We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic & Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Suria Hill Country House
Ranked #5 of 8 Janda Baik B&B and Inns
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Basic & Relaxing”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

A small compound will many Durian trees which you can even eat them if you like. Rooms were clean and had very comfortable bed and linen. stayed for 3D/2N with the company group, just fyi they wont change your towels daily and they don't clean the room daily too :) but the only 3 staff there were very kind and helpful. you can go cycling but be very careful as the road is very narrow and winding with many cars and motorists around. you could even go swimming in the river. environment was so peaceful and fresh air, just loved it. There is no tea coffee making facilities and fridge but other than that all is just ok.

Room Tip: all room are the same, very comfortable with clean linens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuruljaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Hill Country House, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Dear Nuruljaya,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.
It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We sincerely apologies for all the shortcomings and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay.
With regards to the issues brought forward, please find the following reply:-
a) Yes, we do not provide any coffee making facility in the room because we were provides in our restaurant for 24 hours. .
Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.
We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
27
11
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Went there for a short getaway with my husband and 2 kids. The receptionist is just a table in front of a small room. The hotel room is small but still comfortable and we can enjoy the orchard view from our verandah. Friendly and helpful staff. Lots of durians but sadly that none is ripe that time. Walking distance to a nice and clean stream, my kids really had a good time there. Very limited choice of breakfast. Overall it is alright for a short getaway.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AffaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Hill Country House, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Dear AffaRose

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience. It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently. We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

It was an annual Family Day outing with colleagues, group of 35pax. Just a 2 days 1 night event. Credits to their staff; very friendly and helpful. This is not a huge resort but the compound consists of some nice scene and activities to spent time. Imagine having Durian trees within the resort and the soaking into that cold water river was fun. At night, some of us was chilling at the eating area with music all night long while younger ones was enjoying table tennis. Food serve is not what you get in 5 star hotels but not poor either. Good for group staying. The only downside was sizes of the rooms. For a getaway resort totally out of city, I would expect something more spacious.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kevocalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Hill Country House, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Dear kevocalin,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience. It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently. We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
621 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We checked ourselves in for a 1 night stay at this hotel to experience the laid back environment while soaking in the refreshing climate. The reception staff were friendly & we got our keys in a jiffy. Because we stayed on a weekday, we were the only guests there. The room was tired & needed some upgrading, but at least it was clean. There really aren't many amenities available and please just expect the basics. Our room was unfortunately overrun by a swarm of ants that seemed to have found its way through the back of the water heater. We had to hose it down & kept our fingers crossed that they stay out after that. Our room came with a balcony to soak in the cooling and serene environment.

Breakfast the next day was mostly edible at best. They serve ala carte local breakfast & not a buffet spread. The biggest plus point of this hotel was the river which was just behind the hotel and easily accessible. My wife & I spent a couple of wonderful hours soaking in the cooling river.

Overall the hotel is average & needs some upkeep but the river was fantastic!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank D_Jekyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Hill Country House, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Dear D_Jekyll,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.
It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We sincerely apologies for all the shortcomings and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay.
With regards to the issues brought forward :
a) The existence of the ants at times is beyond our control as we are a beachside resort. For your information, our resort has the proper pest control maintenance program in place.
Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.
We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com


Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We wanted to relax and retreat in Janda Baik, after doing some research online, the Malay village style accommodation with 16 rooms provided by Suria Hill Country House was selected.
An advice to the outsider who is not familiar with the route in Kampung Janda Baik, the way to Suria Hill is a bit "deep" inside the village, which some parts of the roads might confuse you, make you misunderstand that you have entered a rural area. Don't worry, just drive safe and drop by to ask any resident in Janda Bail, they are friendly and willing to offer help.
Good points:
- Clean and well-maintained.
- Private stay with only 16 rooms (avoid the peak period for company team building, this small area will be crowded)
- there is a clean stream behind the hotel
- Friendly staff

No Good Points:
- we booked the premium room (the best room type), but the room is a bit small.
- Very limited choice for complimentary breakfast.
- No coffee making facilities,

Overall, nothing much to expect from a country house in Malay Village. Luckily, our stay was the only guest for that night, which was very private and quiet for retreat purpose.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Min099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Hill Country House, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Dear Min099,
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.
It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We sincerely apologies for all the shortcomings and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay.
With regards to the issues brought forward, please find the following reply:-
a) On our Food & Beverage Quality and Menu, we have noted and discussed your feedback with the respective department Head for follow up to improve our product, quality and service standard. We also will improve our food variety in the restaurant.
b) Yes, we do not provide any coffee making facility in the room because we were provides in our restaurant for 24 hours.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.
We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Went here in August a week aft hari raya. It was an impromptu stops at Janda Baik. Saw this resort n it seemed that it had the best exterior look, so we checked in for a night. Was quite surprised that the room did not hv any coffee making facility for the price we paid. We can't even request for extra bed in the room.

The room was very well-maintained though, huge bathroom with good hot n cold water pressure. The highlight there was the clean n refreshing stream. My kids loved it. The staffs there were friendly too.

We went down for breakfast quite late at ard 9.30, opened the buffet set n most were empty. We only had toasts but eventually the staffs checked on us n actually fried a fresh batch of bee hoon just for us despite the breakfast time will be ending real soon. It was a nice personalized service frm them.

For the price we paid a night, without coffee making facility, I think I would definitely check out other resort next time.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MZU_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Hill Country House, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Dear MaryAnneMaryam,
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.
It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We sincerely apologies for all the shortcomings and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay and deal with our team members.
With regards to the issues brought forward, please find the following reply:-
a) Yes, we do not provide any coffee making facility because we were provides in our restaurant for 24 hours.
b) Our guest can request for extra bed which are RM 50 + breakfast and RM 35 without breakfast.
c) On our Food & Beverage Quality and Menu, we have noted and discussed your feedback with the respective department Head for follow up to improve our product, quality and service standard. We also will improve our food variety in the restaurant.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.
We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Agree with the previous reviewer about the property being overrated. Went to Janda Baik for a weekend and found this to be one of the best rated place to stay in the area, and hence proceed to book a room.

The sign to the hotel is a bit confusing, and for 5km I wonder if I am on the right path. Would suggest the owner of the resort to provide gps coordinates in the website.

Our room is on the 1st floor, overlooking the village next to the resort. Nothing to wow about and the balcony was full of bird poo on it. The room is clean but there was no coffee making facility. The toilet is huge and the hot water supply is great. There is a TV with a fair selection of channel (approximately 10). The bed is comfy and with curtains around, just like in fairy tales!

The highlights of the resort (or any resort in Janda Baik) is there is a stream behind. We brought our own bbq set and had a great time taking a dip and having BBQ there. The stream is shallow and clean. There is a shower and swing in the resort next to the stream, but will be better if they have a changing room there. Breakfast for the morning was Nasi Lemak, toast and cereals. The nasi lemak was great with really spicy sambal!

All in all, it's a nice clean resort for a weekend getaway but it's not worth the price. I will checkout other resort to stay the next time I come to Janda Baik.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank U-Hon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Hill Country House, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Dear MaryAnneMaryam,
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.
It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We sincerely apologies for all the shortcomings and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay and deal with our team members.
With regards to the issues brought forward, please find the following reply:-
a) Yes, we do not provide any coffee making facility because we were provides in our restaurant for 24 hours.
b) Our guest can request for extra bed which are RM 50 + breakfast and RM 35 without breakfast.
c) On our Food & Beverage Quality and Menu, we have noted and discussed your feedback with the respective department Head for follow up to improve our product, quality and service standard. We also will improve our food variety in the restaurant.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.
We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Janda Baik
6.0 mi away
Suria Hot Spring Bentong Hotel
5.2 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
8.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
#3 of 11 in Genting Highlands
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Harmony Valley Retreat
Harmony Valley Retreat
#3 of 8 in Janda Baik
15 reviews
11.0 mi away
Cherengin Hills Convention & Spa Resort
0.3 mi away
101 Resort & Spa
101 Resort & Spa
#4 of 9 in Janda Baik
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suria Hill Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suria Hill Country House

Property: Suria Hill Country House
Address: Lot 8567 Kampung Janda Baik, Janda Baik, Bentong 28700, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Bentong > Janda Baik
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Janda Baik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Suria Hill Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suria Hill Country House is located forty-five kilometers away from busy Kuala Lumpur. It offers 16 exclusive gorgeously appointed guestrooms, all of which have air-conditioning, a 26-inch LCD TV featuring selected ASTRO channels, and mini refrigerator. Some of its amenities include private aromatic jacuzzi, picnic and barbecue area, and fish pond and mountain stream. While staying here, you can visit some interesting places like Masjid Sultan Abu Bakar, Pulau Santap, and Ulu Tampit Waterfalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suria Hill Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik, Pahang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing