We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel & Aparthotel Horizon Ath-Lessines
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Koekamer(Hainaut Province)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Utopia Hotel(Masnuy-Saint-Jean)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradiso(Stambruges)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveler rating
69
107
46
16
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
107
46
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsovernight stopan industrial estatepairi daizasaladone night stopovergood sizecoach tourhotel is locatedfree wifiburgersomething for everyoneen routeovernight hotelbuffet breakfastthird floortoasthot food
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 246 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2014

As the title suggests this hotel didn't meet my expectations at all. The place is modern and looks like a new prison block from outside. On arrival the reception doesn't look too bad but there was only one person on reception for a party of 50. We were allocated a room on the second floor, which as we'd let the hotel know of my partners mobility problems I was surprised about. On entering the room we found a number of issues, the table has cup and glass rings on it, the bathroom had a broken tile with a sharp edge and grouting falling out of the tiles, there were no spare pillows or blankets in the room. In addition we had an over bath shower. We raised the issue with hotel, the person on reception had no authority to deal with our complaint and it was only when we raised the issue with the tour leader something was anything done. We were moved to a larger room with disabled facilities. You'd think that would be problem solved, oh no the bathroom stank of mould and unclean drains. As this was a one nighter I decided to do no more.

The group dinner consisted of vegetable soup, not bad, chicken in mushroom sauce, could do better and finally what the chef called Brazilian Tart, which was quite good.

The site is in the middle of no where so there is absolutely nothing to do unless you have a car, which we didn't. There is a bar area but not particularly well stocked. The big issue on this Saturday night was simply a total lack of adequate staff numbers. The site is probably aimed at business people looking for a night, a good meal and a beer or two before retiring to check E mails etc. I really hope I never have to do business in this area and get stuck in this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank RAW1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDeWeerdt, Propriétaire at Hotel & Aparthotel Horizon Ath-Lessines, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear Sir,
first of all, I want to thank you to have given your feedback.
Positive or negative, those feedbacks help us to improve our services.
Of course, I am very sorry to read that our services have not satisfy you, in contradiction to what is said in the last reviews on this website.
Therefore, I would like first of all to apologize. Quality of service is for us very important and we try to satisfy all of our 25 000 customers every year.
I would also like to give you some explanations.
First of all, we didn't know that you had mobility problems. If this is not specified on the reservation, it is difficult for the receptionist to know.
We also didn't know that a tile was broken in one of our rooms, probably a mistake in the information of one of our housekeeping. As you didn't speak about it during your stay, we will check this asap.
About extra pillows and blankets, it is notified in our directory that you can call the reception to get some more free at any time of the day and night and it would have been delivered in your room.
About the disabled room and it smell, we have to say that this room is less used than the other and the floor drain must have dried out. This shouldn't happen but as we only took over this hotel some months ago, we didn't manage to solve all little teething problems.
The food seems to have satisfied you, as to the rest of the group, as we didn't get any remarks during the evening and even the congratulation of your driver.
The hotel is indeed situated in a quiet area and is new, so the trees around are not big yet; what makes the area for the moment rather open.
We welcome a lot of groups every year and we never received a complain about less or bad staff.
However, I would really want to apologize again that we didn't meet your standards and I promise to work with my staff to continue to improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This hotel set near an industrial estate did not look very promising at first glance.
When inside it was very comfortable and relaxing, just what we wanted after a long journey.
Our room was very good and well appointed with comfortable beds. The evening meal was very good. The breakfast was plentiful and wholesome, lots of choice and very fresh.
The only staff we had contact with was a barman who was efficient.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDeWeerdt, Propriétaire at Hotel & Aparthotel Horizon Ath-Lessines, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Sir
I want to thank you for your review.
It helps us a lot to improve our servcies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I read the reviews before we travelled and most of them were spot on.
Hardly enough staff, all pleasant, but no languges and totally inadequate. In the evening at the bar they had to man this and reception and only appeared to have money/change at reception.
So every drink was delayed and queues formed.
Waited 24 hrs forthe hot water to be restored to the basin in our bedroom.
Colleagues bedroom was completely missed out by maid service so was left uncleaned with bed unmade.
As for the restaurant don't even go there. Inedible, inadequate and slowly so slowly served. At breakfast only one waitress amongst approximately 50 + guests.
Entire hotel run on a shoestring and it showed.

Room Tip: Its placed between a motorway and a service road to an industrial estate so traffic noise was constant which I think would be the case wherever your room was
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDeWeerdt, Propriétaire at Hotel & Aparthotel Horizon Ath-Lessines, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear madam,
we thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor.
We have taken over the BEST WESTERN Hotel Horizon some months ago and it is unfortunately always difficult to restore the quality and the confidence quickly.
I think and the good reviews since prove it, that we have improved since your stay in october 2013 quiet a lot.
Please accept again my apologies not to have been able to meet your expectations.
I hope that we will be able to proof it if you stay over in our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 3e verdiep mooi uitzicht
  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews