We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a wedding.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hillarys Harbour Resort Apartments
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hillarys
Broome, Australia
1 review
“Great location for a wedding.”
Reviewed November 17, 2010

We stayed at the Hillarys Resort as we had been invited to a wedding at the Yatch club near by.

Have not been to the resort before but was very impressed with the location. The views from our balcony were spectatular and our room had recently been refurbished, with a new kitchen and new linen plus it had been freshly painted...the room had a very modern seaside feeling to it.

The bed was very comfortable and we had it serviced daily by the fabulous room attendants who were all very smiley and happy.


Our friends that came to the wedding with us were equally happy impressed. The pool area was a relaxing way to spend the afternoon before getting ready for the wedding.

All in all we had a wonderful 4 days of relaxing and I must say that the manager was a delightful man who went out of his way to help us with all enquiries.

We are looking for a family friendly place for the x mas holidays and feel this would be a great location to take our teenage kids...as there is plenty for them to do.

Hope this is helpful!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    70
    34
    12
    2
See reviews for
69
61
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

My family stayed here recently while attending a wedding, having travelled from the other side of the globe.
The resort itsself was ok with a swimming pool, sauna & jaccuzi. It was however very quiet on weekdays, probably due to time of year.
We had booked our apartment through a private owner and unbeknown to us you can not access the reception for anything at all.
My aunt and I made the mistake of going to the reception area one day to ask for a local bus time table & the charming manager was unfortunately present.
Once he found out that we were in a private apartment he basically verbally attacked us, both of us were taken aback in disgust !! He told us we contributed nothing to the resort at all (but I am pretty sure the private owner would be contributing in some form of annual fee arrangement ).
Unfortunately 2 of his poor staff had to witness the dressing down we received for basically asking for some public transport advice.
This message is basically here to warn travellers that if you do book these apartments privately steer clear of reception area and the manager who has no people skills whatsoever.
You are not even allowed to pay to use their internet access which proved difficult seeing as there is nowhere else in the harbour resort you can do this.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulBu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillarysresort, Manager at Hillarys Harbour Resort Apartments, responded to this review, November 16, 2010
Manager's Response - "nasty piece of work"
Dear Sir
Please be advised that Hillarys Harbour Resort is a 4.5 star property that welcomes guests to our resort from all over the world.

Unfortunately you, your family or another person whom booked your accommodation made a decision to stay in a residential apartment that is not affiliated with our resort business.

On the day in question myself and my staff felt you wanted to book our guest "free shuttle" service to Whitfords shopping centre, however it was unfortunate that we couldn't explain our policy, that we do not transfer non-paying guests.

In the future we do hope you return to Hillarys it is a fantastic location. Please book our wonderful accommodation direct and I would be delighted to welcome you personally and offer you all our services.

Yours sincerely
Rolf Chorley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2010

Great location,had the best view from balcony on 2nd floor.So much for the kids to do,beach,great escape is so much fun for teenage kids.Had heaps of fun around the pool,great BBQ area.Very friendly staff and lovely clean rooms. stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms,could not have been happier.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

We booked in here for a birthday treat. It is a very good location - the shops are just a pleasant stroll away, with a lovely choice of restaurants and places to eat breakfast, lunch and dinner. I love the quay- there is a lovely strip of beach on the other side, perfect for kids to splash in with ample shade. It is very close to AQWA and The Great Escape. There is even a major shopping centre within a short drive if you forget anything! I really liked the fact that the apartments are securely enclosed with each resident having a pass key.

The downside is the price of the apartments which raises expectations which are just not met. The apartment we had was as shown in the website photos but in reality it was basic and showing signs of age with chipped laminate, tiles etc. It also had a really musty smell which was unpleasant. We could have complained and probably would have got moved to another room, but we just wanted to get on and enjoy our break, rather than repack and unpack. My thought was that the staff would have smelled it when cleaning (you couldnt fail to notice it), yet nothing had been done about it. We didn't request a room with a view because the website showed photos of the harbour and the pool, so naively we thought this was what we were likely to get. Instead we got a ground floor apartment with a view of the walkway at front and carpark at the back. The website photos of the pool are taken showing the gazebo area which is actually above the pool and the pool area itself if a bit stark. The beach was a lot nicer.

In the usual packing up mayhem, my husband left a key in the desk drawer (the only place we didnt check!). He rang up as soon as he realised, only to be informed it would cost $30 to post it out to him. I can understand the cost of a local stamp and a envelope but this was a bit much - not that we had a choice as it was deducted automatically from our credit card. It wasn't as if anyone had to search hard for the key as we knew exactly where it was, and they had to clean the room anyway! No marks for customer service here!

I am sure there is better value to be had in the area and would not stop here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asufindit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2010

The general advertising and reputation of Hillary's is of a fine, exclusive beachside resort. In reality, it is more of a classy motel with relatively easy access to water. Our unit had no views but was suitably clean.

The service was perfunctory but adequate and the rooms were ok. Food was an experience.

It was the price which really killed the experience for us, however

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestCoastBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2010

No way 4.5 stars, maybe 3.5.
But Nice staff, great location - can stroll to beach, shops, restaurants, takeaway etc.
Views seem limited or absent. Advertising may be a bit misleading - anything relating to views or 4.5 stars should be questioned.
Room facilities/quality whilst nice and clean are not 4.5 star. Pool is small and uninviting. You might get better view on 2nd or 3rd floor of some rooms. I think the harbour facing rooms (which i had hoped for) are privately owned and not available - although several photos suggest otherwise.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2007

Great location with Hillarys Harbour directly next door, lots of cafes, shops, eateries. We stayed in a 3-bedroom apartment which was lovely. The only drawback was that maintenance to the units is a bit slack, if they don't look after them, in a few years they will be very run down. Great pool, spa and sauna.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hillarys
4.8 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
4.8 mi away
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#4 of 6 in Scarborough
291 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ocean View Motel
Ocean View Motel
#1 of 1 in North Beach
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
The Marina Hotel
The Marina Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mindarie
144 reviews
5.0 mi away
Indian Ocean Hotel
Indian Ocean Hotel
#3 of 6 in Scarborough
201 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Richardson Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillarys Harbour Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillarys Harbour Resort Apartments

Property: Hillarys Harbour Resort Apartments
Address: Hillarys Harbour Resort 68 Southside Dr | Hillarys Boat Harbour, Hillarys, Joondalup, Western Australia 6025, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Joondalup > Hillarys
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hillarys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillarys Harbour Resort Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1,2 and 3 bedroom fully self contained apartments.The 2 and 3 bedroom apartments have two ensuites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hillarys Harbour Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillarys Harbour Resort Apartments Hotel Hillarys
Hillarys Harbour Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing