We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home base for Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vecchio Asilo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vecchio Asilo to your Saves list
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via delle Torri, 4 | Ulignano, 53030 Ulignano, San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ulignano
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great home base for Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This nice Bed and Breakfast is ideal for a base if you want to see Tuscany. About Half way between Florence and Siena, you can drive to many cities on beautify roads. The family that runs the B&B has a big breakfast each morning and are full of information and assistance in fining resturants and booking reservations for dinner or tours. A must if you want to have a great Tuscany experience

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Steffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    47
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
114
394
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Hotel Vecchio Asilo and it was the best! We couldn't get over the personalized service. The room was beautiful and very clean; when we arrived late in the evening, Elio asked us what time we would like breakfast so he could prepare it for us and the food was wonderful. Homemade coffeecakes and bread, bruschetta with fresh tomatoes and Elio's own olive oil, fresh fruit platters that were works of art . . . and much more. And they were so helpful - he gave us directions to various places and printed off maps and directions. We had bought a bottle of wine one day and just used the drinking glasses provided in the room. We left the half-bottle remaining on the table and when we returned from our outing the next evening, there were two wine glasses, sitting on a napkin-lined tray, next to the bottle. The bed was very comfortable. I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dicki N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidron
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had the most wonderful 5 nights stay in Hotel Vecchio Asilo. Nothing we write cannot describe this beautiful place and the people who ran it - dearest Elio and Stefania. Every morning started with the warm smile of Elio serving the most superb breakfast. Every breakfast included in addition to Tuscan salami and cheeses, also special homemade Tuscan treats (different every day!!!), a plate of thinly sliced fresh fruits and a delicious cake (different every day!!!) baked by Stefania. Both Elio and Stefania are very knowledgeable of Tuscany and provided us every day with useful tips for our day trips (places to go, directions, roads to take, parking places, restaurants, special local foods etc.), Sometimes they knew in advance where we are heading that day and prepared the information for us in advance.
The hotel is a beautiful old restored building, the rooms are cozy. the heating works just fine and the shower is superbly clean.
Although there is no restaurant in the hotel, it is located just 10 minutes drive from San Gimignano....ask Elio and Stefania for recommendations ...

We highly recommend this Hotel and definitely will come back in our next visit to Tuscany
Thank you Elio and Stefania!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmnonK707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here on our trip to Tuscany, and chose this B&B based on trip advisor reviews. So glad we did! It was one of the most memorable places we've ever stayed! Guido was a great host -- his breakfast amazing and his kitty-cat apron cracked us up!

The rooms are clean and the views are beautiful. I will say that when I first looked at pictures (as you probably are doing now) that I wasn't 'wowed' by the rooms, and that was my only hestitancy in booking. I'm glad I went ahead and stayed here - because even though the rooms aren't fancy, the hospitality and personality of the owner makes up for it!

Another word of caution -- this was very hard to find, and the road signs in Italy aren't great. Especially hard to find in the dark! The car company in Florence where we flew in did NOT give us a map, and our Rick Steve's guide map looked like a hand drawn map of Mordor. Make sure you take a real road map with you and scope out where you are going. It's not far at all from Poggibonsi or San Giamnagno (the first where you want to catch the train, and the second is one of my favorite Tuscan villages!) so the location is great, but it is a little hard to find! Book this place now, you won't regret it. Stay a few days and take Guido's advice on where to go while in the amazing countryside of Italy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a wonderful week at this lovely country hotel with Guido. He really is unexceptional host who provides warm hospitality, lots of stories spiced with humor and compassion. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay....room was very clean (a little noisy on the front but a fan seemed to fix that). The gardens are beautiful for sitting out with a glass of vino. This area is lovely and very convenient for traveling to the beautiful hill towns close by. Guido gives great advice on what to see, where to go and where to eat. Speaking of eating, you will be amazed at the culinary delights he comes up with for breakfast. This place deserves the wonderful reviews it gets

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillip_stjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We just stayed at Hotel Vecchio Asilo for one night this November, but it was so lovely that I wanted to make sure I wrote a review (my first one ever!)

We were the only people there (it being the off-season and cold!), and we received such a lovely welcome. Elio gave us a top recommendation for where to go and where to eat in San Gimignano (best meal in ages) and we had a great night.

The accommodation is lovely; really clean, all the things you'd need for a comfy stay and it feels like you're staying in the real Tuscany. Fantastic.

Breakfast was just wonderful. We chose what time would be best for us and when we sat in the breakfast room we were offered not only the usual things you'd expect, but also the most delicious Tuscan specialities, amazing salamis and cheeses, beautifully prepared fruit, home-made cakes from Stefania and another very warm welcome.

When we left I was really sad not to be staying longer, but I'd definitely book it again in a heartbeat. The views from the hotel are beautiful, the area yields the most delicious food and drink, and the people are so friendly you literally feel at home. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank polly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful stay in the Hotel Vecchio Asilo. I can't praise our hosts Elio and Stefania enough, they went out of their way to help make our week in Tuscany a most enjoyable one and gave us invaluable information to help us explore what truly is a most beautiful part of Italy. Not only did we have great breakfasts with fantastic homemade cakes and pastries daily, but the room was also extremely spacious, comfortable and clean. During our stay, my husband and I celebrated a special wedding anniversary and on our return to the hotel that evening we found lovely homemade individual desserts in our room, not just for ourselves, but also for the two friends we were with. They really are the most exceptional hosts and I would recommend a stay there anytime. A big thank you to Elio and Stefania.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CarolineET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulignano
5.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#5 of 32 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 1,044 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 32 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#3 of 32 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#7 of 32 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
3.1 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#6 of 32 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 1,063 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#4 of 32 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vecchio Asilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vecchio Asilo

Property: Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Address: Via delle Torri, 4 | Ulignano, 53030 Ulignano, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano > Ulignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ulignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Vecchio Asilo 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Vecchio Asilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vecchio Asilo Hotel
Vecchio Asilo San Gimignano
Hotel Vecchio Asilo San Gimignano, Italy - Ulignano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing