We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ulignano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2012

One of our favourite places in italy because of the wonderful Guido and his family that own the Hotel Vecchio. You could stay here for weeks and go out every day and explore a different part of tuscany. Each day Guido would tell us where to go and recommend great local restaurants different from where all the other tourists were going. Each morning at breakfast he would have delicious cake and goddies freshly made.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank klr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 670 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2011

Clean, spacious and Guido takes care of all of your needs. Breakfast is delicious. You will need a car because it's in the middle of nowhere, but it is worth it. the driving was easy. Internet was good- and we will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevonaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We had a wonderful week at this lovely country hotel with Guido. He really is unexceptional host who provides warm hospitality, lots of stories spiced with humor and compassion. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay....room was very clean (a little noisy on the front but a fan seemed to fix that). The gardens are beautiful for sitting out with a glass of vino. This area is lovely and very convenient for traveling to the beautiful hill towns close by. Guido gives great advice on what to see, where to go and where to eat. Speaking of eating, you will be amazed at the culinary delights he comes up with for breakfast. This place deserves the wonderful reviews it gets. Bravo, Guido.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluenosers902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

It is difficult to relate how charming Vecchio Asilo is. Originally we had intended to stay at a farm B&B but, as they were booked out, they recommended Vecchio Asilo nearby. Starting with the immediate help with our luggage, to the friendly assistance with connecting my laptop to the hotel's wifi, to the coziness of our room, this small wayside hotel did not cease to amaze us. The greatest surprise, however, was the breakfast they served the next day: a finely sliced carpaccio of fresh fruit, as well as a large selection of goodies were served directly to our table. We were only there for one night but I would not hesitate to return to spend more time using this excellent small, reasonably-priced hotel as a base for San Gimignano, Siena and beyond.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davids-Eagles-Nest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

No need to repeat the amazing reviews that Guido has garnered - they're all true. The cakes for breakfast are exceptional (including the recipes), the fresh fruit is beautifully done and he gives fabulous restaurant recommendations. We decided to do our whole Tuscany trip on the trains, which worked fine, but Ulignano isn't on a train line; so we had to jump in a couple of taxis and also took the bus from the stop outside the hotel into San Gim one afternoon. Then the next morning the bus in the other direction didn't come and we started trying to hitch; 15 minutes later Guido's brother came out of the hotel and took us down to the train. We didn't check out the bar down the road in Ulignano. All in all No 1 spot.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bheald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

My wife and I (and our two friends) stayed at this wonderful Hotel for five nights on a three week holiday in Italy. We relied on Trip Advisor for most of our accommodation and found this place to be the highlight of our trip. Our Host, Guido, was friendly and went to extreme lengths to ensure our stay in Tuscany was memorable. The reviews of this place are accurate and my wife and I intend to return some day. The location is picturesque, and ideal for day trips to the surrounding towns and cities. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the Hotel overlook the surrounding countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussiemike63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

By far, the best little B&B we have stayed at in the San Gimignano area. Guido was a wonderful host providing us with beautifully presented and delicious breakfasts each morning. Our room was immaculate and comfortable. Guido recommended a local restaurant (Antico Desco) which we enjoyed so much that we ate there all three nights. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nonnashaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulignano
3.1 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,349 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
809 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#6 of 29 in San Gimignano
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
367 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
637 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#5 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vecchio Asilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vecchio Asilo

Address: Via delle Torri 4 | Ulignano, 53037 Ulignano, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano > Ulignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ulignano
Price Range: $82 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Vecchio Asilo 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Vecchio Asilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vecchio Asilo Hotel
Vecchio Asilo San Gimignano
Hotel Vecchio Asilo San Gimignano, Italy - Ulignano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing