We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away!!”
Review of Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gateway Inn
Reviewed July 29, 2007

I'm sure the same woman is still there.
DO NOT BOOK HERE.
We had prepaid reservations for 1 night and were very leery of the place when we drove into the parking lot. No cars and a bit overgrown. The office was empty and we rang the bell twice before assistance came and she seemed annoyed that we were bothering her. We asked to see the rooms before we signed in. The rooms seemed clean, but very dark, old and threadbare. The mattresses are about 4 inches thick and the doors are very thin. The place gave me an overall uneasy feeling.
The woman was waiting for us in the parking lot. We told her that the rooms were not acceptable and she yelled at us that "No one has ever complained before. Do what you want. You cannot have a refund." walked away and close the door on us. We felt creeped out enough about this place to drive away from 2 prepaid rooms without another place to stay in the height of the summer season!!
I'm attempting to contact the owners, better business and tourism board. I don't have a lot of hope for a refund, but hopefully this will save others.
This is a very inexpensive motel for the area. We did not expect luxury and had spent the previous 2 nights in smaller, older motel style accomodations that were fine.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cc41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cizera, Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2008

They booked for FOUR persons – two rooms; only three arrived.
They were not very nice.
There are no 4" mattresses here at The Gateway.
As they wanted to cancel, I told them if we rented the rooms, the credit card would be refunded as we had held the reservation for over two month for them.
One complained about loosing her passport and other documents. I suggested to her that that had nothing to do with the reservation as they were canceling without adequate notice, the details which were written to them in an E-mail.The reservation policy is created by the company that owns the property.

The property is clean, lawns always mowed and we pride our flower gardens.

There are 14 rooms and 4 cabins here at The Gateway - we are a team of 4 persons who clean, do the laundry, take the reservations, and man the desk in a 24 hour period.

I never once raised my voice with these people, as they were very rough, hostile and unpredictable in their behavior.

The Gateway Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 52 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2006

small motel on Highway 1, but very little traffic noise at night. Room, clean & comfortable, a bit small, bit dark because of trees outside. Small fridge and kettle which was very slow to boil.
Only problem was ice-making machine outside door which was rather noisy. No food service in the area, but only 5 mins drive to entry to Canmore with several takeaways, e.g Mcdonalds, Tim Horton etc and another 5 mins to downtown with plenty restaurants, shops etc. A good area to stay. Much cheaper than Banff, which is only 20 mins away. Magnificent views of mountains

Thank female-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Winnipeg, Manitoba
111
Reviewed April 8, 2006

To any travellers planning to stay in Canmore, Alberta Please do not plan to stay at the Gateway Inn.
My family and I had a very bad expirence with the Gateway Inn. I had phoned the Gateway Inn in early March and spoke to the gentleman that takes the reservations. In this conversation a cabin was booked for 8 adults and 3 young children. My name, address, credit card info was taken and I was told I would receive a confirmation via email shortly thereafter.
A week passsed, I sent an email inquiring where our confirmation letter was. I in turn received a borderline sharp email informing me that no reservation is confirmed without a first night payment??
I then phoned and spoke to the gentleman again and re- confrimed all info, with relief that we had not lost our reservation. Now again expecting an email confirmation, I checked my email only to find the most unprofessional, rude email I have ever received.
When I did phone the Gateway Inn asking what was going on the lady who was the manager/owner hung up on me twice. My husband then phoned later and spoke to her. Bottom line the Gateway Inn saw no fault in the way we were treated, she was very rude and unprofessional and clearly uninterested that we had made this reservation 2 weeks prior. With a large group it is difficult to find accommidations. A mistake was obviously made by the gentleman taking our reservation, but this manager/owner treated my husband and I as though we had done something wrong.
All around very bad experience. Planning vacations
are stressful enough without dealing with a situation like this. I truely hope this report sheds a little light on what you may run into at the Gateway Inn, Canmore, Alberta.

Stayed: March 2006
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cizera, Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2008

A new employee took this reservation accepting an American Express credit card, which is not accepted.
-Further, there was no notation of the number of people in this group.

When we wrote a follow-up E-mail to confirm the number of persons and obtain either a VISA or MasterCard and learned that the reservation was for 11 people, we immediately informed them by E-mail that the cabin was not available for the number of people in their group. That there was a misunderstanding as to their numbers - there were too many persons for this cabin and the reservation was not acceptable.

The woman phoned back repeatedly yelling about how we had ruined her life by not accepting the reservation for her family for this cabin, her parents and her sister’s family. There was nothing calm about her manner at all.
Rather than looking elsewhere, she seemed to think that yelling more would help her case.
(“Not proffessional at the Gateway Inn in Canmore, Alberta” )
I do not talk to people who yell at me on the phone and I told her I would hang up if she kept yelling, which I did. She telephone many times every day for days.
There was finally a normal conversation with her husband and he agreed.
Only a few days had passed since their first contact, they still had 4 months to find another more suitable accommodation.
Had these people not given the American Express card # it would likely have never come to our attention. They would have arrived and not been accommodated at the end of July.
The Gateway Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2006

We had reservations booked at this Inn for 5 months in adavance for 11 people. Our Credit card number and personal info was given as we assumed everything was ready. We did not hear back from the Gateway Inn to make sure everything was confirmed. My sister sent an email making sure everything was all set(she was the one who booked the reservations). She recieved a very rude email stating that she did not give a deposit for the first night, but my sister had already given her Mastercard # and personal info. My sister then emailed her and told her she had given the gentleman who had took her call and she was under the assumption that the reason she was giving the man her M/C number was for the deposit. The lady then emailed my sister again in an extremely rude manner and said qoate "We cannot offer you accommodation as we DONOT have a unit to accommodate your size of group.
There has been a huge misunderstanding here - YOU DO NOT HAVE A RESERVATION HERE. Had you been straight forward as to the size of your group / this would have been made clear TO YOU from the start. Good Luck. The Gateway Inn" After reading this email my sister then tried phoning again and spoke to the same gentleman who then passed the phone saying "it's her". When the lady came on the phone she answered "ya?" and my sister was asking calmly and repestfully why she was recieving rude emails and all she wants to do is stay at this Inn. The lady then hung up on my sister and she tried to call again and the lady hung up again.
We do not know why they acted the way they did. My family does not at all reccomend staying at this Inn. They were rude and disrespectful and DO NOT know how to treat their customers or run a business. If you are travelling out West find somewhere other then THE GATEWAY INN which is located in CANMORE ALBERTA.

17  Thank Melicious29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Tamara_Larissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Kangu33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harvie Heights
8.4 mi away
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
3.2 mi away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#21 of 28 in Canmore
635 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Canmore
Days Inn Canmore
#10 of 28 in Canmore
583 reviews
9.1 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 33 in Banff
839 reviews
3 mi away
Mountain View Inn
Mountain View Inn
#22 of 28 in Canmore
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn

Address: 800 Harvie Heights Rd, Harvie Heights, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2W2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Harvie Heights
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Harvie Heights
Price Range: $93 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Inn is now under NEW Management as of April 1, 2017. The Gateway Inn is located in the spectacular beauty of the Canadian Rocky Mountains, less than 2 minutes from the east gate of Banff National Park and only 15 minutes east of the town of Banff. The Gateway Inn is conveniently located less than 5 minutes west of Canmore off the Trans Canada highway #1 at exit 83 for Harvey Heights. All rooms come with 32" flat screen TV with 30+ channels. Small fridge and microwave as well as coffee maker for coffee or tea. Our 7 acre property features incredible views down the Bow Valley, plenty of space to roam, a playground for small children and a fire pit for that true Canadian outdoor experience as well as picnic tables and benches for relaxing or reading. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Canmore
Gateway Inn Harvie Heights, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing