. I'm glad I went ahead and stayed here - because even though the rooms aren't fancy, the hospitality and personality of the owner makes up for it!

Another word of caution -- this was very hard to find, and the road signs in Italy aren't great. Especially hard to find in the dark! The car company in Florence where we flew in did NOT give us a map, and our Rick Steve's guide map looked like a hand drawn map of Mordor. Make sure you take a real road map with you and scope out where you are going. It's not far at all from Poggibonsi or San Giamnagno (the first where you want to catch the train, and the second is one of my favorite Tuscan villages!) so the location is great, but it is a little hard to find! Book this place now, you won't regret it. Stay a few days and take Guido's advice on where to go while in the amazing countryside of Italy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulignano
5.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
1,171 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
606 reviews
3.1 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
730 reviews
3.5 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
600 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vecchio Asilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vecchio Asilo

Property: Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Address: Via delle Torri 4 | Ulignano, 53037 Ulignano, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano > Ulignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ulignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Vecchio Asilo 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Vecchio Asilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vecchio Asilo Hotel
Vecchio Asilo San Gimignano
Hotel Vecchio Asilo San Gimignano, Italy - Ulignano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing