We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“UNIMPRESSIVE” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aquarium of Western Australia - AQWA

Aquarium of Western Australia - AQWA
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.54*
and up
Whale-Watching Cruise and Hillarys Boat Harbour Day Trip from Perth
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Hillarys
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Observe animals, such as the leafy sea dragon, unique to Western Australia's rich sea world.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“UNIMPRESSIVE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

I came here looking forward to a good day out with the family.. and for the price we had to pay i was sure it was going to be great inside... little did i know
You go round on a convaour belt to see the tanks inside which has a variety of marian life. outside is ok. its too small and over and hall ways are tiny.
Staff are nice. cant doubt them. but unless they are going to make changes then they need to consider the price.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank foreman211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    218
    100
    28
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“small and unimpressive.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

In saying that this is unimpressive, i do need to state that i remember when this used to have dolphins and so much more space it seemed. The narrowness of the hallways leads to so much congestion there was lines to see tanks the size of a tv screen. Not a great use of the space they have and causes many to have to wait just to see a display. The staff were friendly but were rarely around if you had a question.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 85Christie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Underwater tank with revolving floor and petting pool were probably the best parts of the aquarium. a reasonable day out for the family

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank fluffyfluffikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“AQWA - find out about the underwater world of WA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Aquarium of Western Australia (AQWA) is a must for all visitors to Perth. The exhibits are modern and very well stocked and cared for. All exhibits are interesting, but the understated leafy dragons have got to be my favourite! The walk-through tunnel is impressive, one of the largest I believe. Sharks, rays... Nice little touch pool for the kids and not so kids always a favourite. Food's surprisingly good and reasonably priced for Perth. Alternatively, go to the nearby Hillary's harbour restaurant area for a wider choice. If you plan multiple visits, they have a special card - visit three times, fourth visit free.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DATbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“What a great place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Went to the perth aquarium for a look it was really good the way everything was set up it was very impressive great for kids and adults. The huge underwater tunnel was worth going just on its own would recommend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy198200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquarium of Western Australia - AQWA also viewed

 

Been to Aquarium of Western Australia - AQWA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing