We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great hotel, remote location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oostkamp
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great hotel, remote location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is undoubtedly a good hotel. The recently upgraded and enlarged building is wrapped around an older hotel which has largely disappeared. The car park was full of high end saloons. Everything about the hotel is professionally run and the rooms are large, comfortable, and very well equipped ...but the decorators opulence has not given the place any real character.

The positive is that the rooms and the food are excellent...even the orange juice at the very generous breakfast was freshly squeezed before our eyes....but the location is a 20 euro taxi ride out of Bruges and in the middle of nowhere with major roads around.

It is not best suited for a visit to nearby Bruges as there are equally good hotels in that city, but as a stopover ...albeit not cheap...it is excellent.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the meadows at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BudapestDavidandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    267
    35
    7
    5
See reviews for
97
364
12
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is lovely and is reasonably priced for what you get. The food, service, quality of room etc is all very good to say the least, however, it does come at a price, the traffic, you can not get away from it, especially at night. My wife & I like to have windows open while we sleep, even in the winter time, this could not happen here unless you can put up with the noise, they do offer ear plugs free of charge from reception.
The waiters in the restaurant wear gloves while serving dinner and are very helpful and polite. The amount of food and quality you get is brilliant, there was nothing to complain about, a brilliant menu & I am a fussy eater. The breakfasts leave you wanting for nothing, it is help yourself, but they do cook the eggs for you while you wait & to how you want them. The coffee machine made a reasonable coffee as well.Also on offer is parma ham (or similar), smoked salmon, cheeses, ham, cereals, breads, freshly squeezed oranges, you name it, it was there.
Other than the traffic, this write up does carry another warning, check your bill on leaving, I noted a number of people having issues with their bills every time I walked past the reception area, so I was pre-warned, they had sneaked another €14 onto my bill for the mini bar in my room, knowing how much hotels charge for the mini bar, there is no way I would take anything from one, neither would my wife, the bill sounded more than I was expecting, but you not get a hard copy until you have paid by credit card. Therefore, my card was refunded, then charged again at the correct rate. It was not an issue, but how many people fail to notice this ??
If you leave your car in the car park and walk the 15 min walk to the bus stop, however, the instructions printed are slightly wrong, the bus stop number is wrong as is the bus number, it cost €4 for two adults, but buy your tickets for your return from the machine in the bus stop, it only cost €2.60 for the return trip (Sept. 2013), Take a left out of the car park, walk to the roundabout, take 1st left, walk through the industrial estate, although it feels wrong, it seems safe enough, then another roundabout appears, take the right that is the beginning of the small town, Oostkamp, within 50 meters a small newsagent is seen on the right hand side with the bus stop there, a different number to the one printed at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that backs onto the field, that looked like the best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevGSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Do not look any further if you want to stay close to Bruges however looking for a hotel worth it's money and full of style!
The hotel is perfect for a one or two nights stay, literally by the motorway which makes it ideal as a stopover. There are parking spaces right in front of the hotel at no additional cost and public transport will take you into Bruges within 10-15 minutes.
We arrived after midnight on a Wednesday, the bar was still open and along with our drinks came the best complimentary snack selection I have ever had. We then checked in and went to our room. The room as well as the bathroom was very spacious with a rainbow shower and comfy bathtub.
With 16 Euro per person, the breakfast does not come in cheap but is worth ever single penny. As many freshly squezzed orange juices you want, pancakes, cold meates, local specialties and a Chef on standby who made the most delicious omelette.
All in all a great stay in a lovely hotel!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Forced to pay for 2 rms because housekeeping left and they wouldnt roll 3rd bed in rm which should have been allowed in a 3 per max occupancy so dont arrive after 5pm and expect extra bed or public restroom to be clean they only clean in am so had to walk back to guest room to use toilet from lobby bar. Dont expect drink to be served until you have asked three times and be prepared to tell bartender how to make screwdriver. Worst service in Europe. Desk help assured me after showing her my booking screen for travelocity that I could stay in one of
the 2 rms we were already in so my elder mother wouldnt be inconvenienced I showed her 3 x after booking it she said no you must pack it all and move to third
rm or pay more. Then told me you should have booked through front desk instead. Great spa gorgeous property free computers in lobby with wi fi nice
showers and nice soaps etc. Great location 4 miles to Bruges. Dont expect any
compassion or warm service go to Netherlands for that.

Room Tip: If you want to lounge in lobby get room close because public restroom isnt cleaned often
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederic w W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here one night. It was our fifth wedding anniversary. Ordered room service. Kids had toasters and we had a steak.it took three and a half hours for the food to be all served together. The restraunt manager didn't care that it was wrong. Waited for the manager to complain in the morning and when I told him how bad it had been he didn't care. I refused to pay. Two days later my card was charged. This hotel take payment without authorisation, be careful. I am now contacting my credit card company to stop this payment. Have tried to contact the hotel but they won't answer my emails. I will now contact solicitor as this hotel will steal your money instead of offering you a happy nights stay. BE CAREFUL, THIS HOTEL TAKE PAYMENT WITHOUT THE PROPER AUTHORISATION ! if you want to contact me its dougbt@btinternet.com but you know this already!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights on the way home from Germany. A great location for visiting Bruges, and other great places. An easy 10 minute drive into Bruges. The hotel was clean and chic-ly furnished. Having the motorway so close was the only downside, but didn't really hear when inside the hotel. It didn't negatively affect our stay at all. It was actually really handy for sightseeing. The bar area was lovely and the snacks good. Can't comment in the restaurant as didn't eat there, but breakfast offered a wide range of choice. The room was a good size and well equipped... kettle, tea, coffee (not always the norm in hotels in Europe), an iron and ironing board, a big modern bathroom with both bath and walk in shower, a TV with a couple of UK channels, minibar. The bed was huge and comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Free easy carparking on hotel premises. We'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you're sensitive to noise, request a room away from the motorway. I made a request when booki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Just_G123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on last leg of European Tour with the family and had a fab time.
10 mins drive to central Bruge where I suggest you park at the train station for €3.5 all day.
The hotel bar was excellent, staff very friendly and well priced not your usual 4* expense...
Rooms kept very clean, playstation for the kids, BBC Telly and a large bathroom., oh and nice selection of coffee and tea in the room.
Overall great value.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oostkamp
9.3 mi away
Hotel De Stokerij
Hotel De Stokerij
#21 of 98 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
4.6 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Weinebrugge
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
4.4 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#22 of 98 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp
Address: Kapellestraat 146, Oostkamp 8020, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Oostkamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oostkamp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Van der Valk Hotel Brugge - Oostkamp is established in the former Kasteel-Restaurant Cruydenhove at the edge of the beautiful city of Bruges also called the Venice of the North. The city received this name because of its magnificent monumental buildings, the canals and beautiful squares. Besides Bruges, the towns Ghent, Ostend and Knokke are also easily accessible from the hotel. Here you can enjoy the green surroundings or get a breath of fresh sea air at the Belgian Coast. The hotel offers deluxe rooms and suites. The rooms are all equipped with a comfortable bathroom with a bath or shower, toilet and a hair dryer. The rooms also have air conditioning, a refrigerator, free wifi, safe, telephone, television, balcony or terrace and free coffee and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing