We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic & simple stay with Malay village style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Suria Hill Country House
Ranked #5 of 8 Janda Baik B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Basic & simple stay with Malay village style”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We wanted to relax and retreat in Janda Baik, after doing some research online, the Malay village style accommodation with 16 rooms provided by Suria Hill Country House was selected.
An advice to the outsider who is not familiar with the route in Kampung Janda Baik, the way to Suria Hill is a bit "deep" inside the village, which some parts of the roads might confuse you, make you misunderstand that you have entered a rural area. Don't worry, just drive safe and drop by to ask any resident in Janda Bail, they are friendly and willing to offer help.
Good points:
- Clean and well-maintained.
- Private stay with only 16 rooms (avoid the peak period for company team building, this small area will be crowded)
- there is a clean stream behind the hotel
- Friendly staff

No Good Points:
- we booked the premium room (the best room type), but the room is a bit small.
- Very limited choice for complimentary breakfast.
- No coffee making facilities,

Overall, nothing much to expect from a country house in Malay Village. Luckily, our stay was the only guest for that night, which was very private and quiet for retreat purpose.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Min099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Hill Country House, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Dear Min099,
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.
It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We sincerely apologies for all the shortcomings and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay.
With regards to the issues brought forward, please find the following reply:-
a) On our Food & Beverage Quality and Menu, we have noted and discussed your feedback with the respective department Head for follow up to improve our product, quality and service standard. We also will improve our food variety in the restaurant.
b) Yes, we do not provide any coffee making facility in the room because we were provides in our restaurant for 24 hours.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.
We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
26
11
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Went here in August a week aft hari raya. It was an impromptu stops at Janda Baik. Saw this resort n it seemed that it had the best exterior look, so we checked in for a night. Was quite surprised that the room did not hv any coffee making facility for the price we paid. We can't even request for extra bed in the room.

The room was very well-maintained though, huge bathroom with good hot n cold water pressure. The highlight there was the clean n refreshing stream. My kids loved it. The staffs there were friendly too.

We went down for breakfast quite late at ard 9.30, opened the buffet set n most were empty. We only had toasts but eventually the staffs checked on us n actually fried a fresh batch of bee hoon just for us despite the breakfast time will be ending real soon. It was a nice personalized service frm them.

For the price we paid a night, without coffee making facility, I think I would definitely check out other resort next time.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MZU_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Hill Country House, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Dear MaryAnneMaryam,
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.
It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We sincerely apologies for all the shortcomings and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay and deal with our team members.
With regards to the issues brought forward, please find the following reply:-
a) Yes, we do not provide any coffee making facility because we were provides in our restaurant for 24 hours.
b) Our guest can request for extra bed which are RM 50 + breakfast and RM 35 without breakfast.
c) On our Food & Beverage Quality and Menu, we have noted and discussed your feedback with the respective department Head for follow up to improve our product, quality and service standard. We also will improve our food variety in the restaurant.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.
We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Agree with the previous reviewer about the property being overrated. Went to Janda Baik for a weekend and found this to be one of the best rated place to stay in the area, and hence proceed to book a room.

The sign to the hotel is a bit confusing, and for 5km I wonder if I am on the right path. Would suggest the owner of the resort to provide gps coordinates in the website.

Our room is on the 1st floor, overlooking the village next to the resort. Nothing to wow about and the balcony was full of bird poo on it. The room is clean but there was no coffee making facility. The toilet is huge and the hot water supply is great. There is a TV with a fair selection of channel (approximately 10). The bed is comfy and with curtains around, just like in fairy tales!

The highlights of the resort (or any resort in Janda Baik) is there is a stream behind. We brought our own bbq set and had a great time taking a dip and having BBQ there. The stream is shallow and clean. There is a shower and swing in the resort next to the stream, but will be better if they have a changing room there. Breakfast for the morning was Nasi Lemak, toast and cereals. The nasi lemak was great with really spicy sambal!

All in all, it's a nice clean resort for a weekend getaway but it's not worth the price. I will checkout other resort to stay the next time I come to Janda Baik.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank U-Hon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Hill Country House, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Dear MaryAnneMaryam,
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.
It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We sincerely apologies for all the shortcomings and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay and deal with our team members.
With regards to the issues brought forward, please find the following reply:-
a) Yes, we do not provide any coffee making facility because we were provides in our restaurant for 24 hours.
b) Our guest can request for extra bed which are RM 50 + breakfast and RM 35 without breakfast.
c) On our Food & Beverage Quality and Menu, we have noted and discussed your feedback with the respective department Head for follow up to improve our product, quality and service standard. We also will improve our food variety in the restaurant.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.
We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel has been way, way overrated. The room is small and the bathroom definitely needs a make-over. There is no shower screen in the bathroom, which is not something acceptable for a hotel which charges over RM200 a night. There is no kettle in the room, one has to go to the restaurant downstairs to take drinking water. Again, this is not conducive unless you have brought water flask with you. I must say that the exterior of the hotel looks rather nice (not the rooms though). However because the hotel is NOT located on a hill (despite the inclusion of 'hill' in its name), the scenery from the hotel is not fantastic compared to other hotels around the area. The hotel sits on a big piece of land but there is no pool and no gym. The only plus point is that the staff of the hotel are generally quite friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rev15082013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Hill Country House, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Dear Rev15082013,
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.
It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We sincerely apologies for all the shortcomings and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay and deal with our team members.
With regards to the issues brought forward,
a) We have taken into consideration and improvements have been brought to most of the areas such as maintenance of rooms and toilet. We are sorry about the facilities that do not fulfill our guest need. We have made a discussion about the problem face by guest. If there necessary for us to make a changes we will do so that all of our guest will satisfy with our services.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.
We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Janda Baik hotels

Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very pleasant experience from the moment we checked in. I am very particular about cleanliness of room and the surrounding, and I must say that I was very pleased with the room, the reception, the dining area even the compound was very neatly kept. it has variety of local fruit trees and it's great for city slickers to learn about tropical plants there. My niece and nephew really enjoyed playing in the stream behind the resort, clean and cool too. I will return and surely recommend to others.

Room Tip: Deluxe room is spacious enough for three adults. First floor is definitely better and also you can h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Hill Country House, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Dear TOHY
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience. It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently. We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan, Pahang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The main attraction or would I say, the only attraction is the stream located behind the hotel.I hope the hotel can be improve by adding more entertainment to the hotel like karaoke set or futsal court just like a hotel opposite of the stream.Made a purchases using online, and had a confusion during transactions process.Beside the rate that already be agreed upon , it seems the hotel gonna charge you rm50 during weekend, although it was not stated in the booking particulars.At first, the it was be informed to my family that the rm50 it was for deposit, and when checking out, it was then told, it was for weekend fees.I hope the hotel could put notice or note for the charges in the bill to avoid confusion in the future.The food are so so, but we had a great time as a family, during our stays here.Took about 25 minutes to reach this hotel from genting sempah.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RadinFadli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Hill Country House, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Dear RadinFadli,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.
It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We sincerely apologies for all the shortcomings and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay and deal with our team members.
With regards to the issues brought forward,
a) We have taken into consideration and improvements have been brought to most of the areas such as provide karaoke set or others.
b) The rate for weekday and weekend are different and we are sorry about the misunderstanding. We already improve our booking service so that all guests will not confuse with our rate.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.
We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel is at the end part of Kampong Janda Baik. Very quite hotel except for the TV at the reception area. In the morning we can hear birds singing.Its very cool and windy in
the evening.
There are fruit trees in the compond, but cannot pluck.
We enjoyed the stream very much, it was clean, clear and cool. It can be very slippery bec of the large rocks. Not deep at all.
We took our dinner outside the Hotel. We drove to a more centralised area about 10 mins drive away. Please be careful when driving as the roads are very narrow and not many places to park.
Nice place to explore for surprises.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Hill Country House, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Dear yming

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience. It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently. We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Janda Baik
6.0 mi away
Suria Hot Spring Bentong Hotel
5.2 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
8.1 mi away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#4 of 10 in Genting Highlands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
#3 of 10 in Genting Highlands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
3.1 mi away
Harmony Valley Retreat
Harmony Valley Retreat
#2 of 8 in Janda Baik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sailor's Rest
Sailor's Rest
#1 of 8 in Janda Baik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suria Hill Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suria Hill Country House

Property: Suria Hill Country House
Address: Lot 8567 Kampung Janda Baik, Janda Baik, Bentong 28700, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Bentong > Janda Baik
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Janda Baik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Suria Hill Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suria Hill Country House is located forty-five kilometers away from busy Kuala Lumpur. It offers 16 exclusive gorgeously appointed guestrooms, all of which have air-conditioning, a 26-inch LCD TV featuring selected ASTRO channels, and mini refrigerator. Some of its amenities include private aromatic jacuzzi, picnic and barbecue area, and fish pond and mountain stream. While staying here, you can visit some interesting places like Masjid Sultan Abu Bakar, Pulau Santap, and Ulu Tampit Waterfalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suria Hill Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik, Pahang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing