We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!”
Review of Hippo Creek African Grill - CLOSED

Hippo Creek African Grill
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Had supper with friends, great ambience, they were very busy and we kept informed all evening and the staff apologised and gave us drinks to keep us going until our meals arrived. The ribs are to die for! Great challenge!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    127
    61
    43
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Really lovely restaurant...food is delicious, views are amazing! On the pricey side but you get what you pay for and it's worth the money! Try the game platter for starters, tasty!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peache5ncream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Regular”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I am a regular at Hippo Creek! Some times the service at the Hillary's restaurant can be a bit average, however the service at Subiaco and the food are excellent! My partner and I are big meat eaters and they never disappoint!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank erinwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Steak in Perth to date”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

All in the heading :) Food was great, service a bit slow but was happy to soak in the atmosphere at Hillarys.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MikeNix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Ripped off and very bad customer service”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We just returned from a lunch and was very disappointed with the service.
We were placed outside and were then forgotten. We had to approach the staff several times to have our orders take.
The maître d' did not smile once or make us feel welcomed.
My brother ordered a sirloin steak 300grams for $36 and said while eating we should try another steakhouse that he goes to as this was not that interesting.
Then I got the bill they charged us $61 for the sirloin waghu. The maître d' was curt and dismissive. He said he took the order and my brother pointed at the $61 and he ate this so the bill stands. He offered no solutions or compromise so we paid and left with a very bad taste in our mouth. (Which could have also been my prawns).
I suggest you go to another restaurant or ask the waiter to repeat the order and the amounts they are charging.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ATahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hippo Creek African Grill also viewed

 
Hillarys, Joondalup
Hillarys, Joondalup
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing