We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappoints, perfect village pub”

The Butterleigh Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Butterleigh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Butterleigh Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Butterleigh B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Many visits to this pub to eat when I am in Devon to visit family nearby. This is the kind of pub I would want to have within walking distance of my own home. Everything is just right and the pub looks after visitors as well as locals. I love sitting in the bar area, its relaxing at the end of a hard weeks work. Food is always very good.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank SunnySurreyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 68 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2012

I think the reviews have covered most points however I would like to add the following. This pub has a peaceful atmosphere with roaring log fires where you can just relax over a pint (owners happy to serve just drinkers) & a meal if you wish for a few hours. There is always good food with generous portions, we usually have the curry of the day or the gammon, egg & chips from the blackboard at lunch time, brilliant!!! Several real ale & incredible scrumpy cider on tap plus a respectable choice of reasonably priced wines. The owners have dogs but the owners don’t let them upset any anxious customers & I understand customers are allowed to take well behave dogs into the bar area. It is normally easy to park in the very large car park but there is usually a need to book if you want to eat on Friday & Saturday evening or Sunday lunchtime. This is one of our favourite pubs in the country & an easy drive from Exeter, Tiverton or Taunton.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crackling79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We are lucky to have this pub very close to home. Having not visited for sometime last Friday we went along for a family meal. As always we were made to feel very welcome by Jo and Matt along with a lovely atmosphere in the Bar area. Being a Friday night it was busy . Our food orders were taken, the food cooked fresh and delivered in good time. The meals were all excellent with great friendly service.Just what you would hope for. Needless to say we will be back very soon

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

My boyfriend and I visited this great pub for a meal last Friday night and were wowed by the delicious food and generous portions! Just what we needed on a Friday night en route to Northcote Manor for a 1 night voucher deal. We didn't stay at the pub (we were doing Fri night on the cheap so stayed at the Travelodge at J27 on the M5!) but the welcoming staff and clientele, the open fire and the delicious cider/beer and food really kicked off our weekend! I can highly recommend both the steak and ale pie and the turkey, pork and leek pie. Can't wait to visit again when we're next in the area!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BeckyFoulds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed at the butterleigh inn for 3 nights my hubby n two friends as we were visiting family, and we loved it so so nice, thank you jo and matt for your hospitality n great food, can't wait to come back again, the rooms were lovely and cozy and brekki was fab, too much for me, just loved everything about it, thanks again xxxxxx the Blackpool crew x

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Just to say thanks to Jo and her family at the Butterleigh Inn for a lovely stop over on the way to Cornwall, we also had a lovely newly decorated room (no. 1) and great food (especially the curry). We will definitely stay again. Finding it was fun too - love the country lanes and very near to the M5 so perfect!

Room Tip: We had a double room - No. 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We have stayed here several times on our journey down to Cornwall, The rooms are clean, and warm but in need of a little updating. Located in a very quiet village with a large car park ten minutes from the M5 this is a relaxing place to stay. Log fires, a bar with character throughout, good food (especially the cooked breakfast) and the good selection of real ale was well kept. We love this pub.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonnieNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Butterleigh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Butterleigh Inn

Address: The Street, Butterleigh, Cullompton EX15 1PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Cullompton > Butterleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Butterleigh
Price Range: $51 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Butterleigh is a true welcoming English country pub with bed and breakfast accomodation. Traditional pub food and fine well kept ales are available in the bar and dining room, together with a good range of enjoyable wines and malt whiskies. Overnight accomodation offers a comfortable night's rest at an affordable price,and proximity to the M5 motorway means Butterleigh is a convenient, peaceful stopover when travelling through South-West England. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Butterleigh Hotel Butterleigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing