We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay at the Oxenham Arms in South Zeal, Devon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Zeal
Certificate of Excellence
Montacute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overnight stay at the Oxenham Arms in South Zeal, Devon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Steve and I had been here before, during Dartmoor Folk Festival a few years ago, but this time we were staying overnight, along with three Canadian relatives. It's a beautiful old building - possibly the oldest pub in the country, based around a 12th Century monastery. The rooms are excellent - with four poster beds and newly fitted-out bathrooms. The bar has a great range of beers and local ciders. We had a bit of a wait for the food, but the place was very busy, and they were a member of staff down, so that wasn't surprising. But then the food was well worth waiting for - we had a superb meal, and the venison was particularly good. And there's the garden - you can get straight up onto the moors, or just enjoy the view from the garden itself.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane_Cunio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    45
    9
    9
    4
See reviews for
59
228
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ferndown
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We just popped in here for lunch on the way to to Cornwall. I is well worth the detour of the main road. The Oxenham Arms is everything that a good English pub should be. Lovely old building, friendly staff, log fire, well kept beer and good food

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank young grandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAREHAM
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had to travel down to Devon at short notice for a funeral, and I chose the hotel because it was near the venue. We arrived at 2030 on a horrible wet evening, and were immediately made welcome by Simon and Lyn. We had warned them that we would be late and Lyn emailed to suggest that we should pre-order our main courses. We did this, and we had a delicious meal, with steak and Linguine. The food was cooked to order and arrived promptly. We had a bottle of wine and we also had beer and cider, which was very well looked after. The bed was amazing, a super-king size 4 poster, and my wife commented that this was the best night's sleep she'd had for a long time!We are keen to go to the Oxenham Arms again under happier circumstances, and can thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dongle14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Oxenham Arms has made our holiday in Devon this year. We stayed in a cottage nearby & were thrilled to find such a fantastic pub on our doorstep. Very friendly welcome, great food, wine and beer and a log fire. What more could you want from a holiday? Also got a tour around the hotel and rooms. Hope to go there to stay for a few days sometime.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have just arrived home from three nights at the Oxenham Arms and what a lovely three nights it was.

Lyn and Simon have not yet had the Arms for a year and yet they have already built up an Historic Inn with a well stocked and even more important well kept cellar (thank you Patrick), some really great food and a lovely old bar.

The rooms are well equipped and the modernisation of the Inn has been sympathetic. If your idea of a perfect Hotel is a Holiday Inn then stay away and leave this gem for those of us with taste.

Thanks to all at the Inn for being so warm and friendly and for a good number of the local regulars as well for that matter.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 12Kim12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon uk
Level Contributor
255 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Came across this place by accident on a really miserable wet day and what a smashing pub it is. Masses of genuine charm and character. Very friendly welcome and a tasty light lunch. Perfect. Wonderful to find a proper pub bar with a log fire.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pilgrim51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Pleased to find The Oxenham Arms reopened and received a warm welcome from Lyn. Surprisingly quiet for a Saturday lunchtime just after New Year. Delighted in soaking up the C12 history and learning about South Zeal stone and Dickens' stay whilst our lunch was prepared. Great food, fair prices. We will be back for another pub lunch again after another walk in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank exI-nterrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Zeal
3.8 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
4.1 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
12.8 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
7.5 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
16.2 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Address: South Zeal | Devon, South Zeal, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 2JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton > South Zeal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Zeal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxenham Arms Hotel and Restaurant at South Zeal is the oldest heritage inn in Devon & Cornwall.Rated AA 4 Star Gold Award with 7 luxury hotel guest rooms. Just 5 minutes off the A30 to Cornwall, yet set in a beautiful medieval village of South Zeal in The Dartmoor National Park. A unique property, it was originally a 12th Century monastery built by Benedictine monks around a 5000 year old Neolithic Granite carved Standing Stone called the South Zeal Menhir which still exists in the building. The Oxenham Arms provides a wonderful 537 year old beamed bar with fabulous bar meals, The Monastery Restaurant fine dining la carte restaurant, ancient snug bar and a family group function room all set in 5 acres of lovely grounds and gardens. This wonderful Grade II* Listed building was once once occupied by the Earls of Oxenham. Charles Dickens wrote his Pickwick Papers as a guest here when the Oxenham Arms was a Coaching Inn on the original Exeter to Plymouth Road. A true "Freehouse" Grade Manor House Hotel, this lovely establishment with friendly staff and great food is the oldest CAMRA real ale Heritage Inn in Devon & Cornwall. Open 7 days a week for food and bars you will find a lovely atmosphere, friendly welcoming staff and being right on the edge of Dartmoor, you can walk from the garden following the Dartmoor Trail up to the beautiful Cosdon Beacon on Dartmoor. Close to the A30 Dual Carriageway and only 25 minutes from Exeter,20 mins from Chagford,35 mins from Tavistock,50 minutes from Padstow an hour and a half from Bristol, three and a half from London, just 10 minutes from Gidleigh, Castle Drogo or Fingle Bridge. For hotel guests,the Oxenham provides a series of 5 walking guides to take you on the most beautiful scenic walks or cycling routes onto Dartmoor from 1 to 6 hours depending on the route. Novice to experience horse riding on Dartmoor can be organised starting just 5 minutes from the hotel. For those on their way to or from Cornwall or visiting Dartmoor, The Oxenham Arms Hotel is the perfect luxury room stopover. Sleep in a room where Charles Dickens once stayed, or another where Captain John Oxenham 14th Century Pirate and 1st Navigator for The English Naval Fleet once lived, another where 12th Century Benedictine Monks had their quarters, another where a Neolithic Prehistoric Standing Stone is beneath your superking bed... The incredible Oxenham Arms Hotel at South Zeal, Dartmoor National Park, Devon EX20 2JT ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant South Zeal, Dartmoor National Park, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing