We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely horrible service by front desk and security”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cherengin Hills Convention & Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Janda Baik
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Extremely horrible service by front desk and security”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We checked in late as of 12.30am, the bell man didn't bother to pick up our luggage. Standing there without doing anything, we have to carry our luggage ourselves. When we call to request extra bed the front desk staff said you have more than 2 person so you need to get additional room or else get out. What kind of idiotic service is this? This would be the first and last visit to this hotel which doesn't know how to respect the guest.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Muru20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    29
    27
    9
    8
See reviews for
23
6
1
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
621 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 484 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

It was a last minute day trip to janda bail which ended up in a night's stay at Cherengin Hills. We really didn't plan our stay but just happened to stumble across this resort by luck.

It was a newly built resort and everything about it was still new and clean fmat the moment, except for the swimming pool which was poorly maintained. Our rooms were rather tiny for the cost of RM200. There was no wifi in the rooms and mobile line was practically useless in this area. Wifi is available only at the lobby.

Breakfast the next day was not very good with limited spread which mostly consists of fried noodle, sausages, eggs & nasi lemak. Frankly I would have expected a little more.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank D_Jekyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

we enjoyed staying here, the room was very clean. the staffs was very polite and friendly! their buffet was good. im quiet happy with staffs yap! we sure will go back again.coz their room rates is affordable and their excellence service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank devikumar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Based on the other trip advisor reviews, i decided to check this place out.
Since most commented that the standard room is small, I opted for the deluxe room, which is slightly bigger.The room is bigger but not that big.
What other reviewers mentioned about the views and hills is what i saw and feel too and i will not elaborate here.
This is a place I would recommend for the burned out and stressed city folks looking for really some quiet time, peace and fresh air. Approx 50 km from KL, this place is perfect for a weekend retreat and recuperate.
Other than that there is nothing special about this hotel except it is the newest in Janda Baik.
Service from the staff were friendly and expected but not exceptional.
The buffet breakfast is local fare and the selection is below average.

There is one thing i would like to point out though. The hotel management decided to permanently label all room key cards issued with the room numbers printed on it.
Should the guest drop or misplaced their key cards, it will be very easy for the person who finds the card to get access to the rooms.

Room Tip: Choose the front. hill view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kadett_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

View: This resort is strategically located at top the hill, wake up early and enjoy the sunrise just in front of the lobby!
Room: The rooms are not big but clean and comfortable.
Facilities: Guests can play board games and snooker at hotel lobby. They charge Rm10 per hour for snooker and we spent our night playing snooker.
Places of interest around: There is only one sign board in the town, luckily we had a travel magazine that introduces the places of interest in Janda Baik. We also got a map from the counter staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ismes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raub District, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel on top of hill, refreshing air and far from public. Nice scenery in the morning. Room and conference room are good. Local food are better than hotel food, if you have a chance try the food that made by local people. Very friendly of local person.. Limited activities unless you're natural lovers person.. Issue: No wifi in the room, iron board in bad condition.

Room Tip: Choose oom that located in front and have hills view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank studentripSerdang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Hotel is located on top of a hill. Plenty of directions to the hotel once you hit Janda Baik town after the welcome arch.

Rooms - chose a twin room. Nothing to shout about. Bed are soft and comfy. Sheets are clean.
a/c provided worked well. Shower room is clean and hot water is included. Cable TV provided so you can never run out of things to watch.

Dining - The restaurant served quite a decent spread for dinner and lunch.

Pool - Stayed there during the long weekend holidays so the pool was full of kids in the mornings and afternoon. Pool less utilized later in the evenings. Perfect for a cool dip in the evenings.

Pros:
Good clean room
Hot showers
Good food

Cons:
Room a bit small
No Wifi in rooms
No fridge in rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aznor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Janda Baik
14.0 mi away
Suria Hot Spring Bentong Hotel
10.5 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
8.9 mi away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#4 of 11 in Genting Highlands
2,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
#3 of 11 in Genting Highlands
222 reviews
11.0 mi away
Suria Hill Country House
Suria Hill Country House
#5 of 8 in Janda Baik
51 reviews
8.1 mi away
Harmony Valley Retreat
Harmony Valley Retreat
#2 of 8 in Janda Baik
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherengin Hills Convention & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherengin Hills Convention & Spa Resort

Property: Cherengin Hills Convention & Spa Resort
Address: Lot 5540 & 5936, Janda Baik, Bentong 28750, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Bentong > Janda Baik
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Janda Baik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherengin Hills Convention & Spa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cherengin Hills Convention & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherengin Hills Convention And Spa Resort
Cherengin Hills Hotel Janda Baik
Cherengin Hills Convention & Spa Resort Janda Baik, Pahang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing