We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wow wow wow...!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp to your Saves list
Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kapellestraat 146, Oostkamp 8020, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oostkamp
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow wow wow...!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

We booked this hotel for a single night as part of a short weekend in Bruges. The reviews and photos looked good, but it still did not prepare me for just how nice this hotel would be!

First let me start with the location. We went by car so we needed somewhere we could park but within easy access to Bruges itself. This hotel was perfect for that. It was easy to find and there was ample parking.

The hotel itself is very well maintained. The entrance and reception area provide a flavour of what is to come. I am not sure how to describe the style (have a look at the photos), maybe modern art deco...? Anyway, this style is carried on through the hotel and into the bedrooms. There is a really luxurious feel about the place.

The reception staff were welcoming and helpful. Everything went very smoothly. We found our room easily. The room itself was fantastic! It is easily the biggest room we have ever stayed in, but also the most comfortable and luxurious (sorry to use that word again but couldn't find a better one...). The bed was enormous, with a really comfortable mattress. The decoration and furnishings all showed the same impeccable taste as the rest of the hotel. The wall-mounted flat panel tv showed english channels including BBC and ITV. The bathroom had a rain shower and bath, and a slate floor, again all finished to the highest standards. We had planned to drop our stuff and head into Bruges for the evening, but we were so enchanted by the hotel, we decided to have dinner there and make the most of our stay (including the comfortable bed..) ;-)

The hotel restaurant was lovely, and the dinner delicious. Prices are probably a little higher than could be found elsewhere, but having said that, it was so nice and the attention to detail so great that it was worth paying a little extra.

When we headed back up to the room, we wanted to turn the heating up a little as it was very cold that night, however the heating wouldn't work. We called reception and they sent someone up straightaway with a convection heater, which did the job nicely. (They would have moved us except there were no free rooms available).

The rain shower in the morning was lovely (with room enough for two). We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as my other half doesn't really do breakfast anyway, so at 16 euros that would have been a bit expensive. That is probably my only gripe, that the breakfast costs so much. Had it been say 10 euros per person we probably would have gone for it. As it was, we headed into Bruges and found a cafe on the Markt square that was buzzing and had a good mix of options (waffles with banana and chocolate for me, and a croque monsieur (toasted sandwich) for him. Yummmm!

To sum up, I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. We got a really good deal price-wise, especially compared to hotels in Bruges itself, and got a lot for our money, so to speak. It's only a shame that we weren't staying longer, but we'd definitely go back again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lien69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    239
    31
    6
    5
See reviews for
93
317
8
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
brussels
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

Very good hotel at 7 km from the center of Bruges. Large rooms with walk-in shower, airco, terrace, flatscreen tv, desk, mini-bar at very reasonable prices (2 EUR for beer or coca), wired internet in room, wireless internet in restaurant and lobby, fitness, jacuzzi, ...
The hotel is situated near the highway from brussels to ostend, which can be noisy in summer with open window, but which give no problem in winter period.
Excellent breakfast buffet with fresh orange juice, fruits, eggs, bacon, pastries, coffee,... at 16 eur.
A tip: if you want to go to bruges, go by car and park your car at the railway station of bruges. The parking fee is very limited (2,5 eur for a whole day) and entitles you of a free bus ticket for all passengers to the city center. (1,5 km from railway station)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

This hotel is sandwiched between a motorway and a busy road but we still found it very pleasant.

It's located around 7km from Brugges and offers plenty of free parking (something not easy found in Brugges). Check-in was straightforward and we found our room very spacey, and nicely decorated with a modern feel.

Service throughout the hotel was very good, with the bar staff in particular being friendly and helpful. We thought the restaurant was a bit pricey but found a few local restaurants nearly which offered much better value.

Only only compliant was that the mattress wasn't in the best condition, it seems to rise in the middle which meant sleep wasn't perfect.

Otherwise for an overnight stay, this is a very good option.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed at the Van Der Valk while visiting Brugge..Ican honestly say that this hotel was maybe the best hotel we have stayed in europe.The bedroom was very large and very plush,the bed was so comfortable that we overslept and missed breakfast.The bathroom had a very nice shower plus a large bath.The other plus note was that we had a balcony so i did't have to go downstairs for a smoke.This hotel is only 10mins from the center of brugge so why pay overpriced hotels in brugge.
.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stace54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Exellent hotel,6 km outside Brugge,near highway...so,you can hear noise.Great restaurant, delicious food and good service.Cosy atmosphere,cosy and clean rooms... wellness space,free internet,price is fair, you need time to get to center of Brugge (the bus stop is around 1 km from hotel) taxi costs 19,50 euro from hotel to Brugge..Oostkamp town,very small town with locals,no tourist.We enjoyed our stay at hotel,and we will recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandradanmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

I think that this hotel is the best choice if you travel by car from Brugge to Brussels or back.
Big good rooms, good breakfast with fresh orange juice strawberry and lots of fresh fruits. Sauna, jacuzzi and fitness room to relax before the trip.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colocolchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

Having driven all day from the east of Germany this looked like the ideal stop over before the Channel tunnel to the UK, just over an hour away and literally just off the main highway.

First impressions were good, clean bright hotel with friendly reception..........room very pleasant with large en suite

Having booked dinner I was looking forward to a steak or something similar.........however the waitress brusquely told us the menu was only in Dutch.....which to the non dutch speaker does not yield many clues as to the content.

I requested one in English.......not possible!......in French?......not possible.........in German perhaps?.............not possible.

We both ended up with an adequate venison steak with minimal vegetables, which frankly left us still hungry.

To find a hotel in a time warp in terms of ability to communicate with the outside world was bizarre..........so I could not recommend to anyone as I don't know anyone Dutch......to them it may be heaven......to me......?.not so!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DuncanEWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oostkamp
9.3 mi away
Hotel De Stokerij
Hotel De Stokerij
#11 of 98 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Weinebrugge
4.6 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
2.7 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#66 of 98 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp
Address: Kapellestraat 146, Oostkamp 8020, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Oostkamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oostkamp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Van der Valk Hotel Brugge - Oostkamp is established in the former Kasteel-Restaurant Cruydenhove at the edge of the beautiful city of Bruges also called the Venice of the North. The city received this name because of its magnificent monumental buildings, the canals and beautiful squares. Besides Bruges, the towns Ghent, Ostend and Knokke are also easily accessible from the hotel. Here you can enjoy the green surroundings or get a breath of fresh sea air at the Belgian Coast. The hotel offers deluxe rooms and suites. The rooms are all equipped with a comfortable bathroom with a bath or shower, toilet and a hair dryer. The rooms also have air conditioning, a refrigerator, free wifi, safe, telephone, television, balcony or terrace and free coffee and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing