We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location perfect, accommodation average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flinders Chase
Canberra
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Location perfect, accommodation average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

KI Wilderness Retreat is the perfect base from which to explore the remote western end of the island although pretty expensive for what you get. Courtyard suites are generous in size and have a small deck overlooking a courtyard with native vegetation and if you're lucky, wildlife. The rooms themselves are quite dark and the furnishings are tired. Staff are friendly and helpful although very busy. The restaurant is pleasant and food good but not great.

If you want to stay at the West End for more than just a couple of night a self catering option like Hanson Bay Beach Cabins or the Lighthouse cottages would be a good alternative.

Room Tip: If you want to access wifi from your room ask for no 1 or 2 as they are near reception. For more pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZephyrCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    211
    105
    36
    22
See reviews for
79
318
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is a tricky one to review. I really want to give it a higher rating, but just can't.

The location is fantastic, but lots of little things let them down. We stayed for 5 nights in January 2014 and booked a year in advance to get a cheaper rate. We booked a courtyard suite but on our arrival found we had been upgraded to the bath suite and we were shown to our room by an incredibly friendly woman (who we didn't see again, shame). The room was in a dark corner and we were quite concerned as walked up to it! Luckily when the door was opened we were led into a huge room! A large bed, small sofa and chairs for a seating area with tv, and a private terrace out the back. All the courtyard suites had their terrace out the front which felt quite communal so having your own private space was lovely. The bathroom was massive. Double sinks, shower and the largest bath I have ever seen. On first impressions the room was fantastic, however when you came to use it they didn't seem to have entirely thought it through as there wasn't much storage space. Even in the huge bathroom we had to leave our washbags on the floor.

We had a wardrobe, but no drawers or anywhere to put our suitcases. Although most people only seem to stay for a long weekend, we were on a month long trip so had a lot of luggage. The lighting was quite poor so it was rather dark most of the time and we didn't use our lovely little terrace as it was incredibly dirty. We had hoped it would be cleaned during out stay, but layers of dust on the tables and chairs said otherwise. Unfortunately, reception closed at 7pm so by the time we returned from a day out there was no one around. We also felt that the choice of bath wasn't right for the accomoodation. With posters telling you to save water, installing a bath that took over an hour to fill just seemed crazy! It was also full of gunk when you operated the jets. We only used it once as felt far too guilty wasting so much water. They could easily have installed a regular free standing bath for the luxury feel, but without so much water wastage! Which would also have been a lot easier to clean!

The room includes a small fridge. We stocked up on supplies in Kingscote before making our way to the hotel and filled our fridge quite easily. The following morning we asked at reception if it was possible to get a couple of small plates and a knife in our room as making sandwiches was quite difficult with only a teaspoon! We were told that food wasn't allowed in the room! I questioned why they let you have a fridge, but just got a shrug and no real reply.

The restaurant seemed rather mixed and we only ate their twice during our stay. The first time, wasn't a good experience. We booked a table at reception for 8pm, but when we arrived they knew nothing about it. They squeezed us in but were incredibly busy. The food was below average and not very good at all. The poor waiting guy was rushed off his feet, so understaffed. A couple of days later we reluctantly returned and had an entirely different experience. Our reservation was written down this time, the food was lovely, and it was nowhere near as busy. We left utterly stuffed and satisfied! It was like a completely different place. Just to add, we saw many a couple ask to take their deserts or cheese and biscuits back to their room, and were allowed. I don't know where this 'no food in the room' policy came from. Utter rubbish!

We ate breakfast at the National Park. I highly recommend you take the 10 mins drive and have breakfast there as it was lovely! (and cheaper!)

This hotel isn't luxurious, and nor did we expect it to be. It's near a beautiful national park and offers eco rooms, it is what you would expect it to be. I just wished it were cleaner, and the reception staff a little more organised. This place could of been lovely with a few small tweaks. Such a shame. I really wanted to give this a 4 star, but didn't feel it was quite there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneXF80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

I booked this room a few months in advance and payed nearly double what I should have.Don't book in advance unless you really need to. When I phoned to cancel I was told all my money would be kept if I cancelled so we felt we had to go. The room certainly needs updating, old syle tv with no ABC and you can't see the whole screen and internet did not work.No hot water for shower in courtyard suite and apparently had been gone for a few weeks according to receptionist and tourist info but we were not warned. Luckily some locals told us to buy food before we got there so we did not have to eat there. The plug in the sink did not work. Says there were magazines in the foyer but we couldn't find any. Very disappointing experience when everything else we did on KI was superb.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

This trip is well worth doing as you see so much and learn so much ,we did the one day trip but thanks to Len the coach driver he did all the sights you would see in two days and was a brilliant tour guide with so much knowledge ,he made the trip with his storys and whit !!

Room Tip: As we did the one day trip we cannot advise .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

This isn't the flashiest place in the world, but not is it poor quality. Given how remote you are it has everything you need. The restaurant is good quality as is the breakfast. A little freshening up would make you feel more like you were in a quality resort, but that's about it. Also, you'll love the visiting wallabies in the evening :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Craigsoota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

What a pleasure it is to arrive here after a long day in sunny and hot Flinders Chase NP. I stayed in the eco-lodge, which was comfortable and clean. Everybody did the utmost to make guests feel happy, great job. The on site restaurant serves fine food, cold beers. There's also free wifi. The retreat is as good as in the national park, with a lot of wildlife around.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank JosvanderMeche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
419 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

This is a very good accomodation choice for Kangaroo Island, it's not Sydney, don't expect it to be.
The rooms are ok, clean, tidy, well equipped. I had an issue with the cleanliness of the shower on arrival which was addressed straight away. The lodge reception area has books, wifi, DVDs to borrow, comfy sofas, a limited selection of beers, wines, snacks etc. That's some going for KI.
The restaurant meals at night were tasty, hot, served by friendly and enthusiastic staff, we were impressed.
Breakfast was great, a selection of cheese, ham, eggs, fresh & tinned fruit, yogurt, cereals, pastries, toasts, juices, tea & coffee - what more do you need for breky?
The plus for us was the presence of birds and wildlife and the chance to swap information on where to find birds with similarly interested people.
A great place to stay for the money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flinders Chase
52.1 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
56.9 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
66.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
75.2 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hanson Bay Wildlife Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat

Property: Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Address: Lot 1 South Coast Road, Flinders Chase, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Flinders Chase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flinders Chase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated adjacent Flinders Chase National Park a unique mix of eco-friendly facilities, local food and wine and located in the middle of the forrest provide an unforgettable wilderness experience. The idyllic location provides the perfect base for discovering the splendor of Kangaroo Island's natural wonders before returning to the tranquillity of the retreat to enjoy comfortable accommodation in the company of friendly native animals and an amazing array of birdlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat Hotel Flinders Chase
Hotel Kangaroo Island
Wilderness Retreat Kangaroo Island
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat Flinders Chase

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing