We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down”
Review of The George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chardstock
Certificate of Excellence
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Let down”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

After booking a week in advance I did not expect to arrive at a freezing cold Inn to be told we would have to wait while some one was found to prepare a room for us, Three fireplaces and not one fire lit and that was after 6pm

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggie503763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    31
    10
    5
    12
See reviews for
28
48
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The meat, roast potatoes, parsnips, stuffing veg was all cooked lovely. The chief is Portuguese and cooks it in his own unique way. He was very obliging and asked us if we wanted more we were welcome. Really lovely chap and a wonderful chief.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Jrv74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I am wondering the same as Philip E in his review????
Very confused as to the negative reviews?????
This pub is wonderful in every way, a beautiful pub beautifully kept with a marvellous charm both from it's old worlde historic attraction and the amazingly warm reception from the lady who runs this comfortable establishment.
I have stayed and eaten here several times and would recommend staying .to anyone.
The food is great, good honest tasty food the type that fills you in portion and satisfaction and a wide choice.
The rooms are interestingly finishes with their own unique style not like all the bland places I have stayed on my many travels. They are warm, clean and very comfortable.
This I can honestly say is a gem and trust me that doesn't come from this old traveller easily, a wonderful example of an olde English pub with a warm and friendly atmosphere.

Well that is my view and I really can't understand what the bad reviews here are about, I have stayed in some pretty rough dives over the years and never seen reviews like this, very strange, don't get it and they certainly do not reflect my experience.

Recommended in full, go and enjoy a fantastic country diamond.... John

Room Tip: All the rooms look really good, don't think you can go wrong....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

This was once a great pub but now it's a terrible pub, such a shame as its a lovely location and the inside could be special like it was a few months back!!! If you want to freeze then by all means go here, no heat no atmosphere and if you want your husband flirted with then this is for you!!
Give this a wide berth and go to the Tytherleigh Arms or The Cotley Inn as they are the only decent places nearby, if this review sounds bad then just ask the locals!!! That will give you the picture!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank southwestsampler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

A friend & I decided to try the George for a lovely lunch in December. We entered the pub on a cold December day only to find a very poor christmas tree in the lobby and the place colder inside than out. We approached the bar but the atmosphere was very dark and unwelcoming. The man behind the bar was cleaning his taps and could barely be bothered to speak to us. He summoned a waitress to serve us. We sat down unable to take our coats off ( I noticed the few customers in the bar were all wearing coats) as no fires were lit and certainly no heating was on. We didn't order drinks or food quickly made an exscuse and left never to return. We went back up the road to the Tytherleigh Arms where we walked into a warm and welcoming pub who were pleased and interested to see us and we had a lovely lunch. Sorry the George you have a long way to go before we would come back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Denise232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Since changing hands in my view the pub has certainly gone up in leaps and bounds, the food is amazing with the new international Chef, that doesn't only cater for our local needs { steak chips and peas} and hes new fab special board, which displays from local fish dishes to local T- bone steaks. The accommodation, i had stayed previously and then returned to a refurbished room to a higher standard.......Well done

I recommend this highly .. since the new owners have taken over , give it ago !!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

we came to eat on Friday the 28th of September in the evening and it was pretty busy we walked to the bar to ask for a table the bar man was nice but didn't pay too much attention to us at this point we got to admit we was a bit nervous but we eventually got our table the women serving us was lovely she was bubbly and she had enough time to make us feel welcome. we got our menu and we was delighted to see the size, plenty too choose from, and the prices was excellent. We made our order and waited about 15 Minuits which was not long at all to wait for two steak meals, we got our steaks and i have to say they were presented lovely but that wasn't the best bit, it was all cooked to perfection the BEST steaks we have ever had anywhere! we then had a desert of Malteaser cheesecake which was lovely bit to sickly for me but not worth a complaint at all. all in all was very good, service needs abit of attention but the highlight for us was defiantly the food. recomend to anyone family couples or partys.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brandon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chardstock
4.1 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
153 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chard
327 reviews
8.2 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
423 reviews
8.3 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
276 reviews
7.0 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Inn

Property: The George Inn
Address: Chard Street, Chardstock EX13 7BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Chardstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chardstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Chardstock
The George Inn Chardstock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing