We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Since changing hands in my view the pub has certainly gone up in leaps and bounds, the food is amazing with the new inte”
Review of The George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chardstock
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Since changing hands in my view the pub has certainly gone up in leaps and bounds, the food is amazing with the new inte”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Since changing hands in my view the pub has certainly gone up in leaps and bounds, the food is amazing with the new international Chef, that doesn't only cater for our local needs { steak chips and peas} and hes new fab special board, which displays from local fish dishes to local T- bone steaks. The accommodation, i had stayed previously and then returned to a refurbished room to a higher standard.......Well done

I recommend this highly .. since the new owners have taken over , give it ago !!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    31
    10
    5
    12
See reviews for
28
48
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

we came to eat on Friday the 28th of September in the evening and it was pretty busy we walked to the bar to ask for a table the bar man was nice but didn't pay too much attention to us at this point we got to admit we was a bit nervous but we eventually got our table the women serving us was lovely she was bubbly and she had enough time to make us feel welcome. we got our menu and we was delighted to see the size, plenty too choose from, and the prices was excellent. We made our order and waited about 15 Minuits which was not long at all to wait for two steak meals, we got our steaks and i have to say they were presented lovely but that wasn't the best bit, it was all cooked to perfection the BEST steaks we have ever had anywhere! we then had a desert of Malteaser cheesecake which was lovely bit to sickly for me but not worth a complaint at all. all in all was very good, service needs abit of attention but the highlight for us was defiantly the food. recomend to anyone family couples or partys.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brandon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2012

my wife and i and stayed here for four nights.
We arrived on the week the new owners had taken over and we were both amazed at how well they had done, and how much it had improved from when we were last there.
Firstly, they were extremely friendly and nothing we asked for was too much, the young lady and her mother were extremely accommodating.
Secondly, the food was beautiful, all meats were local, and cooked very well. As for the prices: we were shocked. (in a good way!)
Lastly, the room was beautiful, from every little detail, you could tell they had put time and effort into it.

i think that the 'sandwich' situation is silly, that review does not reflect the pub we went to at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

After a long country walk, four of us decided to stop and the George Inn at Chardstock. Chardstock is a really pretty village and from the outside the pub looks lovely. Very olde worlde with a thatched roof. It was about 1.45pm on a Saturday and we surprised to find is was pretty much deserted. I think there was only one other person in the bar. We walked past the dark and dingy restaurant to see the remains of someone's breakfast, which nobody had cleared away. There was nothing on the menu we fancied so we asked if they did any sandwiches. The barman said he didn't know. At that point the chef walked in and we asked him the same question. He said he could do a range of sandwiches and reeled off a list. So we duly chose 4 different sandwiches and went outside with our drinks to wait for them. They eventually arrived and I can honestly say they were the worst sandwiches I have ever tasted. The bread was very thin sliced and stale. Mine was so stale I couldn't eat it. The others in my party ate some of theirs, but said they were really dry. When we opened them up we saw why - no butter! They were completely dry bread with ham or cheese or tuna put in the middle. Well, my four year old grandson would have made a better sandwich than that. We decided that we would be happy to pay for our drinks, but said that we were not prepared to pay for our food. The new owner came out and she did apologise and was happy for us not to pay. The reason I am writing this is so that hopefully, they will read the negative reviews and do something about it. A pub needs to be welcoming, with good fresh food. This pub is in a perfect location and should be busy with customers wanting to come back. Until things change, I for one will not be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wordsley,stourbridge.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights at the George at the end of July. We only had one evening meal which I must say we both enjoyed, but at the extortionary price we payed it was not worth the money. In fact we drove into Chard on the other two nights and had excellent meals at Wetherspoons at less than half the cost. As the weather in the early evening was warm and sunny we sat outside for our drinks from the bar, but we could only sit at the tables for a short time as the slope of the forecourt was very off putting.

The breakfasts were very filling and it would have been nice if we could have eaten in the restaurant rather than the bar.

The accommodation was outside at the back of the pub (glad the weather was dry) which apparently was the old stables which have been converted into four bedrooms. We had the twin room which was downstairs. The wardrobe consisted of two pegs on the wall and a table with no mirror and drop flaps which were broken. The single beds seemed cold to get into but then we realized that they were just damp.

The bathroom suite was in a 1970,s shocking pink and to run the hot water it took over five minutes of hanging around. All the windows stays were loose and we had to keep the curtains shut because of people passing by when going to the sittle ally which was a rusty tin shed next to our bedroom window.The television was no more than around a 12inch sreen. On the third day we were debating about going home but the weather was so nice we dicided to stay. After being out most of the day we arrived back from Chard we were ready for bed when we found the beds had not been made.

I would not normanly write to trip adviser like this but on seeing a review of a few days ago that the pub has changed hands and the accommadation was excellent it takes some believing how things can changed so ouickly. We would never stay there again.

Room Tip: Check your room before you agree to take it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adav43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.W. London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed in Chardstock from 4/8 and had a meal first night, it was very good. We spent the first 9 days using the pub/watching Olympics, great fun. Unfortunately the pub then closed due to change of owners so cant really give a balanced review. What I would say is; find out where the licencees went (Wambrook ?)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed at the George a couple of days ago, super accommodation and excellent service, the welcome was lovely and the staff are very professional in every way. The food is really good and very good value, I would certainly recommend it to anyone. It is under new management and they have really improved the service and the accommodation is lovely. Shame you don't have an accurate photograph of the Inn as it is a beautiful thatched affair gorgeous.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chardstock
4.1 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
153 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chard
327 reviews
8.2 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
422 reviews
8.3 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
276 reviews
7.0 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Inn

Property: The George Inn
Address: Chard Street, Chardstock EX13 7BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Chardstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chardstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Chardstock
The George Inn Chardstock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing