We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great October break!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Center Parcs Le Lac d'Ailette

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Center Parcs Le Lac d'Ailette
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great October break!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We've been to a number of Center Parcs both in the UK and on the continent but this has to be my favourite.

Yes the accommodation needs a bit of a clean and redecoration but we were never really there but to sleep. The beds were clean and comfy, needed an extra pillow though and the views across the lake were amazing. The villa was well appointed with everything you need to self cater, no oven to speak of though.

The swimming complex is phenomenal with plenty of slides and a fantastic area for younger children. The free activities are always a bonus and the fact that it was half the price of a UK parc makes it excellent value.

Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STEFSUNSEEKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    2,344
    1,893
    1,071
    460
See reviews for
5,467
386
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Very nice break, lots to do as a family. Accommodation was good but site shop was only option. This center parcs location was not near any other grocery shops. The aqua mundo kept the kids happy for 3 of the days we were there and other activities we booked took up another. Our 3rd center parcs in as many years and I wasn't disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

In the brochure and on the internet this park looked ideal for our short family break. In reality the whole park is very tired and needs a good clean and essential maintenance. In the swimming pool out of about twenty showers only five worked and supplied luke warm water that had so little water pressure that it was insufficient to wash the shampoo out of my daughters long hair. In the gents toilets only one of the four urinals was working! The whole shower and toilet block need a complete refurbishment. Around the park lots of the street lights are not working and some of the cycle paths along the beach front had all of the lights off for our complete stay switched off making riding home after our evenings meal unsafe due to areas of the pathway that had fallen away onto the beach. There was no signage alerting anyone to this. Our cottage was fine with the exception of the cleanliness especially the walls and the upstairs carpets. Known of the extractor fans worked in the bathrooms or toilets which for the down stairs toilet without a window next to the kitchen made it unusable.
We have stayed at a other centre parcs in France and have always had a great time, we made the best of this holiday but would not recommend this park to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs

Helpful?
Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chamouille hotels

UK
Level Contributor
171 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We hadn't stayed at Centre Parcs for 20yr or so, but thought it would be a great location for a family reunion - 14 of us, including 5 grandchildren booked into two cottages, located in the same section of the site. On arrival, one family (together with 14 month infant) were informed with no explanation that they had been moved to another cottage at the extreme far end of the site - 25 minute walk from the other cottage - very disappointing.

The cottages themselves were also a disappointment - the furnishings and fabric looked "tired", and one bedroom smelled very strongly of a nearby septic tank. The promised ground-floor "bathroom with shower" in a 4 bed cottage proved to be a WC and a tiny hand basin - as two of the party were disabled this again was not satisfactory. The grounds were overgrown and prices for any but the included activities are exorbitantly high.

We originally booked a 4 night midweek stay (Monday - Friday) and agreed the price. When we received the confirmation I noticed that the duration of the stay had been amended to Monday - Thursday, but with no reduction in the total price. I queried this with Centre Parcs and was informed that this was because the Friday was a Public holiday in France, No refund for the shorter stay was offered, the only option I was given was "take it or leave it - do you want a refund?". Because it was a family reunion we reluctantly agreed the shorter booking.

On the plus side .. the children loved the water park facilities - flumes, etc., and also the indoor children's play area.

Room Tip: Its a very extensive site, and cars have to be left in the carpark - ask for a cottage near the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daktari_on_safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Being a centreparcs fan and having visited all 4 of the UK sites we decided to venture and try europe.

We picked Le lac due to its closest proximity to Calais. Having read all the negative reviews we were prepared to not have too high expectations.

As it was a very wet week we spent most of it indoors and hence cannot really comment on the outdoor facilities/activities. Also our son is a toddler so most activities he would have been too young for (apart from the pony riding i think) the rest were from about 8 ish. Ill try to be as objective as possible and my experience might be different to others..

Accommodation: we stayed in a 2 bed VIP cottage which overlooked part of the lake so me and my son fed the resident ducks and beaver daily. Space wise the UK cottages are definately more spacious. I preferred the UK Woodlands style to these but despite that found the furnishings quite comfy and dozed off on the sofa most nights. The cottage was quite clean and no smell of cigarettes either so could not complain. The added touch was underfloor heating which was very nice as it was a cold week. Kitchinette small and as previously mentioned no oven, I struggled to use the grill setting in the microwave combi and ended up cremating the nuggets. It would have been helpful for there to be instructions. The VIP had a sauna and jacuzzi bath which was nice to have for us adults to relax. Both the rooms had en suites:-master had double bed, the jacuzzi bath and toilet, second bedroom had 2 singles and a shower. There was a wc next to the lounge.
The bedding is probably what let this place down the most. The pillows were hollow fibre (bleugh- grab your own pillow if you've got the space in the car) and the duvet a bit thin (although we were not cold). The towels were rather threadbare imo. The sheets not as luxurius as the UK ones and bed probably not as comfy.

Aqua mundo: this is where we spent the most of time during our stay. It had the most slides of all the centreparcs we've been in, even with 2 closed there were still like 6 or 8 slides. There were hardly any ques too which was likely due it being out of season.The rapids were quite tame for us at least- and we even took our 3 year old on them- again, and again! The splash zone was great for younger children as you could just lounge and watch the kids being drenched by a giant water bucket or go on the slides. The babies pool had 2 slides as well and a sand pit so perfect for under 3's. It was let down however by the general wear and tear that could be seen all around, there were a lot of leaves and debris from the indoor live plants and I even swam past a cockroach in the pool. The actual pool was not as big as longleats and there was a lazy river, which was very lazy.

Around the parc: Inside the main area they had the childrens play area Baluba which was great- like an indoor soft play area with a seperate lego building section and a several coin operated arcade games for the older ones. We didint eat in the restaurants but I really liked the jungle dome interior when passing (much nicer than Elveden).There was a small playground not too far from our cottage and a main play ground which was quite good by the beach. The cottages dont have that secluded woodlands feel you get in the UK parcs and are more terraced style. It was not hilly apart from maybe 2 or 3 inclines and our 3 year old managed most on his bike himself. The area around the lake is quite scenic and there were pedalo and rowing boats for hire. The parc market was very expensive. We bought a whole roast chicken at the carrefour in Laon for about 6euros and it was over 12 in the parc market! We only got some bread there when we ran out. Laon was about 7miles away and we got the fresh groceries there. I found prices in france (for our usual stuff) more expensive and tip would be to buy and bring most of your usuals (cereal etc..) if you can.

We brought our own bikes but I think the prices are similar for hire to the UK ones about 23 euro for midweek adult bikes. They only had the one type of bike from what I could see, not like the Uk ones were you have the mountain bikes and city, these were just the city bikes. Golf buggys (which I found annoying as they would wizz past little kids struggling on their bikes) were about 150 euros for midweek I think to hire- they sat 4 plus any kids on your laps i guess. There were a lot of younger people with cigarettes hanging out of their mouths wizzing past on these. It would be one of my criticisms to centre parcs management. I feel they should be hired only to those with difficulty getting around, centreparcs is one of the times when you can enjoy leisurely bike riding without the fear of traffic, and for those with young children a seat or attachment is available.

The staff were pleasant enough and even though it was a bit of a stuggle with the language barrier we managed to get most issues accross. The heating was not coming on initially and someone did come out albeit several hours later. They have handy housekeeping points around the cottages. We could not get in on day 1 and walked over to these 'SOS' points. The house keeping staff came and used her card to open which was handy not having to drive all the way back to the reception.

So overall the negatives are it could do with better bedding, cleaning of the aqua mundo, less smoking!! boy were there a lot of smokers, even in the playground with children playing and in the house keeping 'help' areas they just chugged- ashtray full of butts! Reducing the traffic in the parc- cars would still be in and out and those annoying buggys and their chavvy drivers!!

However it does provide good value for money and despite all of the above I would still recommend and go again in the future. I would only chose to stay in VIP and will go for lake view next time around.

Room Tip: 747 2 bedroom VIP was quite clean and with part of the lake running through but not full view of lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jul14o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Went on holiday this summer and decided to give Centre Parcs a go for the first time. Went with friends who have been to Centre Parcs in the UK and they said it was very good.
4 Adults, 2 young kids and 2 babies in total. We managed to pick a week in the summer where there wasn't good weather, but even with the rain there was plenty to occupy the kids. I'd recommend hiring cycles for the duration with the buggy attachment for the kids and for caring your shopping from the local shop to the chalet.
The chalet wasn't as high speck as the ones you get in the UK (so our friends told us) and the kitchen was small but for the price we couldn't complain. We've decided to go again, but will take a bigger apartment next time.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Morodin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay. House was literally next to the water. Everything was very clean. 3 year old daughter loved the swimming pool and playgrounds. Great time for all and vrry pretty.the beach was nice, but didnt really use it much. Pony ride and farm were brilliant for the little ones.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Aimanm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chamouille
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette
6.2 mi away
Ibis Laon
Ibis Laon
#4 of 8 in Laon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
13.6 mi away
Domaine de Barive
Domaine de Barive
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Preuve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Campanile Laon
Campanile Laon
#7 of 8 in Laon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
21.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix
10.3 mi away
Chateau de Courcelles
Chateau de Courcelles
#1 of 1 in Courcelles-sur-Vesle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Le Lac d'Ailette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Le Lac d'Ailette

Property: Center Parcs Le Lac d'Ailette
Address: Parc Nautique de L'Ailette, 02860 Chamouille, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Aisne > Chamouille
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Chamouille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs Le Lac d'Ailette 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Center Parcs Le Lac d'Ailette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Le Lac d`Ailette Hotel Chamouille
Center Parcs Le Lac D'Ailette France/Chamouille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing