We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banff Boundary Lodge
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had booked out third year in a row at the BBL from June 17-24, 2013. We later decided to change our trip to a camping trip and I let the room go so others could have a chance to book it. Having made the choice for the third time, we obviously loved staying there. We always found the staff very helpful and nice to speak to, got new towels whenever needed and exchanged kitchen towels daily without question. We stayed for a week for the first two years in a row and would stay again. I read some of the latest reviews and some people must be very picky to complain about little things. I think the buildings are older and of course could use some renovs, but where else can you say for $100 bucks a night including the dog this close to Banff and Canmore. We will stay again if the need arises, and thankfully we did not get to travel to Alberta this summer due to family illness. Thankful, for sure that we did not arrive the week of the tragic floods. I hope the condos were OK during this tragic time for Alberta.

Room Tip: Due to not being able to take stairs we found a ground floor room with parking of your car right ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 236 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

We booked it for visiting Banff. It takes around 20-25 mins to go to the town of Banff.
We got a suite that was spacious and clean. Nothing fancy about this place but it has just about everything you need for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saadishahid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We spent a couple of nights at the Banff Boundary Lodge while hiking and biking in the Kananaskis and Banff areas. After hiking all day, we spent some time in the hot tub and relaxed in our room. Banff Boundary Lodge provided everything we needed for a reasonable price. We enjoyed the luxury of separate bedrooms for our family. Our unit was very clean and in good condition. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rustic-Ranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The 1-beds are all on the ground floor. They don't tell you that when you book. The noise overhead was irritating. The apartment was adequate, if a little grubby. Stained carpet, rusted shower rail, old Lino. on bathroom floor had holes in it. They tell you there's no daily maid service "for your privacy" which would be fine if there was actually any privacy. The apartments are very overlooked by neighbouring apartments and the only way to avoid feeling like you're in a goldfish bowl is to close the curtains and switch on the lights, which is not ideal. Charging $2 for a capful of laundry detergent, $2 for a laundry load and $1.50 for drying that load is excessive. Other than that, the place was fine. Staff were friendly enough. Nothing special. King bed was nice and comfy, though the covers were worn and stained. the place also smelled like someone had been smoking in there. It would be a cost-efficient place for families to stay, in particular (if you don't use the laundry service). For the "not too fussy" guest, this would be fine.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank UTBOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Banff Boundry Lodge is in good proximity to attractions in the Canmore and Banff Area. It is very resonably priced for those travelling on a budget. Located just off the highway in Harvey Heights made easy and fast access to the ski hills.

The accomodations are basic but have all the amenities needed. We were a group of 3 families that made good use of the hot tub and the barbeque located just out our door. We are not overly picky on our accomodtaions so the place was sufficient to lay your weary body down for the night. The linens were clean and the beds were comfy enough The decor and carpets need updating however I think it would be hard to keep the carpets clean when most guests come directly off the street with winter gear and boots. If you have children who get to the door before you they may forget to take off thier boots at the door and track mud as in our case. Our children were too excited to find where they will be sleepign and if wi-fi is availble
.
Maid service is available upon request and for a fee so we opted out. We had no problem taking our used towels to the front desk to exchange for clean ones. The workers at the front desk were all pleasant and very helpful during our stay. We would definately stay here again on our next ski trip.

Room Tip: Back units are quiet and near the BBQ.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imi1240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Booked two-bedroom suite for 3 nights last August via Hotels.com for about 125/nt inc tax and was very happy with the choice. This condo/apartment is clean and spacious with a full kitchen. If you intend to cook during your vacation, this is the place. Location is the outskirt of Canmore and is right outside the entrance of Banff NP. The surrounding mountain views are beautiful and the drive to and from Lake Louise and Yoho NP is pleasant. No complaint and would definitely stay here again. This is my 2nd visit to Banff in 5 yrs and wouldn't mind to visit again. You will not disappoint with the scenery in this part of the world. Happy travel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dalat44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

You simply cannot beat this hotel for the economical price, location, and amenities. My husband and I stayed in a two-bedroom condo, although we had only booked a one-bedroom. Our condo had full kitchen facilities, a fireplace, bedrooms upstairs (away from the "living area") and one and a half bathrooms. Everything was well-worn, but very clean and cozy.

We arrived late at night, and basically grabbed our key from the night lockbox outside of reception (since reception was closed by the time we arrived), and crashed for the night. We noticed the next morning that our fridge and microwave weren't working, and mentioned it to the staff when we went to complete our check-in paperwork. We left for a day of snowboarding, and returned to a perfectly operating fridge and microwave. I couldn't even tell that someone had been in our condo, as nothing had been disturbed.

Banff Boundary Lodge is located just outside of Canmore, which seems to make it a bit quieter. They were at full capacity when we stayed, but we didn't have any problems with noise from any of the other units. We slept very well on the king-sized bed provided, and weren't bothered by the highway noise at all.

There is a hot tub on site, which is easily accessible through the reception area. It is a bit small, but was very much appreciated after a day of snowboarding!

We will definitely return to Banff Boundary Lodge on our next trip to the Canmore/Banff area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lawgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harvie Heights
2.1 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#12 of 28 in Canmore
569 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
8.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn of the Rockies
Inn of the Rockies
#18 of 28 in Canmore
98 reviews
8.8 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Boundary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Boundary Lodge

Address: 1000 Harvie Heights Rd, Harvie Heights, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2W2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Harvie Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Harvie Heights
Price Range: $93 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Boundary Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Boundary Lodge offers the discerning traveler all the comforts of a private condo suite with the incredible amenities of Canmore and Banff right at the doorstep. Located just metres from the Banff National Park gates and minutes to world-class skiing, golfing, dining, shopping and hiking, Banff Boundary Lodge gives guests unparalleled access to all the activities the Canadian Rocky Mountains have to offer. The lodge features two bedroom, fully stocked, self-catering kitchen suites with gas fireplaces, an on-site conference room, outdoor hot tub and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banff Boundary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Boundary Hotel Harvie Heights
Banff Boundary Canmore
Banff Boundary Lodge Harvie Heights, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing