We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Camping Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rundle Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rundle Cabins
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Camping Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

If you are looking for a fancy place to stay, skip this site there are lots of other places for you. However if you love outdoors and camping as much as i do, you'll enjoy the charm of these rustic and cozy wooden cabins. The area has lots of trees and a spectacular view and part of the charm is how old fashioned and simple the cabin and its decor are. Their linens are all bamboo and extremely comfortable and bath products are organic. we received wonderful service even though we stumbled upon the place in the middle of the night then we loved it so much we stayed another night!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    24
    22
    21
    83
See reviews for
46
65
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
great brak river RSA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Their address were given by our b&b in summer land - okanagan and web ste was well organized. I booked thrre nights through web preselecting cabins that look "remote" in the pine forest. Price was 200 can $ a night as a "special offer" a few days in advance. Sorry I did not check tripadvisor !
While booking voucheri did not confirm cabin number i questionned that but didn't get further details so i did not sign the booking voucher on line.
When arriving on site i discovered a site right on the transcanadian highway, old and packed together chalets, dark grey iutside, dark brown inside, dark green sofas, not opening windows and destroyed mosquitoes mesh, bed tuched in a tiny alcove (please climb over your bedpartner to reach your side), peeled paint dark green shower, "collectable" oven and fridge, three meters from neighbour cabin and next condo parking.
I explained i was expecting a remote and quiet accommodation to relax in pine trees forest flor thrre days - proposed to leave one night deposit as cancellation fee but did not want to be charged for three nights for no avail: policy of .the place is you pay what you book! As there were still vacancies i refused to sign the credit card slip and promised strong complaint and counter advertising.... That am doing now.
I also went immediately to send opposition email to credit card in south africa. Emails, fax and telephones a couple of hours later i was available to find another place.....
Glad that disput,e about payment went positively sorted in 48 hours! My mails to discovery were cc'd to rundle ridge chalets management and card was reversed!
600 Can dollars saved but a very bitter taste!

Room Tip: Do not accept dishonest behaviours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Rooms
Helpful?
5 Thank Pierre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rundle888, Front Office Manager at Rundle Cabins, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to leave your feedback. Sorry the location was unclear when you made your reservation; as for our policy, it is stated when making the reservation. The room description is available on our website. Since your stay we have done renovations to some of our cabins and are continuously upgrading.

Thanks again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Harvie Heights hotels

Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the lower rates at the end of May. The chalet was so lovely. We used the kitchen which had everything, the fireplace and the barbeque. The grounds were really lovely as well. The staff was very helpful and nice. The place was very clean and so comfortable. I loved the mountain air, the clear crisp mornings with the fireplace on. I would definately stay here again and hope I can soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

We only stayed here because we had pets and believe me having pets should not be a problem. The cabin was so outdated and dirty it really should not have mattered. We paid over $100.00 per night and yet when we arrived the ads read $49.00 per night and that is really all it is worth. The bed was only good for one person and not even a double, the pull out was beyond sleepable. The biggest complaint is that is was way overpriced for what they offered and beyond acceptable. Most people staying there are long term and selling it as a resort or get away weekend full price is really not acceptable. Obviously they take advantage of people not knowing how run down it is. The cabins and condos next door are probably the same price and are pretty nice so be careful booking here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie412Edmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rundle888, Front Office Manager at Rundle Cabins, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
The price you saw advertised would have been a walk in rate which is for our basic studio cabins in our low season. The cabins are rustic; however, we have made upgrades to the cabins through the décor. Our apologies if you felt as if you were misinformed. Your feedback is appreciated.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

The initial 2 bedroom we were shown was too small. There were no doors on the bedrooms but only the sliding on tracks. No microwave but requested on and received one the very next day. The fridge was starting to freeze our food, but then later was adjusted by maintenance. We went to ask to see other two bedroom as well the three bedroom. LOVED the three bedroom. Took that for the remainder of our stay. The three bedroom was very pricey in high season but worth the low season - stay a min. seven nights.
I wished I was back there everyday...I would recommend this place to anyone whom love the environment. Except for the ghosts (dressed in mining gear) that appeared to both myself and my best friend - was fantastic!

Room Tip: Expect rustic and not the Fairmount Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

The website advertises that the room is rustic, and it is indeed rustic and uncomfortably so. The hotel owner has been collecting rental revenues on these so-called cabins for over 20+ years and hasn’t made one upgrade since nor have they done adequate repairs – the a kitchen sink clogged every time we ran the tap, a light which did not work in one of the bedrooms, a shower-head which sprayed water everywhere except on your head (so it was impossible to wash your hair), the windows and doors did not close properly so cold air seeped-in, so much so that the very old and noisy heater was on its max the entire time we were there and the room never heated-up enough to remove our jackets. Other problems included the following: the room promised a fireplace but all we got was a bricked-in fireplace and an unsafe fire pit outside (which was effectively a hole in the ground surrounded by a couple of rocks and we could not use it anyways as it was the dead of winter), our room was supposed to sleep 6 – good luck fitting more than 4 people in that cabin, the sofa-bed’s mattress was about 2 inches thick with springs popping out – so very thin and very uncomfortable, the room was supposed to have a microwave – but I was told by the desk-staff that the website was wrong and should have been updated. In sum you will not get what is promised to you on the website. Not worth the price charged and I would never recommend this so-called cabin to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank a1_reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rundle888, Front Office Manager at Rundle Cabins, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
There has been some upgrades to the cabins and we have completely renovated cabins that are available upon request. We apologize for all of the issues with the cabin that inconvenienced your stay. We now have a maintenance person on site that is able to deal with any of the mentioned complaints. All of our cabins with exception to the basic studio cabins, and one of our two bedroom cabins has a fireplace or wood burning stove inside. We hope that you will consider staying with us again to see our new and improved Rundle Ridge Chalets.

Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

We arrived summer 2011. First impressions were golden. Upon seeing that this place was run by young teenagers with no knowledge of what was offered, put us off and our rates changed higher than what we booked. We were told our cabin number but not its location. It would seem an easy feat, but they are so sporatically numbered, we wondered around the site for about a half hour to locate our cabin. Finally arriving and seeing our cabin for the first time we were astounded - it looked nothing like the website we booked from - it was dingy, smelly and the tin showers were worse than what I would consider deemed for a prison cell. We did however enjoy the scenery. The grounds around the cabins were nice. We found on our own that we were actually welcome to use the firepits (wood provided) and bbqs that were complimentary but were not told about it by the staff. This place could have been more enjoyable but needed to comply to the standards warrented by the rates and web expectations. Leaky roofs and several not working appliances and faucets seemed to be normal in several cabins based on what other guests had told us during our stay. And nothing was done to fix the problems or appology/compensation was given by management.
Customer service was definately ignored.

I've seen several reviews on this place and the responses by management and can say that in all my travels around the world...I have not seen as many negative reviews before this. This place would be fine if the rates matched the accommadations...but sadly...they fall very short. They are more fitting to hostel/ backpacker rooms.

Enjoy...if you want to take a chance

Room Tip: Pic expesnsive and recieve average
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bj r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rundle888, Front Office Manager at Rundle Cabins, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
We appreciate your feedback, on behalf of Rundle Ridge Chalets, a sincere apology for the lack of knowledge the staff was able to provide; since then we have hired new mature staff. We have some renovated cabins that you may request upon booking. We hope that should you stay with us again that your experience will be a greater one.

Thank you,

Rundle Ridge Chalets
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harvie Heights
2.4 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
9.6 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn of the Rockies
Inn of the Rockies
#17 of 29 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
2.2 mi away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rundle Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundle Cabins

Property: Rundle Cabins
Address: 1100 Harvie Heights Rd, Harvie Heights, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2W2, Canada (Formerly Rundle Ridge Chalets)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Harvie Heights
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Harvie Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rundle Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rundle Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundle Ridge Chalets Hotel Harvie Heights
Rundle Cabins Harvie Heights, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing