We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Nature”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flinders Chase
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Close to Nature”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat is a perfect base to explore the Western End of Kangaroo Island, especially the Flinders Chase National Park, where "Remarkable Rocks and Admirals Arch" are easily accessible. The Flinders Chase visitors centre is a must! It is a great place to start from, they have a great cafe and gift shop as well as a wonderful interpretive area. The Parks staff were friendly and very helpful, providing expert advice on where and what to do in the National Park.

Located 2km from the visitors centre, the retreat itself is tastefully located amongst a spectacular bushland setting with an abundance of native bird and wildlife on your doorstep.

The Staff are incredibly friendly and offer great service and given the geographical location of the retreat , the restaurant is simply fantastic. The retreat utilises much of the islands produce and products in its kitchen and only serves locally produced wines (which are lovely).

The rooms are somewhat dated however they are neat, clean and tidy and very comfortable. Overall i found the Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat to be the perfect stay in a perfect location. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcol1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    218
    106
    37
    22
See reviews for
80
329
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

we booked i here for a well earned break assuming from the advertisement that we had a private courtyard where we could relax in ambient surroundings. Not so... It is a small veranda which opens onto the walk way and is opposite the restaurant. Very public. The rooms are long and dark and not for spending much time in, bathroom was average. This was a very disappointing and expensive stay. When we challenged them on the false advertising they said..'oh yeh other people have said that'... as we had booked via the internet we could not get our money back. Wonderful location by the national parks but not ok.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paula c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I'm not a big fan of showers without a separator from the rest of the bathroom, i.e. the room had a shower curtain around the area to shower, but as the water comes out pretty hard (even turned on soft) and gets a good part of the bathroom floor wet. It's all tile, so no worry, but you will need to push the excess water back into the drain in the show area.

The rest: room, hallway, walkways, etc. all fine for this class/price of hotel.

The real surprise was the quality of the restaurant! LOVED the cuisine there and the wines offered for the prices. There's not much choice for food, unless you bring your own, BUT I recommend eating at least once at the restaurant.

And maybe the "pet" opossum will pay a visit. DON'T FEED him. Still watch him scrounge around and anger the waiters. <snicker>

Room Tip: We had one in the large structure behind the restaurant. It was fine. All rooms are quiet here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuroAmiCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Lovable resort in a wonderful place, few minutes from the Flinder Chase Park and the Koala Walk. The staff, friendly and helpful, gave us a lot of useful information and the resident wallabies stole our hearts. The restaurant is good, just a bit costly (but one should consider how distant the nearest village is). Great breakfast at the Flinder Chase Park’s café.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I sayed at the Kangaroo island wilderness retreat for one night. We stayed in one of the courtyard suites which was great! The rooms had a very homely feel and were very comfortable, an even included foxtel! The bathrooms were a bit tired, but still were great none the less! I loved that there was wildlife hopping all around, which gave a great feel to what Kangaroo island is all about! It was in a good location, but everywhere in Kangaroo island you have to be prepared to drive to. The kitchen/restaurant was great! They prepared lovely meals at a reasonable price, all WIFI was included to all guests for free, which was a bonus since you do not get reception with Vodaphone on the island.
I would definatly reccommend this place to anyone going to Kangaroo Island.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

Loved KI Wilderness Retreat. We stayed in one of the courtyard suites and our friends were given the room next to us. The manager and assistant manager were more than helpful. We had a problem with our air conditioner and it was addressed immediately and fixed. We asked for the interconnecting door to be unlocked and it was done immediately. Many of the guests were asking for the tv's to be tuned so they could watch the football game. The manager organised it without a problem. The restaurant was great and the food and service was exceptional for Dinner. We also had breakfast and the choices were good. A wide range of cereals, breads, fruit and teas. Also croissants. We were close to Flinders Chase.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adelaide Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We took the offered upgrade when we checked in,and we were quite happy with our suite. Right off the common grounds, we had a good view of the wallabies who came to feed out front. We also then had a pleasant deck to sit on and enjoy our breakfast. The unit had an electric kettle and a small refrigerator which came in handy. The room was clean and quiet. The hotel location made it easy to see many park sites without having to drive the length of the island every day. We ate dinner at the restaurant both nights we were there; the menu had enough variety to keep us happy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flinders Chase
56.8 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
410 reviews
66.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
382 reviews
52.1 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
75.2 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
187 reviews
1.3 mi away
Western KI Caravan Park and Wildlife Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat

Property: Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Address: Lot 1 South Coast Road, Flinders Chase, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Flinders Chase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flinders Chase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated adjacent Flinders Chase National Park a unique mix of eco-friendly facilities, local food and wine and located in the middle of the forrest provide an unforgettable wilderness experience. The idyllic location provides the perfect base for discovering the splendor of Kangaroo Island's natural wonders before returning to the tranquillity of the retreat to enjoy comfortable accommodation in the company of friendly native animals and an amazing array of birdlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat Hotel Flinders Chase
Hotel Kangaroo Island
Wilderness Retreat Kangaroo Island
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat Flinders Chase

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing