We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suria Hill Country House
Ranked #5 of 8 Janda Baik B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel has been way, way overrated. The room is small and the bathroom definitely needs a make-over. There is no shower screen in the bathroom, which is not something acceptable for a hotel which charges over RM200 a night. There is no kettle in the room, one has to go to the restaurant downstairs to take drinking water. Again, this is not conducive unless you have brought water flask with you. I must say that the exterior of the hotel looks rather nice (not the rooms though). However because the hotel is NOT located on a hill (despite the inclusion of 'hill' in its name), the scenery from the hotel is not fantastic compared to other hotels around the area. The hotel sits on a big piece of land but there is no pool and no gym. The only plus point is that the staff of the hotel are generally quite friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rev15082013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Hill Country House, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2014

Dear Rev15082013,
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.
It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We sincerely apologies for all the shortcomings and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay and deal with our team members.
With regards to the issues brought forward,
a) We have taken into consideration and improvements have been brought to most of the areas such as maintenance of rooms and toilet. We are sorry about the facilities that do not fulfill our guest need. We have made a discussion about the problem face by guest. If there necessary for us to make a changes we will do so that all of our guest will satisfy with our services.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.
We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 52 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very pleasant experience from the moment we checked in. I am very particular about cleanliness of room and the surrounding, and I must say that I was very pleased with the room, the reception, the dining area even the compound was very neatly kept. it has variety of local fruit trees and it's great for city slickers to learn about tropical plants there. My niece and nephew really enjoyed playing in the stream behind the resort, clean and cool too. I will return and surely recommend to others.

Room Tip: Deluxe room is spacious enough for three adults. First floor is definitely better and also you can h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Hill Country House, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2014

Dear TOHY
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience. It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently. We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The main attraction or would I say, the only attraction is the stream located behind the hotel.I hope the hotel can be improve by adding more entertainment to the hotel like karaoke set or futsal court just like a hotel opposite of the stream.Made a purchases using online, and had a confusion during transactions process.Beside the rate that already be agreed upon , it seems the hotel gonna charge you rm50 during weekend, although it was not stated in the booking particulars.At first, the it was be informed to my family that the rm50 it was for deposit, and when checking out, it was then told, it was for weekend fees.I hope the hotel could put notice or note for the charges in the bill to avoid confusion in the future.The food are so so, but we had a great time as a family, during our stays here.Took about 25 minutes to reach this hotel from genting sempah.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RadinFadli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Hill Country House, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2014

Dear RadinFadli,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.
It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We sincerely apologies for all the shortcomings and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay and deal with our team members.
With regards to the issues brought forward,
a) We have taken into consideration and improvements have been brought to most of the areas such as provide karaoke set or others.
b) The rate for weekday and weekend are different and we are sorry about the misunderstanding. We already improve our booking service so that all guests will not confuse with our rate.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.
We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel is at the end part of Kampong Janda Baik. Very quite hotel except for the TV at the reception area. In the morning we can hear birds singing.Its very cool and windy in
the evening.
There are fruit trees in the compond, but cannot pluck.
We enjoyed the stream very much, it was clean, clear and cool. It can be very slippery bec of the large rocks. Not deep at all.
We took our dinner outside the Hotel. We drove to a more centralised area about 10 mins drive away. Please be careful when driving as the roads are very narrow and not many places to park.
Nice place to explore for surprises.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Hill Country House, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2014

Dear yming

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience. It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently. We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed one night on the way to Taman Negara and it was wonderful. Road leads down to an area with other homestays and guest houses and it's a lovely, quiet location. Walked down to the little river and sat listening to the birds and watching the dragonflies. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Rooms were very clean and tidy and some of the furnishings looked new. Breakfast was well cooked with plenty of tea and coffee; sadly the restaurant wasn't open that evening as it would have been great to eat there in the garden area.

Had no problem finding Suria Hill, but would suggest you get there in the daylight as you might miss the signs even though there are plenty of them. Would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tiara2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuriaresortsMY, Guest Relations Manager at Suria Hill Country House, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion and nice comments during your recent stay with us.

We are happy to see that you enjoy your recent stay and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Stayed for one night to get away from it all as had never been to Janda Baik. Stayed on promotional offer at RM290nett (RIBF). Booking was a hassle as they do not take the booking direct and you need to call their KL Sales. Even then confirmation for the paid booking took a few times calling them to get booking acknowledged!

Was the only guest in this 16-room guest house which made the night eerie as they switched off all the exterior lighting and carpark was in total darkness (or it could have been a power trip as it rained heavily with thunder & lightning). Directional signages were not good and missed the location and had to get directions from the locals.

Basic deluxe room, bathroom floors always wet & slippery. Hot water intermittent so having a good shower was unlikely. Nothing much to do at the location unless you come as a residential group to do team building events.

Breakfast was cooked by Kus (resident housekeeper & cook) fresh when you came for breakfast. She cooked fried egg, bread (which was cold out of fridge) & sausages including a plate of mee goreng which was very salty. Kus was very friendly & helpful but this is not really a location to stay at as nothing special

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FplusV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Hill Country House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2016

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken your comments on board. We are always looking at improving our services and shall take your suggestions on board. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again and hope to see you in the future.

Thank you
Suria Hill Country House, Janda Baik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Had a lovely trip.Easy to find as long as you dont miss turning. Just follow the sign. There's sign along the road.

Was upgraded to superior room. Lovely view facing the mountain. Simple but cozy decor. Super clean. So happen we brought movies in thumbdrive, planning to let my son watch on laptop, but delighted to discover all we need to do is plug it in straight to the TV. :)

Garden well maintained and even the fish pond smelt so clean and fresh! Hotel owned a private river. Very clean. Nice place to chill and laze around with family. But small so not for large group of people to splash around or to have picnic by the river. They even have a big space for BBQ with sitting area. Good place to consider for a family/friends gathering.

Breakfast was ok. Nothing to shout about. Very limited choice. But nice open sitting area.
Overall we had a wonderful weekend getaway.

Room Tip: If possible try get superior room or at least rooms on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AEmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Hill Country House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2016

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken your comments on board. We are always looking at improving our services and shall take your suggestions on board. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again and hope to see you in the future.

Thank you
Suria Hill Country House, Janda Baik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Janda Baik
6.0 mi away
Suria Hot Spring Bentong Hotel
5.2 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
8.1 mi away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#5 of 10 in Genting Highlands
2,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Cherengin Hills Convention & Spa Resort
3.1 mi away
Harmony Valley Retreat
Harmony Valley Retreat
#2 of 8 in Janda Baik
16 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sailor's Rest
Sailor's Rest
#1 of 8 in Janda Baik
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suria Hill Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suria Hill Country House

Address: Lot 8567 Kampung Janda Baik, Janda Baik, Bentong 28700, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Bentong > Janda Baik
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Janda Baik
Price Range: $33 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Suria Hill Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suria Hill Country House is located forty-five kilometers away from busy Kuala Lumpur. It offers 16 exclusive gorgeously appointed guestrooms, all of which have air-conditioning, a 26-inch LCD TV featuring selected ASTRO channels, and mini refrigerator. Some of its amenities include private aromatic jacuzzi, picnic and barbecue area, and fish pond and mountain stream. While staying here, you can visit some interesting places like Masjid Sultan Abu Bakar, Pulau Santap, and Ulu Tampit Waterfalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suria Hill Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik, Pahang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing