We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay with friends!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banff Boundary Lodge
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Four of us and two large dogs stayed at the Banff Boundary hotel and had a great time. The rooms were spacious and while not the most up-to-date they were clean and as nice as most homes. In fact, we felt like we were at home. The highway noise is a little loud and the train goes by every once in a while but if you travel # 1 you will notice a lot of places are close to the highway.

My only note is that the receptionist could use a smile, it is always nice to check-in to a hotel and you feel that the staff is excited you are there. Also, the hot-tub needs to be open past 9:30, that is just silly. You are in the rockies and sitting in a hot tub in the late evening watching the stars just goes along with it.

Room Tip: Ask for the AMA rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dcaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 238 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

It was our first time stay with a family of 5. The layout of the rooms are great if you are staying with a few adults and children and want to cook your own food. We were one the ground floor with 2 separate bedrooms and a pull out couch in the living room. The place could use a good cleaning, maintenance and was noisy. First impression was that the rooms could use some new flooring, they were really nasty to look at, even the bathroom floor. We cooked our own food there, they provide pots, pans, plates and cutlery which is great until we lifted some pots and found brown worms in a few drawers. Of course we washed everything before using them. One of the stove burners didn't work and the bedroom fan was very noisy. When the WiFi password on the fridge and in the welcome guest book didn't work, we called staff to find out the password was something completely different. The bed didn't seem to be properly cleaned as we had small hairs all over the bed and pillows. With being on the bottom floor the guests above us were noisy. We could hear them walking around and their beds squeaking. At least the bedroom fan was noisy enough to drown out the above noise so we could try to get some sleep. Overall would probably not stay here again unless they did some upgrades and had better cleaning staff. The location, room layout and price is good, besides that they take a $100 deposit incase you loose your key.

Room Tip: If you stay here, choose a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dognamedbeatles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed there with a family of 5 in a ground level two bedroom unit. The space was nice, along with the kitchen and community outdoor grills. The location worked well for trips into Banff (Nat'l Park and town). Canmore is also quite nice. There are tons of bike trails nearby and wish we'd had time to do some riding. The only minor criticism relates to the furnishings. The sofa and chair were a little uncomfortable, and the coffee table had a loose leg, despite an extra bracket from prior repair attempts. The bedrooms were nice. Overall, for the price and location, I feel this is a good option.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was our first family vacation and booked through Expedia. The price was very good. We stayed for 5 nights in the deluxe room. The two bedrooms were great and having two twin beds was even better for teenagers. Beds were comfortable. Unit was very clean. Never ran out of hot water (caution water is extremely hot), staff very friendly and helpful, great wifi, quiet, beautiful views of the mountains from our room, bbq area with firepit. Less than five minutes from Banff gates and about five minutes to Canmore for shopping. Only downside was laundry machines could be updated, washer did not clean properly and dryer requires extra time (I was told about the dryer) I did not overload machines. Will definitely stay again. As soon as we walked in my husband said "wow way to go mom".

Room Tip: I am a light sleeper, our unit was behind the lodge, did not hear the highway noise and had the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinnipegKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We were upgraded to some kind of suite as the original room was not ready at five when told. But the downstairs bathroom didn't flush properly, the stair railing was loose! The fan in one of the rooms was loud so couldn't have it on over night and as we were close to the road we couldn't keep the window open wide. Couldn't use the guest computer because there was no printer! Also a little child got lost and no one at the lobby would give over his room number so we could take him to his mother and the staff didn't even suggest anything to help him. Fortunately his mother came by to collect him. There should be something to help list children. The room was very good but not worth the price even with the CAA discount. No WIFI in the room despite the password on the fridge and to use it in the lobby was stuffy and airless.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yasmin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We needed a weekend getaway and chose Banff Boundary Lodge because they take big dogs. It's relatively easy to find a hotel in the mountains that takes small dogs and cats but most won't let my 75 lb big baby in the door. BBL does, for a minimal charge.

The two bedroom condo was nice - not brand new, but quite clean, which is what counts for us. There are steps up to the unit and the bedrooms are on the second floor, which was a little problematic for the 75 year old.

The staff was OK - not overly friendly, but I didn't come to hang out with the staff, so that was fine.

Their hot tub is very small, but also very clean.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter. I would have prefered the queen suite (no stairs), but with the numb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

It was a great stay for 5 of us! We stayed at the family 2 bedrooms suite for 2 nights. They have everything you need in the kitchen and dining..and the master bedroom is really big with king size bed, second bedroom also great, plus they have a sofabed at the living area. We even used their bbq pit at the back of the building, and we also enjoyed the sceneric view of Rockies outside our windows.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harvie Heights
2.1 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#12 of 28 in Canmore
577 reviews
8.8 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
2 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 34 in Banff
2,100 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fire Mountain Lodge
Fire Mountain Lodge
#24 of 28 in Canmore
123 reviews
8.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 34 in Banff
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Boundary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Boundary Lodge

Address: 1000 Harvie Heights Rd, Harvie Heights, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2W2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Harvie Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Harvie Heights
Price Range: $93 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Boundary Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Boundary Lodge offers the discerning traveler all the comforts of a private condo suite with the incredible amenities of Canmore and Banff right at the doorstep. Located just metres from the Banff National Park gates and minutes to world-class skiing, golfing, dining, shopping and hiking, Banff Boundary Lodge gives guests unparalleled access to all the activities the Canadian Rocky Mountains have to offer. The lodge features two bedroom, fully stocked, self-catering kitchen suites with gas fireplaces, an on-site conference room, outdoor hot tub and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banff Boundary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Boundary Hotel Harvie Heights
Banff Boundary Canmore
Banff Boundary Lodge Harvie Heights, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing