We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice family motel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shelly Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shelly Beach Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Urangan
Certificate of Excellence
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice family motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have stayed at this motel twice now and would stay again. The rooms arent brand new but its right across from the water and the footpath down to all the shops etc. it is a bit of a walk though so if you dont like to walk then would recomend driving! The rooms offer some cooking facilities plus there is a nice bbq area to use. Service is always excellent and helpful. look forward to going back again in the future!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanabetraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    33
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
45
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Motel is on Esplanade close to a range of restaurants so a good location. It is an old motel that has a partial make over. Don't stay here if you can't cope with mosquitoes or flying insects - only some screened windows. None on bathroom louvres that cannot be closed. Also, noise from adjacent rooms through thin walls.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Subeeflyworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

here again - the street noise was the most annoying thing. especially sad given that all the rooms overlook the road - so we cant recommend rooms that could be more quite than others.
Not that close to most restaurants - a bit more than 1,5 km (close enough if you decide to drive, though)
On the contrary - the beach is right across the street, but the was noone in the water, so we didnt dare neither.
so if you sleep very well and came here for the beach or a trip to Fraser - a decent choice

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stanMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was a great place to stay. Rooms are average, but clean and with a kitchenette. The hosts were friendly, helpful, and overall fantastic. Get that great small town comfort. Laundry is available. Across the street is beach access for a nice stoll along the water. Sunsets are amazing here. It's centrally located, short drive to plenty of restaurants to the west, short drive to the marina to the east. Otherwise very quiet and comfortable. They even stayed up late for our late arrival (just contact ahead). They respond to emails quite quickly compared to many other places we stayed.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank thepagemaster99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gove, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our family of 6 booked 2 rooms in January this year on our trip from Sydney to Darwin. The motel is a lil dated in its decor and if you are looking for luxury you will probably be disapointed. We were looking for a cheap place for one night and it had everything we needed, there was even a bbq outside for us to cook our breakfast before we left in the morning. Id recommend Shelly beach to anyone looking for a cheap, no fuss motel to stay on there way through, if i was staying for a few days i might look elsewhere

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bungchow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the Shelly Beach motel the night before & after our Fraser Island trip and it ticked all the boxes. The rooms were all individually furnished to a lovely cosy standard, it is clear that the owners take real pride in their appearance. Everything was clean and nothing was too much trouble - we were even allowed to leave our car under the canopy for the night we were at Fraser Island. There's not a lot of restaurants or bars though within walking distance, except for the Raging Bull approx. 400yds away where we had the most amazing steak ever so what else could we possibly want?!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisamerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I only stayed here one night but we really enjoyed it and we wished we could have had longer. We had a top (3rd) floor 1 bedroom unit which had a very private balcony overlooking the esplanade and beach. The weather was unfortunately quite Rainey but we enjoyed a wine on the balcony and watching the world go by! For dinner we went to the restaurant right next door and loved it! The unit was spacious, clean and the bed was comfy - everything we could want! We would definitely recommend this place for great location and comfort and will go back next time we are visiting Hervey Bay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BrizyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urangan
0.4 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hervey Bay Motel
Hervey Bay Motel
#14 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa
Oceans Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Urangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tower Court Motel Hervey Bay
1.4 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#5 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelly Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelly Beach Motel

Property: Shelly Beach Motel
Address: 510 Esplanade, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Urangan
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Urangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shelly Beach Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Shelly Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelly Beach Motel Hervey Bay, Australia - Urangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing