We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit expensive for what you get”

Ishka Restaurant at The Breakwater
Ranked #10 of 58 Restaurants in Hillarys
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
287 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A bit expensive for what you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have tried Ishka twice but are not great fans. The food is quite expensive for what you get and the "boom, boom" music from the pub below floats upstairs to the restaurant as it is very open plan. It makes it difficult to hold a conversation with whoever you are with! We feel that there are nicer restaurants to patronise at Hillarys Boat Harbour than this one. For those looking for a romantic venue, this is not it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WelshMaiden_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    76
    48
    11
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Atmosphere but average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We took a business guest to Ishka on a Friday night at 7pm mainly for the location and view. Found the service excellent but the steak rather tough. When we ordered we were told it comes as rare to medium but all three steaks were overcooked. Desserts faultless and
dessert taster platter delicious. Excellent service - not over attentive. Noise factor wasn't too bad. In fact, it didn't have the silence that some restaurants have and found it added to the atmosphere. Had we have had more time, we would have gone downstairs for drinks after our meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ishka overpriced and undersized”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Whilst the quality of the food was reasonable, the portion size in comparison to the price was not good. My beetroot risotto was tasty, but the size of an entree for a main course price. This is 'marketed' as an upmarket restaurant, and yet it felt similar to a big refectory cum dining hall with dimmed lighting. It is extremely noisy on a Saturday evening, as the downstairs bar area and the restaurant are not separated adequately, and all the noise from downstairs comes up into the restaurant. I would hate to have been a couple trying to have a romantic dinner in an attractive restaurant with ambience.
The service was good, but not 'organised'. We were asked by at least 3 different wait staff if we would like to order drinks. When we declined the first two, we waited a good 20 minutes before someone came back to take our order for food. Paying these prices, we would have expected to have the attention of one wait person for the duration.
The taster dessert was very overpriced at $22 for what we received. Although most of the items were tasty, again they were not worth $22.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deansuebrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Too Noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We fail to find any problem with the food or table service, it is excellent.
Considering this is a classy restaurant and the prices reflect the quality of the food, this place is far too noisy for fine dining. The noise & loud music from the bar downstairs spoils the ambiance severely. Do not know if I will go back? INSULATE

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trevor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
157 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Food service and decor excellent,Waiter very attentive but not hovering,four of us dinning all had no complaints meal a good size portion.Drinks a reasonable price considering where we were.
Only complaint the restaurant was above the Breakwater bar area and open plan,so a lot of noise from music downstairs made conversation difficult.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tedqueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ishka Restaurant at The Breakwater also viewed

Hillarys, Joondalup
 
Sorrento, Joondalup
 
Hillarys, Joondalup
Hillarys, Joondalup
 

Been to Ishka Restaurant at The Breakwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing