We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location- good simple, reasonably priced but not more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flinders Chase
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent location- good simple, reasonably priced but not more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Excellent base for seeing Kangaroo Island. Not much else in the area except for an outrageously expensive resort South Ocean Lodge. The setting is superb near Flinders National Park and Hanson Bay Wildlife Sanctuary with a superb night tour and opportunities to see koalas and a kangaroo that jumped over my car right in front of me driving on the island. But this lodge has very simple accommodations and mediocre food. The problem is they advertise they have gourmet food. They do not. Breakfast was very simple and not cheap with nothing else close. Dinner was drowning in sauce without asking and kangaroo was never on the menu since they were out our entire stay. They also directed us to Paul's Place sanctuary on a day they were closed. So you need to know what to expect

Room Tip: At least the rooms at the lower categories is very basic. It was freezing until we got help with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robw17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    213
    106
    37
    22
See reviews for
79
321
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Not bad , for what it's worth we enjoyed our stay a nice quant place to stay
After travelling Queensland in past years on the islands this place is something else with plenty of options of things to do and so much diversity on the island.
All the staff here were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank further65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
134 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed in a family room in the Eco lodge and no complaints about the quality of the room. With a king bed and two bunk beds in the bedroom, reasonable sized sitting area, and small kitchen it worked well for us. The bathroom needs some rethinking - the water from the shower stall travels all over the bathroom making it a very wet experience! You might want to lower the floor in the stall a tad when you redo the rooms. The service at the retreat is best described as dour with monosyllabic responses to questions and nary a smile. The promised wildlife was MIA while we were there but Kangaroo Island is full of birds and animals so that's not a big deal. The restaurant was nowhere up to its reviews below - I could have done a better job with the exact same ingredients and I'm no chef! And a good restaurant should always have a good 'by the glass' selection - this one didn't.

But this is about the best place to stay in all of KI because - location! location! location! For a two day visit to KI, this is the perfect spot. We flew into KI (the ferry was not running), drove to the retreat with a detour to amble on the beach with the Aussie Sea Lions (very nice - don't miss it!). Relaxed in the evening. Got to the national park early the next morning and filled the entire day with some hiking while kangaroo, wallaby and bird watching - once again the Platypus refused to oblige :(. Got blown away by the winds at the Arch in the afternoon (spectacular!). Back to the retreat late for dinner (so-so) and R&R. Late breakfast (with extremely desultory service - when you have to ask three times for the coffee pot to be filled, you know you're in trouble!) and a drive back to the airport with a stop at the bird place (perfect with kids) and lunch at Kingscote before flying back to Adelaide. Can't beat the location! If the owners took the trouble to focus on the details a bit this would be a wonderful place. In the meantime, stay here for the location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingLama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We recently stayed at KWIR as it is abbreviated by the locals. Our room had been fully renovated and was very comfortable. The rooms are well equipped for being in a remote area, beds comfortable. This is not a luxury hotel, and we didn't expect it to be. Unfortunately rainy weather kept us from seeing the reported wallabies - they were hiding from the rain! Note that August is the middle of winter down under! Nevertheless, this is a great location for exploring the Flinders Chase area. We found the staff friendly and helpful. Didn't have breakfast there due to the reported cost and negative comments from others. The recommendation to go to the nearby Koala Walk for breakfast was misleading - all they had was cold muffins and coffee. Dinner at the resort was fine; by necessity they have a limited menu but everything we tried was good, though service was on the slow side. The Flinders Chase visitors center is a good alternative for breakfast and lunch. Plan on two days to see the main sights on this end of the island. Also, be aware that the are only two paved highways on the island - the other dirt roads get pretty muddy and slippery in rain. We were glad to have an all-wheel drive Toyota especially when we had to ford water running across one of the main highways during a rainstorm - a word to the wise!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTAnewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I wasn't expecting much, given the Trip Advisor reviews I'd seen before booking, but was pleasantly surprised. Each room is clean and reasonably comfortable and has a small porch in front (but it was too cold and rainy to use it during our stay in May). There wasn't much other common space for people from different rooms to mingle. Having stayed at national parks in the US, I wasn't expecting more than just edible food, but was surprised that the food at this wilderness retreat was actually good. For a 1-3 night stay in a place where the emphasis is on nature, not accommodations, this is a perfectly good choice. The location on the western end of the island near the national park is ideal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaReston_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed at the Retreat for a couple of nights in late July. Given the mixed TripAdvisor reviews, I didn’t know what to expect. But was pleasantly surprised. The Retreat offers clean & comfortable accommodation at the western end of the island – ideal as a base for 2-3 nights for exploring the national park, especially if you like photography ie. sunsets in the park can be stunning. The staff were friendly, the food good and the rooms were fine – they seemed to be upgrading the rooms while I was there.

Room Tip: The Lodge rooms offer basic, but clean accommodation. The Courtyard rooms are nicer and better appo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AhBeng88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
409 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our friends who live in Adelaide booked this as a treat for our visit to Kangaroo Island. The rooms were OK, but everything else was a big let down. We went for the wilderness walk, and came across what looked like the remains of a party with old beer and wine bottles and rubbish strewn everywhere. There was also a broken bottle in the car park. This is very unusual for Australia as everywhere else was so clean. It was cold when we were there, and after dinner the four of us would have liked to sit and play some board games or chat. However, the lovely warm lounge shuts at 7 so we had to sit on beds in our room. The food may have been nice, but it was totally coated in salt and virtually stone cold. I had to wipe the chips on my serviette to get the salt off. We had to send the food back to get it heated. I have never tasted such salty food, it made it inedible. We never saw any wildlife there, though that was not their fault! When we complained to the receptionist about the food and the rubbish she was very polite, and said the party debris was from a staff party, and that she too had complained about the salt. It is a nice setting and could be OK if it was properly run.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flinders Chase
52.1 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
56.8 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
66.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
75.2 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
51.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat

Property: Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Address: Lot 1 South Coast Road, Flinders Chase, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Flinders Chase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flinders Chase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated adjacent Flinders Chase National Park a unique mix of eco-friendly facilities, local food and wine and located in the middle of the forrest provide an unforgettable wilderness experience. The idyllic location provides the perfect base for discovering the splendor of Kangaroo Island's natural wonders before returning to the tranquillity of the retreat to enjoy comfortable accommodation in the company of friendly native animals and an amazing array of birdlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat Hotel Flinders Chase
Hotel Kangaroo Island
Wilderness Retreat Kangaroo Island
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat Flinders Chase

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing