We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real country pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Butterleigh Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Butterleigh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Butterleigh Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Butterleigh B&B and Inns
Devon
Level Contributor
209 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“A real country pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Last minute decision to celebrate a friend's birthday at The Butterleigh - and a good decision too. Friendly welcome and well looked after by all the staff. Extensive range of beers and wines and a relaxed atmosphere before we sat down to eat. We were told there was a large group already booked in but we were quickly served and had no complaints at all. A really superb country pub and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lord_Brett_Sinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    9
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch on the recommendation of the owner of the cottage where we were staying. Unfortunately only got to visit once but we were very impressed with the service and food that we wouldn't hesitate to recommend others to visit. The location is lovely and from our brief visit everything looked well looked after and we were made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Why1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights whilst visiting our son and his family who live in Cullompton. The hotel is only 3 miles from there, so it was very convenient.
We had a lovely twin bedroom. It was spotlessly clean with attractive decor. The bathroom likewise. The shower was really good (which we have found, in other places in the past, not to be the case). Toiletries were provided. Good quality towels. Tea and coffee-making materials supplied in the room.
The included Full English breakfast was superb!! I had to ask for a smaller portion for the next day!
We didn't dine there as we were seeing family, but would like to on future visits. We had a warm and friendly welcome. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrb08_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I wrote a review of this 2 years ago and when I pressed save it got lost. Anyway I have returned to review this B&B because it deserves it.Nice room. Absolutely fantastic breakfast. When we come to visit our Devon friends we will defiinitely stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CortinaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have been for a meal several times. The menu choice is good & varied. When we have been as a couple the meal has been excellent but recently as a party of eight the kitchen was not so geared up, we experienced quite a wait in between all of us getting our meals also some dishes were not as hot as we would have expected. We will go back as the service & atmosphere is very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basil00775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew G, Owner at The Butterleigh Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments, although I did feel we let you down somewhat on your visit on this occasion. Without knowing the circumstances on the evening in question it is difficult to comment specifically. However, for a small country pub, we do receive a significant number of larger group bookings and we always try and look after these in a timely and efficient manner to ensure the food is well served. Sometimes, due to the volume of orders at the same time, our limited kitchen resources can get a bit stretched and service may slow a little, though naturally we all work as hard as we can to minimise these occurances. We are delighted that you have enjoyed previous visits and enjoy what we do at 'The Butterleigh', and look forward to welcoming you back. Should you have any issues with our service, do mention it as we would rather have the opportunity to correct matters than have a guest leave dissapointed! Thanks again.. Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

What a lovely pub, we live not that far away, and have heard that the place is well worth a visit, a year after we moved down here, we decided to go and sample the carvery, we were not disappointed. We had the choice of three meats, I chose the beef, which was roasted just how I like it, lovely and pink accompanied by a great choice of winter vegetables - the Yorkshire puddings are to die for. My other half chose the Turkey - which he loved, next time he is going to go for the roast Pork, which had a tonnes of crackling. We both wanted to enjoy a pudding, but we were stuffed! We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micksgirlfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed for two nights. Both double rooms where very well presented. Had dinner in the bar on both nights, good food, nice pint. Full breakfast was served anytime we pleased, just gave them an idea of what time the evening before.
Traditional country pub with a nice atmosphere, just right for a relaxed weekend away.
10 minutes to the motorway, or better still take the lanes into Exeter, 20 minutes, or Tiverton and Exmoor beyond, 10 minutes. There are also some nice walks right on the doorstep.
Will be returning soon.

Room Tip: All rooms have separate entrance to the pub so you can come and go with ease.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veg321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Butterleigh
2.9 mi away
Padbrook Park Hotel
Padbrook Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Cullompton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tiverton Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tiverton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Fisherman's Cot
The Fisherman's Cot
#2 of 4 in Bickleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
4.1 mi away
Muddifords Court Country House
4.6 mi away
Newcourt Barton
Newcourt Barton
#1 of 2 in Langford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Butterleigh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Butterleigh Inn

Property: The Butterleigh Inn
Address: The Street, Butterleigh, Cullompton EX15 1PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Cullompton > Butterleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Butterleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Butterleigh is a true welcoming English country pub with bed and breakfast accomodation. Traditional pub food and fine well kept ales are available in the bar and dining room, together with a good range of enjoyable wines and malt whiskies. Overnight accomodation offers a comfortable night's rest at an affordable price,and proximity to the M5 motorway means Butterleigh is a convenient, peaceful stopover when travelling through South-West England. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Butterleigh Hotel Butterleigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing